We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary Trip!”
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Anniversary Trip!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were truly impressed with this Bed & Breakfast and chose wisely for our anniversary trip to Bar Harbor. The grounds and home itself are very well maintained, clean, and full of character. We stayed in the Chatwold room and it was perfect for us, extemely comfortable bed, the fireplace was great ambiance and the bathroom had a whirlpool tube to die for! Proximity was great for walking into the downtown area and very close to the entrance of Acadia park. Heidi and Gary were terrific hosts and we loved their breakfasts and accommodating snack pantry. Gary also gave us some wonderful hints about some hikes we were considering, and they paid off. Definitely consult them on things to do and places to go. Highly recommend this hidden gem, we will look for any opportunity we can to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allikat613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

It's embarrassing that I waited to review this B&B for so long. My husband and I stayed here in early May. This place is amazing: warm and friendly owners and the rooms are fantastic (they even bought us a bottle of champagne for our special occasion!!). The owners went far above and beyond my expectations (they were warm and kind without being in your face). The food was delicious, the location was great, and best of all our room was perfect! We love this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We loved this place! The inn and rooms were really nice and clean. The breakfasts were all so delicious! The hosts were even better. Both Heidi and Gary were so gracious and friendly coming around to talk with each guest and checking on everyone. They really know how to run a B&B. The location is walking distance to downtown and a really short drive to Acadia Park. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keely s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I am a little ashamed that this took me so long to write this , this place far exceeded our expectations.The Inn and Innkeepers Heidi and Gary are fabulous. Breakfast was great. Not your normal blah breakfast that you get at every inn. They really take pride in the Inn. We spent our honeymoon there and our only regret was it was to short of time. We kept hoping they would have a cancellation so we could stay longer. They are so gracious of hosts that i forgot a few things in the room and they sent them to me. How often does that happen. Heidi and Gary you two have something great , dont change a thing. We plan on returning next fall.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs , it also had a porch with private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNIFER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hosts were friendly and helpful and the rooms were superb. Beautiful antique furniture, clean and spacious, and great value. The place is also well located in town close to restaurants (a walk of less than 2 mins) and a short 5 min drive to Acadia national park entrance.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Atlantean Cottage is a charming B &B. The innkeepers Gary and Heidi were so personable and wonderful hosts. Gary really spent a lot of time giving us suggestions for things to see and do. The Inn was immaculate and the rooms very comfortable. The breakfasts were filling but I believe they are vegetarians and the entrees weren't really our taste.
Overall, it is a lovely place to stay and a great location, within walking distance to everything in town.

Room Tip: Look at the web site to get a look at all rooms. We were trVeling for an extended period of time so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very well appointed with all the comforts of home, including a well equipped Butler's Pantry, snacks, refrigerator, phone, etc. Heidi and Gary are perfect Innkeepers and take great pride in making sure your stay meets and exceeds expectations. Our room, #145 - Baymeath was large although the pics on the website don't show much of the room. The linens on the king bed were luxurious, along with the room high-end furnishings. The breakfasts are something to look forward to every morning. Out of the ordinary dishes, fruit compote, stuffed pancake, etc. Extremely delicious. There is nothing lacking in this B&B. Everything is at your fingertips and the Innkeepers are always available. Also important is the location of the B&B to downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed walking everywhere, to restaurants, shops and the morning and nightly walks to the harbor. Absolutely loved the location, with off street parking. When/if we return to Bar Harbor, we would absolutely stay at the Atlantean again; Without a doubt you will not be disappointed. Also, the Innkeepers surprised my husband with a birthday cake -- very thoughtful and shows how accommodating and caring Innkeepers Heidi and Gary are.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and comfortable and "quiet"!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02TravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Property: Atlantean Cottage
Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing