We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Bar Harbor”
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

All the other great reviews are spot on. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Gary and Heidi manage the home in such a graceful way: the house is spotless and inviting, the rooms are functional and comfortable. Ours had a 2-person soaking tub, which after long hikes in Acadia were just perfect. I would only suggest to add Epsom salts to the bathroom staples. :) The food in town is ok, but Gary's breakfasts were really tasty, filling, and interesting. We stayed at another B&B in portland, which had very boring and uninspired breakfasts by comparison (eggs and hashbrowns and bacon lose their appeal after a couple days). I would absolutely stay here again and recommend any travelers to bar Harbor do themselves a favor and do the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rosserne, which is on the top floor and there is no elevator. It was lovely, and actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireGandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but we wished we had planned to stay longer! Our first B&B experience the night before in Portland was nice, but nothing special, so we weren't expecting much. But when we arrived at the Atlantean, we were pleasantly surprised. This place is beyond charming. Its on a really quiet street, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had been renovated without compromising the character of the rest of the room, and the place was spotless. Homemade snacks were available all day--they made the house smell WONDERFUL. Heidi and Greg were really friendly, helpful, and available to answer all of our questions. They were genuinely interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Also, Breakfast. Was. Delicious. Needless to say, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlr4252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Atlantean. The room was perfect. Did I say perfect? Yes! Decor and comfort. Bath a treat. Fireplace. Everything to make us comfortable. Breakfasts were truly amazing. Able to walk to wonderful restaurants. Helpful hosts, Gary and Heidi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The house was designed by local architect (Fred Savage) and is a beautiful example of its type. The reception area and living and dining rooms speak of a different era. We stayed in the Mizzentop room which was most comfortable and came with a bath (most wonderful ).
What makes a stay here extra special is the extra special hosts. Nothing is too much for either Heidi or Gary. Breakfasts are a treat and beautifully presented. There's always fresh cookies baked each afternoon and they're delicious . Every little thing has been thought of to make your stay comfortable. They even have a water bottle for you to take on your walks/hikes each day. Brilliant. Book it now

Room Tip: Mizzentoptop ans Rossene rooms are up an extra set of narrower stairs. It wasn't a problem for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPopely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved our suite at the top of the stairs (servants' quarters). Everything we needed or could think of, we had. Four glorious days of fabulous breakfasts and full butler's pantry: homemade biscotti and cookies, candy, goldfish, and hot water for tea anytime! Gary and Heidi are not only amazing cooks, but have ready answers about the whole area.
Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor are two different vacations that we had directly out of the Atlantian. Whether we wanted food, hikes or shopping, we were there. What a delight!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Heidi and Gary have a great house, a great service, and a knack for making sure their guest are happy and informed. Our room was tasteful, clean, and welcoming. The breakfasts were always good, in fact we are awaiting an e-mail with the recipes for the dishes. Heidi and Gary were both very willing to help when it came to planning day trips, dining options in town, and general knowledgeable of Mt. Desert Island. Some of the reviews that I've read complain about the lack of variety when it comes to the afternoon cookies that are baked daily for the guests. Really? Must be a pretty tough life when you complain about fresh baked cookies. Thanks again for your hospitality!

On a side note, my wife and I are use to a firm mattress and felt the beds were very very soft.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 216Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in a few bed & breakfast places before, and they never impressed us, we prefer to stay in a hotel instead. This place will certainly make you say Wow! The owners are very nice, and make you feel so welcome when you walk in. We stayed in the Wingwood room, which was located on the first floor, and had it's own large private porch. Again I say, we have only stayed in a few B&B's, five at most, but this is by far the nicest, friendliest B&B we ever experienced, and I'm certain there is no other that can beat it's charm, personality, and friendliness.
We will definitely be returning to this charming place in downtown, Bar Harbor, Me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 30 in Bar Harbor
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $130 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing