We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantean for 3 days in early March. Although it was the off-season and many local businesses were closed, we still had a wonderful time and this was largely in part due to the Atlantean Inn!

We stayed in the Edgemere Room, and it was absolutely gorgeous. It was immaculately clean, the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, and the bathroom was stunning.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the inn keepers Heidi and Gary were wonderful. They were full of helpful information about the surrounding area and were good company during breakfast.

Whenever we return to Bar Harbor, we will be staying at the Atlantean again.

~Nicole & Adrian, Quincy MA

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adriannicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 234 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

While February may not be the best time to visit Bar Harbor (majority of restaurants and shops were closed), staying at the Atlantean Inn definitely made it worth the 5 hour drive. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Wingwood Suite, which was beautiful and felt luxurious- had a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, canopy bed and loveseat / tv area. I can't remember the last time I felt so relaxed as when we were curled up on the loveseat watching tv after a soak in the tub, all warm and comfy in the robes that were provided.

Only slight issue was that our room was on the first floor outside of the foyer/stairs and dining area, so we could hear people coming and going. It was ok though because it got us up, ready to start the day and enjoy the delicious breakfast.

The innkeepers Gary and Heidi were attentive and friendly, but not intrusive or overbearing. Although they have only been doing this for a couple of years, you would never know it. They were gracious and our whole visit flowed seamlessly.

The inn and our room were both very clean. They have 2 dogs who are very friendly and well-behaved- they are trained to not come into the dining room until breakfast is over! Other nice touches were the pantry, which was always open in case you wanted a snack or coffee/tea/hot chocolate between meals. Also, there was a small fridge for guests to leave leftovers and it was stocked with bottled water.

The location was great- down a quiet side street, but within walking distance to the town.

We would definitely go back to the Atlantean the next time we are in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kew25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We just returned from a 4-night stay at the Atlantean for our honeymoon and I must say it couldn't have been better. We stayed in the Edgemere room and it was exactly as we hoped for. The bed was extremely comfortable and we got to make good use of the whirlpool tub and fireplace. The location is great--close to everything, and yet on a quiet street. Heidi and Gary were friendly and knowledgeable hosts, who gave exactly the right amount of attention and conversation. The breakfasts were excellent throughout the stay. They obviously take pride in their inn, as they should. I would recommend the Atlantean to anyone coming to Bar Harbor and am looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

A wonderful hotel. The rooms are delightful, the owners extemely nice and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Heidi and Gary are knowledgeable about the park and Maine in general and happy to help you find you way.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank BarcelonaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

The Atlantean is a stately looking and beautiful tudor B&B. Heidi and Gary are personable, welcoming and full of good suggestions about what to see, where to eat, etc. Gary's breakfasts are substantial and delicious and Heidi's raspberry muffins were to die for. We stayed in the Baymeath room, which has two large beds.....a plus since it is hard for two friends travelling together to find B&Bs with two beds and even when you do, they're usually twins. It was an easy walk into town but far enough away to avoid all the tourist hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor.

Our room was sparkling clean, so we didn't have the cleanliness complaint of the reviewer below. Our only complaint in this area is that the first day our towels were not replaced and we had to ask for fresh towels.....apparently the signal for fresh towels is to put used ones on the floor, but there was no note or sign telling us so. And, we had to ask for replacement shampoo and kleenex. We felt the maid was less than attentive to details, which was surprising since everything else about this inn was tip top. That said, I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Traveling with a family member means two beds, or better yet, two bedrooms, a requirement that can thin out the number of appropriate B&B's in any location.

The Atlantean Inn in Bar Harbor has a two bedroom suite with a gorgeous bath that includes a whirlpool tub and skylight. The decor is light and bright, even though the house is one of the town's historic beauties. It isn't weighed down by too many ornate furnishings, as some of its kind tend to be.

Heidi and Gary, owners/innkeepers, understand the delicate balance between too much and too little guest attention. They will chat if you like, or not, and have a wealth of valuable information about the area and its rich history.

Gary's breakfast isn't going to be forgotten anytime soon. Fresh fruit in yogurt, delicious coffee, muffins, fruit juices and then the entree of a most wonderful frittata. Served in a lovely dining room at small tables with comfy chairs and linen tablecloths, located across the hall from the parlor, this is the prefect way to end a good night's sleep.

The mattresses receive honorable mention, courtesy of my back.

We hope that your stay at The Atlantean is as memorable as ours was.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Quality1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We had a great couple of days at Bar Harbor during our New England trip in September and found the Atlantaen to be very well positioned on a quiet side street but close to the centre of town. We had the Elsinore room and experienced none of the noise problems mentioned below and moreover the room was immaculately clean throughout.

The innkeepers Heidi and Gary were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and the CD guide to the Acadia National Park they lent us was very interesting and informative - make sure that you ask to borrow this to enhance your trip.

Breakfasts are large and filling particularly if you have had a big meal the night before!

Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 30 in Bar Harbor
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $130 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing