We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anne's White Columns Inn
Ranked #27 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Scituate MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

I would highly recommend this Inn to everyone.
Lovely rooms, great breakfast and best of all the PORCHES.
Just to sit and read while watching the world go by was heaven.We had a wonderful four day stay. Hope to go back soon.

Mary from Scituate,MA

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCLScituateMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
7
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern CT, U.S.A.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

We really enjoyed our stay at Anne's White Columns Inn. The room was spacious, light and homey. The location is within a short walk of all the restaurants, shops and great views of downtown Bar Harbor. Bob, one of the owners serves a great breakfast and was always available to advise us on where to get the best lobster dinner or the best place to rent kayaks for the afternoon. When we get back to Bar Harbor we'll certainly stay there again.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank figure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2005

The decor is charming, as are the innkeepers. They provide an extraordinary breakfast each morning--simple and scrumptious. We stayed four nights and each morning we had either a type of French toast with a cinnamon glaze or a quiche.

The setting is proper but relaxed. Bob and Anne Bahr are warm and friendly and provide wine and cheese for the guests at 5 p.m. It is a really nice detail, and something which we enjoyed immensely.

I recommend Anne's White Columns Inn highly to anyone wanting a peaceful week in Bar Harbor!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

Anne's White Columns Inn, run by Bob and Anne Bahr, is one of the most fun and friendly B&Bs we have enjoyed. Lovely rooms, beautifully decorated, all amenities, in a renovated classic white-columned former church. Bob's personality and friendliness made our 5 nights there memorable (Anne is often busy with their other property, Cleftstone Manor). He personally prepares the yummy breakfast buffet (think creme brulee french toast or crab quiche as the hot entree!) and is there to advise guests on what to see and do--and he knows everyone and every place in town. He and Anne tell great stories about Bar Harbor's history and people. The high point of each day is his evening social hour--wine and cheese and lots of fun conversation with Bob and the other guests. The personal attention to detail and to all the guests is what makes this B&B unique. We most highly recommend a lengthy stay here. Reserve early for peak summer or fall seasons--there are lots of returning guests who reserve for the following year!
Dr. Robert and Karen Woodworth
Athens, OH

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_Woodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

We loved this B&B so much that my husband and I extended our stay by two days. We are going back next year because we felt like we were at home and Bob and Anne are the greatest!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wiktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2005

We were guests at Anne's White Columns Inn B & B in June 2005 and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the facility. It's location is in convient walking distance to the town's shopping and restaurants. The rooms are pleasant period rooms with a very comfortable bed. The accommodations provided an exceptional breakfast as well as a cheese and wine happy hour from 5pm to 7pm. Our host, Bob, contributed as much as the accommodations towards our very enjoyable stay in Bar Harbor.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2005

We just reluctantly returned home after spending a glorious week in Bar Harbor, ME. Our original plan was to stay 3 nights and then move on within New England. On the second day, we asked Bob, the innkeeper at Anne's White Columns Inn, if we could stay for the rest of the week.
The inn was not only relaxing and cozy, but welcoming of our toddler as well. It was with true enthusiasm and frequency that Bob would take our son off for short walks around the property so that my husband and I could enjoy the scrumptious breakfast or delightful wine and cheese hour.
While the rooms are small, as I'm sure they are in a lot of B&B's, we spent so very little time in it that it hardly mattered. What mattered most was the comfortable bed, the in-house pack-n-play, and the extremely high-pressured showers, which made cleaning off from a day of hiking very quick and exhilarating.
Breakfast was great. While we were there, we had 4 types of french toast and 3 types of quiche, in addition to the daily assortment of homemade muffins, breads, cereal, and fruit. Coffee and tea are always available and snacks are offered for a nominal price on the honor system. If you go, ask Bob to make either the creme brulee or blueberry french toast at least one day.
Arriving at Acadia National Park took about 5 minutes by car and 15 by bike. Being within walking distance of Main Street and Cottage Street was wonderful because there is so much to see, do, and buy; you couldn't ask for a more perfect location.
We were apprehensive at first about staying at a B&B with a toddler but Bob and Anne made this experience painless. We would recommend this inn to anyone traveling to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Desert Street Motel
Mount Desert Street Motel
#23 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#21 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivy Manor Inn
Ivy Manor Inn
#20 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's White Columns Inn

Property: Anne's White Columns Inn
Address: 57 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'As contemporary a Victorian bed and breakfast as you can find' - Weekending in New England. Anne's White Columns Inn is located in the Historical Corridor in downtown Bar Harbor and is surrounded with award winning gardens. The ten guestrooms each have private bath, TV and air-conditioning. Upon entering through the columned portico, one is greeted by the Victorian elegance of the foyer and salon. The large enclosed porches provides a peaceful setting for the full served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anne's White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s White Columns Hotel Bar Harbor
Anne's White Columns Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing