We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family's Favorite for 9 Consecutive years”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Family's Favorite for 9 Consecutive years”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

if you need a clean,safe, friendly place to stay where it feels more like home than a hotel, this is the place..........Clarice, Courtney, Mimi and the staff work hard to make you comfortable. This has been our family's for nine consecutive years and have been known to visit several times a season ALWAYS at the Wonderview. LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Oh and did I mention how easily accessible downtown Bar Harbor is from wonderview??? walking distance or if you prefer, take the bus that stops at the front office every 20 minutes or so in July and August....

We have stayed in other places in Bar Harbor, both hotel and B&B and for us WonderView is our favorite..................

Room Tip: The Wonderview has beuatiful views from most if not all rooms (hence the name) ask when making reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I will certainly pass them along to Clarice, Courtney, Mimi and the rest of the staff. We are indeed quite honored by the fact that this has been the venue for 9 years for your family gathering. As pointed out, our location to the town and Acadia National Park are one of the top features of the property and we do offer complimentary bus service right in front of the hotel lobby to the entire island. We truly appreciate your continued support and look forward to seeing you again next year. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    128
    80
    53
    22
See reviews for
100
167
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermon, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very inviting atmosphere from check in to check out. Friendly staff, great room and location. Love that it's pet friendly :) Breakfast at the Looking Glass was a pleasant bonus in the morning. Will absolutely stay here again on our next visit to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahsotaSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View Inn. Especially pleasing was your statement about the friendliness of the staff as well as the great location and that we are pet friendly to include the deck of our Looking Glass restaurant. Glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast there. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Bar Harbor.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked last minute and because we had a small dog our choices were limited in the town. We first booked a courtyard room for 2 nights, as did our friends that we invited along. Later we decided to change and book a room with a view. Thankfully we made that decision. We were given room 39 and it had a limited view because of the trees, but still nice. I did not expect too much of the room because of the reviews that said the rooms were tired and need updating. Our room was clean, a good size and we enjoyed the nice chairs. The blue bathroom fixtures helped determine the age of the room, but they were in okay condition. I asked for 2 extra chairs for the balcony so our friends could sit with us and they were promptly delivered. The next day we returned to find our door ajar! I called the desk after I tested the door and found that it would only latch if you slammed it. She later called me back and said it could not be fixed, that the the whole door would have to be replaced. What!? That is ridiculous. I am glad we left the next morning because I would have had to worry that the maid would not have "slammed" it. The Wifi did not work in our room and we were told they were working on it. I was told to use the Wifi in the lobby.

Our friends were in room 19 and had an entirely different experience from us. Their smaller room overlooked a courtyard which they expected. What was not expected was a room that the smelled musty, had no soap and a deck that was very aged and in need of replacement. It should have been all replaced, rather than just a new board put on top. The chairs at the table in the room were old and uncomfortable. We had a fan over our bed, they did not. We went out for the day and they returned to find their room was not made up. No towels and still no soap. They had been in our room first and saw the nice double towel swan on our bed. My friend and I went to the desk and complained. She sent towels and offered very little in the way of an apology. My friends experience at this inn was such a letdown and they did not pay that much less than we did. We got a CAA rate and when we checked in the girl at the desk said they could have the rate as well. It did not happen. I felt so bad because we invited them to come and share a nice weekend with us. If you decide to stay in this hotel, pay the extra and consider staying in the anex up on the hill where we did and make sure there is not a problem with your door closing. I would NEVER stay in a courtyard room like they had even for one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nononsense42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Wonder View Inn. I sincerely apologize to you and your friends for not meeting your expectations. No excuses are offered, we simply did not perform as expected. You are indeed correct that within the complex, there are different ages of buildings and various areas of difference. Therefore are also price differences reflecting such variation. When your travel plans bring you back to the area, we do hope you would consider us again as I know we can do better. In fact if you can make it back, I would certainly like to offer you a great deal on the more upscale units for both you and your friend. Please contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
207-288-3348 Ext 520
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in Bar Harbor can be very expensive in or near season so price is no indicator of quality. The thing about the Wonder View Room is ... the wonder view. You need to have a room in one of two blocks of motel-style rooms further up the hill from the lobby. The view is out, over the top of the trees towards the town, the water and the islands beyond. You can sit on your balcony and watch the sun come up or go down. Magical.
The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by seasonal immigrant labour (many from Eastern Europe). Relentlessly cheerful. But the rooms are a little tired. The wifi didn't work in my room for 4 days. And there is no laundry service at the hotel. Although there is a self-service launderette.
Another plus is that the hotel is on the route for a shuttle bus that will take you into the village and connect with other routes. All free. But during the season only.
So an overall good - not the best accommodations in the world and not the cheapest. But that's Bar Harbor in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Wonder View Inn. The views from many of the units as you pointed out is spectacular. The location of the property near town and Acadia National Park, the complimentary bus that stops at the front desk and the fact that many units are pet friendly are key reasons that people indeed choose the property. The units are indeed older but as you depicted are kept immaculately clean by our housekeeping staff. I apologize for the WIFI not working during your visit. It has been repaired but it should have been operating all along. When you come back to the area, we do hope that you will once again choose the Wonder View.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness, scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Compared to other hotels we found this quite poor .. The advertised WiFi was not working and even when reported they were in no hurry to find this . rooms were quite shabby with stains and peeking paper . it had the worst shower I have come across. Bar harbour itself is beautiful , but am afraid wonder view inn is not

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. While we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, I do offer a few comments. We sincerely apologize for the WIFI not working for you. The service technicians of the contracted firm we use was called immediately and unfortunately they had been delayed with other jobs. Regarding the wallpaper and shower, no excuses are offered. We are in the throes of major renovations and your room has not been completed to date. To hopefully make amends, I would like to offer you a complimentary room for two nights based on occupancy should your travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor. I think you will see the difference.
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We checked in for one night and stayed for two we liked it so much. Very quaint motel type hotel with great service. We stayed with our dog and she also received great service! The hotel is a little older but it gives it character. They keep the rooms and the property spotless clean. We will for sure stay here again! Thanks for then great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View. While the hotel is older, we are indeed pet friendly, have a great location and as you pointed out, it does have character. We also pride ourselves in the cleanliness of the room and service so as evidenced by your remarks, we certainly met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place shares its grounds with a much nicer hotel as they are co-owned, but it was built in the 50's it seems and still looks that way from the decor, which is kitschy and clean. Great sunrise views over the harbor and 4 or 5 hundred yards from Bar Harbor's historic street combine to make this a great place to stay in comparison to some of the competition - the Looking Glass restaurant above it is worth a visit and has a great bar and patio, however, the old saying about the quality of the food falling relative to the greatness of the view is proved out here, with us experiencing a mediocre breakfast compared to... say, 2 cats which is far far tastier nearby for the same money.

Room Tip: The corner room above the Lobby was phenomenal for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblintumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View. While it is an older property, the location, and the value.
I am disappointed that breakfast was not up to your expectations. The view is truly outstanding but the food and service should have been at the same level. For this we truly apologize and should your travel plans bring you back to the area, we will certainly offer a complimentary breakfast to hopefully make amends.

Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#36 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Property: Wonder View Inn
Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing