We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
270
11
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
270
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler's pantry edgemere room steam shower quiet street wonderful hosts historic house private parking cookies side street modern conveniences b bs bed and breakfast a lovely place to stay separate bedroom each morning the bed was extremely comfortable gourmet breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 284 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019

I'm not sure I can say enough good things about our stay at the Atlantean Cottage! The location is just perfect-close enough to walk to everything, but not so close you are in the thick of things. And, it's a nice, quiet street. Private off street parking makes things very easy and safe. Brad and Nadine were the most wonderful hosts, with suggestions for hikes, biking and restaurants to try for lunch and dinner, depending on where we would be for the day. They had maps and books to borrow, which came in very handy on a day trip to Mansell Mountain. In addition to the beauty of Acadia, the highlight of every day was breakfast. Nadine and Brad's 2 course breakfast was a treat each morning. I loved the care and passion that they put into each and every detail, both with their food and with each guest. We stayed in the Rosserne room, which was so quiet and spacious. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a special place in Bar Harbor. We will definitely return and look forward to another stay at the Atlantean Cottage!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SonyaSVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

The location is convenient and yet not on the busy Main Street area. The rooms are spacious and decorated beautifully and with modern and clean bathrooms. The amenities - toiletries, robes, cookies in the afternoon, etc. - are all wonderful. And the breakfasts - a 2 course meal prepared by 2 former chefs - are amazing and so delicious! And, of course, the owners, Brad and Nadine, are super helpful. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KimP636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

Overall I am giving the Atlantean 5 stars. The Cottage is absolutely beautiful and impeccably decorated. The website pictures are accurate. It’s a wonderful blend of old and contemporary— comfortably elegant. We were in Rosserne which is spacious, private and includes a fabulous shower.

The location is perfect. Right off the “main drag” and easy walking to restaurants, shops, boat tours and the free buses to Acadia. But—unlike many of the other B&Bs in Bar Harbor—it is on a quiet residential type street without traffic noise.

The breakfasts were good—sometimes very good. But, there is only one, plated, breakfast option and no extras in sight. I would have preferred a bit of choice and something a little more robust and less fru fru. The guests are all hiking/doing outdoor activities—a bit more breakfast would be great.

We arrived somewhat after the two hour window when the hosts greet the guests. It would have been nice if someone had been there—it felt weird dragging luggage through the yard and into the front entrance...and, up 3 flights of stairs. Keep that in mind if booking upstairs rooms...

Brad and Nadine were helpful and friendly. Nadine is more outgoing and friendly, but Brad has good suggestions of activities, restaurants etc., he is just more reserved. They both clearly are devoted to the Atlantean Cottage and have worked hard to make it beautiful and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it and would return.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Letsgetgoing17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Stayed for one week in Birchcroft to celebrate our anniversary. The location is ideal. Less than one block from town center it is an easy walk wherever you want to go including the shore, shops, restauarants. Offset on a side street the inn itself is very quiet inside and out. Parking included which is a huge plus. You can easily walk to take the island bus to Arcadia or drive yourself there in ten minutes.
The Inn is meticulously kept, the room was divine, bed super comfy, shower was like a spa. Breakfast was a gourmet meal of perfection daily. The hosts Brad and Nadine are always available and full of good tips for travel, eating, and anything else you may need

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

No other way to describe our stay at The Atlantean. Perfect room. Perfect location. Perfect hosts. Perfect breakfasts each morning. This was our second year visiting Bar Harbor and staying at this B&B. We couldn't ask for better service or accommodations. We left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated and will be booking The Atlantean again next summer.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronr173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews