We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne's White Columns Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a stay at the White Columns Inn and thought it was very good. The location was great, easy walking distance to restaurants and downtown Bar Harbor and building, rooms and grounds were nice. The rooms are not large but fine for a couple and the breakfast was good. Bob, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. I would consider staying there again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JoeA773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights (July 11 and 12th) on a trip up the coast of Maine. I can't say enough good things about this place!! It was clean and comfortable and only a short walk from the center of town. The staff was incredible - friendly and extremely helpful! The breakfast was amazing and we loved the added bonus of the wine, cheese and veggies in the evening before dinner. We also met some great couples also staying there. We had an amazing time and would stay here again without a doubt! Thanks so much Bob and Cathy!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Simple rooming house; not really a B&B. Breakfast was okay, delivered from their other home. No real lobby/great room area to sit and relax like other (historical) homes built in the late 1800's. It didn't really have a beautiful older historical home feel probably because it wasn't. It was a church converted into a house. The room we had was creaky and tiny. Slightly over priced. Owner not too friendly. He acted like he was doing us a favor. The overall experience was disappointing.
On the plus side it is close to town. We toured other B&B's and hotels while there and will not stay at Anne's White Columns Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this little cozy place. In comparison to many of the rooms of a larger hotels we also stayed in, this was quite a unique place. The whole interior is old in a nice way and Bob is an extremely friendly and helpful host. The room was a little too small for our two big suitcases but besides that it was just fine.
The breakfast is different every morning and not your standard continental breakfast, which is a plus. It's homemade American breakfast, which did not always meet our European tastebuds, but that is absolutely fine.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Anne's White Columns Inn is a converted church located within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. Grounds are lovely. We stayed in the off season, and felt it was a good,value. The rooms are moderately sized, but comfortable. The shower is great. Bed very comfortable, and everything is clean. Bob, the owner is helpful, and he was around at breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese to chat. Breakfasts on the sun porch were good and plentiful. We very much enjoyed the other guests we met. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Wonderful breakfasts, walk to everything, bike to the carriage roads, comfy beds and rooms - and extremely pleasant owners! What more could one want. We usually stay several days in fall and spring and always look forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife & I stayed at Anne's White Columns Inn (Birch Point room) on Sept 13 - 15. This was our first visit to Bar Harbor.
The location of the Inn is walking distance to restaurants & shops. It is also a short drive to Acadia National Park.
Bob, our Innkeeper, was very helpful with local information (Bar Harbor map & restaurant menus). The breakfasts were excellent.
The rates are very reasonable.
We would highly recommend staying at Anne's White Column Inn. Our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying in the Birch Point room (which is the smallest room in the Inn) and save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
14 reviews
6.3 mi away
Heathwood Inn
Heathwood Inn
#26 of 30 in Bar Harbor
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#18 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's White Columns Inn

Address: 57 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $117 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'As contemporary a Victorian bed and breakfast as you can find' - Weekending in New England. Anne's White Columns Inn is located in the Historical Corridor in downtown Bar Harbor and is surrounded with award winning gardens. The ten guestrooms each have private bath, TV and air-conditioning. Upon entering through the columned portico, one is greeted by the Victorian elegance of the foyer and salon. The large enclosed porches provides a peaceful setting for the full served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anne's White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s White Columns Hotel Bar Harbor
Anne's White Columns Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing