We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going back for our third time in August”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“We are going back for our third time in August”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were greeted by friendly and cheerful staff at the front desk who promptly got us checked in and gave us our keys. Our Hillcrest room was clean and neat, the bathroom likewise. True, the decor is from an older era. For example, the bed mattresses are "normal", that is, they're not the more modern foam, form-fitting mattresses that we find difficult to sleep on. And there are "regular" tube TVs, not flat screens. However, when you have such great views such as out the windows of Hillcrest, you do not need television. The room also has a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. They have wi-fi available in the main office along with coffee and chairs, so you can catch up on your email with your laptop. They also have a free computer terminal available as well. We have not been to the adjacent parent hotel so cannot comment, nor have we been in their swimming pool. The grounds of the compound are pretty. The free bus picks up just outside the main office and drops folks off at the main plaza in town using a regular schedule. Some of the things we like about Wonderview is their restaurant for breakfasts. We are early-risers and like the scenic view out the windows in the mornings with the sun rising. We also like the location: we can walk into town, good exercise going and coming back home, or we can take the free bus. If we do drive, then it's a good idea to get into town early to find parking. We especially like the location because we like to jog and walk, so all we have to do is jog out the back of Hillcrest and jog toward the nearby Arcadia National Park with all its roads and carriage trails to walk and jog along. We really love the views of Frenchman's Bay from Wonderview; the views are worth the premium rate. We're going back this summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    137
    85
    56
    22
See reviews for
110
182
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel was awful. It reminded me of every motel scene I've ever seen in a horror movie. It hasn't been updated in 50 years. The view is not that great. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even smaller. Our floor was covered in leaves & pine needles. The moulding on the window was cracked to the point it was completely open for bugs to enter. The bedspread was stained. After being in the room for 10 minutes, my husband and I went and found another hotel and ate the funds we had already paid out for this one. It was awful!! Don't stay here!! Wwe typically stay in 3 star hotels and are quite happy. This hotel will haunt me!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbgerman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you're visiting Acadia/Bar Harbor, this is the place to stay. We stayed in Rm 71, an end room, in the Hillcrest building and couldn't believe the sweeping view of Bar Harbor. It's almost as good as any we saw in nearby Acadia Natilnal Park. The room was very spacious for motel type room and had all the amenities we could ask for, including chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. The staff was very accommodating and friendly too.

The Inn is located on a hill outside of Bar Harbor, but it's only an easy 5 minute ride into town where there are plenty of restaurants. There's a restaurant, The Looking Glass, right there at the Inn with great views similar to the ones from our room. The food was good and not outrageous considering the setting.

The only negative was the loud TV from the couple below us. There isn't much noise insulation between the two levels. We couldn't dial the room directly (a strange deficiency at this place), so had to have the front desk call them.

Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela1130
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Rooms small, but it is owned by a more upscale hotel next door where you can use their amenities, such as fitness center, spa, cozy great room. On a hill . Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA Dutch Country
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We made last minute travel arrangments for Bar Harbor and needed room for five. As I wanted to avoid paying for two rooms or the mega buck suites in town, we ended up at the Wonder View. As other reviews have pointed out it is dated but generally clean and I would agree with that assessment. What other reviewers may not have been exposed to is that at least in the Hillcrest building, which includes the only suites, it is obviously a frame building and there is no insulation between the floors.

I realize that Mt Desert Island is an outdoor activity oriented destination but the five AM cattle stampede of the family upstairs leaving to see the sunrise and the six AM return stomping was not appreciated.

I am not a light sleeper and I usually can't be bothered to complain about rooming issues figuring I simply won't return. But when I politely expressed my displeasure and the staff member at the front desk spent the whole time playing with their computer I figured I'd go on record for those of you who care because obviously they don't.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APYGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here the night before taking the CAT ferry to Nova Scotia. It's a plus that there is a free Bar Harbor shuttle that comes to the hotels to bring you to downtown Bar Harbor and back. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the view of the bay from our room's deck was okay, but I wouldn't really call it a wonder. We went into town to eat dinner and walk around, Bar Harbor is a charming place even when the mist rolled in later. Our room was clean, quiet, and the bed comfortable enough. There is supposed to be free wi-fi but the signal was very weak and it didn't work for me even when I was in the office area. Our room overlooked the pool but it was just as well that it was too cool to go swimming as they were cleaning it and you couldn't use it. We thought that our room was a bit overpriced for what you get, but the location in was good, especially its proximity to the CAT ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BeachBabyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

My husband and I used the Wonder View as a base for exploring Acadia National Park. The room was spacious and clean, and the view from the balcony was fantastic (although if you want to see more than tree tops with a little strip of sea beyond, go for one of the higher-up rooms at Hillview or Hillcrest). Good value for money judging from the prices for accommodation and food in the area. While we were lucky to get one good sunny warm day in Acadia, we never got round to sticking a toe in the pool - it did look extremely tempting, though!
The location of the hotel is great - you can walk down into Bar Harbor in about 10 - 15 minutes (and back again after dinner which, being uphill, is great exercise!) No need to find a parking space in town (and lots of good dining options there).
We did go for breakfast at the Wonderview's restaurant - the food, while not cheap, was very good, but it's the view over the entire bay that is truly priceless.
All in all, we would highly recommend the Wonderview as an excellent base for Acadia!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Property: Wonder View Inn
Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing