We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #17 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Superb stay in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Atlantean; our only regret was that our stay was a mere two nights. Heidi and Gary were extremely friendly and set about making us feel at home as soon as we came through the door.
We were delayed in arriving by three hours, but this proved to be no problem when we phoned ahead and told Gary.

We stayed in the the Rosserne Suite (on the third floor, bit of a climb but worth it) and we found it delightful - the bed was comfortable, there was a seperate sitting room but a GREAT BIG bathroom with whirlpool and skylight. It was rather good, especially after walking around the island. The rooms were quiet and relaxing.

Heidi and Gary have collated lots of helpful local information/recommendations and the second night we dined at one of their favourite restaurants and did not regret it.
We decided to do the national park tour and they lent us their copy of the CD audio guide for the car, which was much appreciated. The inn was close to main street of Bar Harbor with easy access and parking. The area was really nice and we enojyed walking around.

Breakfast is lovingly homemade by Gary; despite being ardent carnivores we found the fare exceptional. They write the following day's breakfast on the kitchen noticeboard the day before so you know what to look forward to (even though we didn't *really* know what to expect as it was all a bit vegetarian and transatlantic). Gary and Heidi would talk to everyone at breakfast and we found them attentive and interesting.
There are cookies, snacks and hot drinks available all day long. We are also stiil using our complimentary Atlantean Inn water bottles.

All in all, a fabulous stay and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pugdoggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
180
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an absolutely superb B & B with fantastic hosts and divine rooms. The vegetarian breakfasts are out of this world and the location is fantastic. The room (Baymeath) was gorgeous and the linen on the bed has to be experienced to be appreciated. I strongly recommend the Atlantean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

All the other great reviews are spot on. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Gary and Heidi manage the home in such a graceful way: the house is spotless and inviting, the rooms are functional and comfortable. Ours had a 2-person soaking tub, which after long hikes in Acadia were just perfect. I would only suggest to add Epsom salts to the bathroom staples. :) The food in town is ok, but Gary's breakfasts were really tasty, filling, and interesting. We stayed at another B&B in portland, which had very boring and uninspired breakfasts by comparison (eggs and hashbrowns and bacon lose their appeal after a couple days). I would absolutely stay here again and recommend any travelers to bar Harbor do themselves a favor and do the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rosserne, which is on the top floor and there is no elevator. It was lovely, and actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireGandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but we wished we had planned to stay longer! Our first B&B experience the night before in Portland was nice, but nothing special, so we weren't expecting much. But when we arrived at the Atlantean, we were pleasantly surprised. This place is beyond charming. Its on a really quiet street, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had been renovated without compromising the character of the rest of the room, and the place was spotless. Homemade snacks were available all day--they made the house smell WONDERFUL. Heidi and Greg were really friendly, helpful, and available to answer all of our questions. They were genuinely interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Also, Breakfast. Was. Delicious. Needless to say, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr4252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Atlantean. The room was perfect. Did I say perfect? Yes! Decor and comfort. Bath a treat. Fireplace. Everything to make us comfortable. Breakfasts were truly amazing. Able to walk to wonderful restaurants. Helpful hosts, Gary and Heidi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The house was designed by local architect (Fred Savage) and is a beautiful example of its type. The reception area and living and dining rooms speak of a different era. We stayed in the Mizzentop room which was most comfortable and came with a bath (most wonderful ).
What makes a stay here extra special is the extra special hosts. Nothing is too much for either Heidi or Gary. Breakfasts are a treat and beautifully presented. There's always fresh cookies baked each afternoon and they're delicious . Every little thing has been thought of to make your stay comfortable. They even have a water bottle for you to take on your walks/hikes each day. Brilliant. Book it now

Room Tip: Mizzentoptop ans Rossene rooms are up an extra set of narrower stairs. It wasn't a problem for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPopely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved our suite at the top of the stairs (servants' quarters). Everything we needed or could think of, we had. Four glorious days of fabulous breakfasts and full butler's pantry: homemade biscotti and cookies, candy, goldfish, and hot water for tea anytime! Gary and Heidi are not only amazing cooks, but have ready answers about the whole area.
Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor are two different vacations that we had directly out of the Atlantian. Whether we wanted food, hikes or shopping, we were there. What a delight!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Property: Atlantean Cottage
Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing