We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot for July 4 Parade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne's White Columns Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for July 4 Parade!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed four nights at the White Columns Inn, opting for the package including welcoming champagne bottle, dinner for two at one of three restaurants, and a Northeast Harbor sightseeing cruise. It was a fabulous deal. Bob runs the inn, and his wife, Anne, cooks breakfasts (off-site). The rooms are comfortable, very clean, and the breakfasts delicious. Andy, who takes care of the rooms and sets up breakfast, was very helpful. Bob is very hospitable and knowledgeable, and hosts a late afternoon wine and cheese gathering at the inn -- a nice time to wind down and meet your fellow guests. The location is great--an easy walk to downtown Bar Harbor, quick drive to the Cadillac Mountain entrance of Acadia National Park, and the perfect spot for viewing the annual 4th of July parade from the front porch (a genuine small town parade, which we hadn't seen in quite a while). The dinner for 2 was a real value at the lovely Bar Harbor Reading Room, and the sightseeing cruise (at sunset on a perfect evening) was very enjoyable. We'll be sure to stay at the White Columns again when we're next in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
7
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We just returned from 4 nights at Anne's White Columns Inn and we had a wonderful first visit to Bar Harbor. When we had an sudden death in our family, they were able to change our initial reservation very graciously. Bob is very personable and is assisted by Andy, serving breakfast and housekeeping and Sophia who is on hand in the afternoons and early evenings for help with recommendations for restaurants, places not to miss, etc. (We had purchased a package that included a fabulous dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn, where Bob plays the piano ! Also included was a cruise of the Cranberry Islands on the Sea Princess out of Northeast Harbor, which is a charming little town.)
The Inn is within walking distance of downtown, which is a plus for us. The wine and cheese in the afternoons provided an opportunity to meet others or just to relax before dinner. The beds were very comfortable and great pressure in the shower, which is always welcome. Delicious, filling breakfasts each morning were enjoyed by all. We think that this Inn knows how to do it right! We will recommend to our friends, which is how we first learned about Anne's in the first place!

Room Tip: We were in Room 8, and our friends downstairs in Room 2. Both were lovely and had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susansheeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had a great time at Anne's White Columns Inn. Bob, one of the owners, was friendly and helpful. He upgraded our room for free when we decided to stay an extra night as our room was already booked. They moved all our luggage for us while we were out on tours! The breakfasts and the wine and cheese receptions were excellent. We enjoyed meeting many interesting people from different parts of the country. The location is excellent and the town is within walking distance. After a first bad experience at a bed and breakfast, this definitely changed out minds about B & B's! We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a lovely evening relaxing in our room, an excellent rep pepper quiche w/ bacon in the morning (w/ a cup of peppermint tea). The service was fantastic, the food was delicious, and we had a wonderful conversation w/ Bob in the morning.

I highly recommend staying here. Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jskroening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glens falls ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had the most enjoyable stay in Bar Harbor at Anne's White Column Inn Bed and Breakfast. Bob, our host, made us feel very welcome. We were treated "Royally" and felt right at home.
Our accommodations were perfect and we can't say enough about Anne's delicious breakfasts. Also, a really nice touch is the late afternoon wine, cheese and munchies to be enjoyed on the porch. The location of the Inn is ideal being within walking distance to the shops and restaurants Bar Harbor has to offer.
In just a few minutes drive from the Inn you can be at the top of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park viewing Maine's spectacular scenery.
Anyone visiting Bar Harbor would be very fortunate to stay at Anne's White Column Inn. It's a treasure!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bonniewabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at Anne's White Columns Inn, and we really enjoyed this place. The location was perfect, just a 5 minute walk to the heart of Bar Harbor with all the restaurants and shops and where all the tours departed (trolley, whale watch, kayak, etc.). Even though Bar Harbor was packed with people, the inn was on a side street sheltered from all the noise and was quite peaceful. It is also only about a 5 minute drive to Arcadia National Park.

We stayed in the Forest Hare Room which was really nicely decorated, comfortable and most importantly nice and clean. There was no vacancy at the inn and I thought we might hear our neighbors through the walls, but we didn't hear a peep during our entire stay.

Breakfast was delicious which was a nice bonus. One morning we had blueberry yogurt with whipped cream, french toast, cranberry muffin, and sausage, with tea and juices. The next day we had an egg souffle, blue berry muffin and fruit cup. There was also wine and cheese and other snacks served at 5:30 each day which was a nice touch.

The owner Bob was very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions, and was able to get us last minute reservations at a popular place on Saturday night. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn to friends and family, and we would certainly come back..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShazamBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just a five minute walk to the heart of downtown. Bob the Innkeeper is a wealth of information for all the area has to offer from restaurants to Acadia trails. The breakfast is delicious and amazingly hot since it is not prepared on site but you would never know. The afternoon wine and cheese socials have to be the best before dark parties on the island. Would go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#23 of 30 in Bar Harbor
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
0.4 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#18 of 30 in Bar Harbor
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's White Columns Inn

Property: Anne's White Columns Inn
Address: 57 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'As contemporary a Victorian bed and breakfast as you can find' - Weekending in New England. Anne's White Columns Inn is located in the Historical Corridor in downtown Bar Harbor and is surrounded with award winning gardens. The ten guestrooms each have private bath, TV and air-conditioning. Upon entering through the columned portico, one is greeted by the Victorian elegance of the foyer and salon. The large enclosed porches provides a peaceful setting for the full served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Anne's White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s White Columns Hotel Bar Harbor
Anne's White Columns Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing