We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to bad to worse.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbe Museum

Abbe Museum
Ranked #21 of 69 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Abbe Museum shares the history and culture of Maine’s Native people, collectively known as the Wabanaki (Penobscot, Passamaquoddy, Micmac, and Maliseet), and operates from two locations in Bar Harbor. At our downtown location, visitors find dynamic exhibitions and activities interspersed with spaces for quiet reflection. At the Abbe’s historic trailside museum at Sieur de Monts Spring, guests can experience early 20th century archaeological discoveries informed by 21st century science. The downtown Abbe Museum serves guests year-round, while the Sieur de Monts Spring location is open seasonally from mid-May to mid-October. Admission includes both locations. Located in an historic downtown district, we offer clean restrooms, several nearby restaurants and Bar Harbor attractions, and nearby motorcoach parking. Other amenities may be offered with notice. The History of the Abbe Museum: First opened to the public in 1928, the Abbe Museum is named for its founder, Dr. Robert Abbe, an eminent New York physician and beloved summer resident of Bar Harbor. During the 1920s, Dr. Abbe assembled a collection of early Native American artifacts found in the Frenchman Bay area which launched the museum at Sieur de Monts Spring. In 2001, we opened our second facility in a renovated historic landmark in downtown Bar Harbor. Today, the Abbe offers changing exhibitions and a robust programming schedule for all ages. Our museum shop is a destination for unique gifts and art and shipping is offered.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good to bad to worse.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've conducted three visits over the years. We enjoyed the first. The second was okay, but today's visit was terrible. Although I did not request it, I wanted my money back after paying for a family of six. The number and quality of the exhibits greatly diminished. We won't go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuClav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon C, President & CEO at Abbe Museum, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I am terribly sorry to read that your visit to the Abbe Museum was less than expected. It is surprising to hear because we have five new exhibits this year, including a traveling exhibit from the Smithsonian Institution. This is more than the Abbe has ever had at one time.

Each year we introduce changing exhibits that explore topics that align with our mission to inspire new learning about the Wabanaki Nations with every visit. We also work closely with Native advisors to develop meaningful exhibits that bridge the past and the present, keeping our 21st century understanding of Native communities at the forefront.

I encourage you to visit again and perhaps look a little closer at the information presented, or participate in one of our many educational programs we offer throughout the year - at our downtown location, at our Sieur de Monts Spring location, or throughout Acadia National Park in July and August.

And, please contact me to receive free admission for your family of six the next time you visit the Abbe Museum. I can be reached at cinnamon@abbemuseum.org.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    36
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My & kids wife made me leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This smallish museum, the one in downtown, is loaded with fantastic artifacts, exhibits and information. You'll want to allow at least an hour and a half to get through. Currently have an exhibit on African Native Americans and how these individuals have had to deal with racism not only from the outside, but also from their own people. Gift shop with nice items. Haven't made it to Sieur de Monts, but plan on it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank comeseencmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco island fl
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing place, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a little gem in the heart of Bar Harbor. Beautiful, peaceful, informative and a gorgeous gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank funkynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

So important to retain heritage of island, and this museum does it. Saw presentation about Guides exhibit - very informative. Great store as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliceBlue-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Legacy of Maine's Native Americans Beautifully Presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My whole family (adults and teenagers) were greatly engaged by the varied displays of the Abbe Museum--both at its original site at the Sieur de Monts Spring and at the larger museum site in town. The information is attractively presented in a great variety of formats. For visiting children at both sites there are fun clipboard "scavenger hunts". Great recommended for all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCBNorway_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbe Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Abbe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing