We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleftstone Manor
Ranked #21 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
killingworth ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed two nights at Cleftstone Manor and had a very nice stay. The breakfast choices were wonderful and, as others have said, the staff was very attentive. Our room was the Kebo Room and we had a sitting room attached, which was very convenient. The inn is an historic inn, so the rooms are quaint but not very roomy. The bathroom was clean and the sink was a little small, but the shower and tub were roomy. We traveled with another couple however, who had a room on the 2nd floor and their bathroom was very small and the shower was so small they could barely turn around in it. The only complaint I had was the bed was too hard. My husband was very uncomfortable, and on the second night of our stay, I tossed and turned so much I ended up sleeping on the couch in the sitting room. Overall , our stay was very nice though, and the owners do a good job of making you feel at home and seeing that your needs are met.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    40
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 2 night.To Sum up our experience:

- Rooms were average in every way. Nothing special...a C score
- Breakfast: gets an "F"......the fruit salad I asked for was rotten, the coffee was poor quality and cold, the rest of the breakfast was the processed store bought coffee cakes and breads that were stale...and no real maple syrup even....
- Service gets a C score. The lady innkeeper had a bad attitude....not friendly at all. But the place was clean enough and although the inn is close to a busy road other than an occasional car going by in the middle of the night, it was quiet.
- Value gets a C score. We paid for premium rooms but what we got was not premium.

So we skipped breakfast at the inn on the 2nd day and went to a wonderful restaurant for brunch. It is called "2 Cats".... the food was excellent. Also try the "Burning Tree" restaurant for dinner. Excellent food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya11112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This inn is just out of town and huddled among larger commercial lodging properties - not what we had wanted for our Bar Harbor stay. With all of that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, the breakfast wonderful, and the staff very attentive. Our room was on the third floor. The stairway up is steep and narrow. I would definitely not recommend it for a person who has difficulty climbing stairs.

Room Tip: Stairway to the third floor is steep and narrow. Avoid if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merasheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A great place to stay if you are visiting the Acadia/Bar Harbor area. Charming interior sitting and social common area rooms. Breakfast could not have been better with two entree choices each morning. Our room was one of the more economically priced but was still quite nice and very comfortable. Some of the rooms are huge and spectacular. This bed and breakfast is fairly close the the roadway but we found our room to be very quiet and we had no problem sleeping. The entrance to Acadia is minutes away. If you don't mind walking, it is only one mile to the center of Bar Harbor. We walked to dinner each night. The staff is friendly and helpful. When we return to Acadia, our first choice for accommodations will be Cleftstone Manor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Certiorari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in the Kebo Valley room and it rained 2 different times in the 10 days we were there - the closet did not leak. We loved our room - the sitting area off the bedroom made for a great place to sit and read or just look out at the view. We were there for 10 days and each and every breakfast was 4*. Anne and Bob ( the innkeepers) went way beyond the call of duty to make us feel at home. Anne is a wealth of knowledge on Mount Desert Island you wanted to take her with you to be your personal travel guide.
We will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were outstanding. Ann gave good advice on things to do, places to have dinner. The location was excellent, a half mile from the downtown bustle of Bar Harbor. Access to the pool at the neighboring hotel was a plus. My only hesitation was the housekeeping which could have been more thorough.

Room Tip: Cleftstone Room - very large and comfortable, ground floor, a bit dark. Has a fireplace for cooler w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi_steinberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We truly enjoyed our two night stay in the Cleftstone Manor. We stayed in the Cleftstone Room which was absolutely beautiful, with four large windows, a four-poster bed, a fireplace, sofa and upholstered chairs and wonderful high ceilings with wood beams. It was quiet and looked out to a lovely garden. The entire manor was beautiful with a large sunroom where Anne served light appetizers in the evening. Our room even had a nice carafe of port and chocolates as well.

The full breakfasts were amazing and it was difficult to make a choice between Kahlua pecan waffles or cheese strada and eggs benedict or creme brullee french toast. You could not go wrong with any of these!

Anne and her team were wonderful and provided good advice on attractions, restaurants. If we had the time, we would have stayed an additional day. Thank you Anne for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildivycreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
0.7 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Property: Cleftstone Manor
Address: 92 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing