We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great, clean, like coming home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne's White Columns Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Wonderful breakfasts, walk to everything, bike to the carriage roads, comfy beds and rooms - and extremely pleasant owners! What more could one want. We usually stay several days in fall and spring and always look forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife & I stayed at Anne's White Columns Inn (Birch Point room) on Sept 13 - 15. This was our first visit to Bar Harbor.
The location of the Inn is walking distance to restaurants & shops. It is also a short drive to Acadia National Park.
Bob, our Innkeeper, was very helpful with local information (Bar Harbor map & restaurant menus). The breakfasts were excellent.
The rates are very reasonable.
We would highly recommend staying at Anne's White Column Inn. Our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying in the Birch Point room (which is the smallest room in the Inn) and save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed four nights at the White Columns Inn, opting for the package including welcoming champagne bottle, dinner for two at one of three restaurants, and a Northeast Harbor sightseeing cruise. It was a fabulous deal. Bob runs the inn, and his wife, Anne, cooks breakfasts (off-site). The rooms are comfortable, very clean, and the breakfasts delicious. Andy, who takes care of the rooms and sets up breakfast, was very helpful. Bob is very hospitable and knowledgeable, and hosts a late afternoon wine and cheese gathering at the inn -- a nice time to wind down and meet your fellow guests. The location is great--an easy walk to downtown Bar Harbor, quick drive to the Cadillac Mountain entrance of Acadia National Park, and the perfect spot for viewing the annual 4th of July parade from the front porch (a genuine small town parade, which we hadn't seen in quite a while). The dinner for 2 was a real value at the lovely Bar Harbor Reading Room, and the sightseeing cruise (at sunset on a perfect evening) was very enjoyable. We'll be sure to stay at the White Columns again when we're next in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We just returned from 4 nights at Anne's White Columns Inn and we had a wonderful first visit to Bar Harbor. When we had an sudden death in our family, they were able to change our initial reservation very graciously. Bob is very personable and is assisted by Andy, serving breakfast and housekeeping and Sophia who is on hand in the afternoons and early evenings for help with recommendations for restaurants, places not to miss, etc. (We had purchased a package that included a fabulous dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn, where Bob plays the piano ! Also included was a cruise of the Cranberry Islands on the Sea Princess out of Northeast Harbor, which is a charming little town.)
The Inn is within walking distance of downtown, which is a plus for us. The wine and cheese in the afternoons provided an opportunity to meet others or just to relax before dinner. The beds were very comfortable and great pressure in the shower, which is always welcome. Delicious, filling breakfasts each morning were enjoyed by all. We think that this Inn knows how to do it right! We will recommend to our friends, which is how we first learned about Anne's in the first place!

Room Tip: We were in Room 8, and our friends downstairs in Room 2. Both were lovely and had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susansheeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had a great time at Anne's White Columns Inn. Bob, one of the owners, was friendly and helpful. He upgraded our room for free when we decided to stay an extra night as our room was already booked. They moved all our luggage for us while we were out on tours! The breakfasts and the wine and cheese receptions were excellent. We enjoyed meeting many interesting people from different parts of the country. The location is excellent and the town is within walking distance. After a first bad experience at a bed and breakfast, this definitely changed out minds about B & B's! We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a lovely evening relaxing in our room, an excellent rep pepper quiche w/ bacon in the morning (w/ a cup of peppermint tea). The service was fantastic, the food was delicious, and we had a wonderful conversation w/ Bob in the morning.

I highly recommend staying here. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jskroening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had the most enjoyable stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Column Inn Bed and Breakfast. Bob, our host, made us feel very welcome. We were treated "Royally" and felt right at home.
Our accommodations were perfect and we can't say enough about Anne's delicious breakfasts. Also, a really nice touch is the late afternoon wine, cheese and munchies to be enjoyed on the porch. The location of the Inn is ideal being within walking distance to the shops and restaurants Bar Harbor has to offer.
In just a few minutes drive from the Inn you can be at the top of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park viewing Maine's spectacular scenery.
Anyone visiting Bar Harbor would be very fortunate to stay at Anne's White Column Inn. It's a treasure!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bonniewabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
14 reviews
6.3 mi away
Heathwood Inn
Heathwood Inn
#26 of 30 in Bar Harbor
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's White Columns Inn

Address: 57 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $117 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'As contemporary a Victorian bed and breakfast as you can find' - Weekending in New England. Anne's White Columns Inn is located in the Historical Corridor in downtown Bar Harbor and is surrounded with award winning gardens. The ten guestrooms each have private bath, TV and air-conditioning. Upon entering through the columned portico, one is greeted by the Victorian elegance of the foyer and salon. The large enclosed porches provides a peaceful setting for the full served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anne's White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s White Columns Hotel Bar Harbor
Anne's White Columns Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing