We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No disappointment here!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I looked at/researched EVERY possible place/choice to stay in and around the Bar Harbor /Acadia area....hotels, motels, B & B's, VRBOs and in the end I certainly made the best possible choice. We stayed in the SeaView Suite (above the garage). It was very clean...like being at home. The view and the grounds were amazing...oh and the water...the sunset...the sounds of nature....did I say AMAZING. No doubt we will stay here again. You will not go wrong with this choice!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages. It was super clean and met all our needs. The not-so-up-to-date furnishings added to the charm of the property. The drain on the tub was extremely slow and the roof leaked the day it rained but other than that it was terrific. The owners of the property offered recommendations for restaurants and great tips for visiting Acadia. The grounds were gorgeous and right on the water. Very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ditzy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We LOVE this place! It's so peaceful, quiet, and relaxing. The cottages are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. It's a pleasure to drink coffee in the morning on our small deck overlooking the bay. We've watched sea otters playing nearby, as local fishing boats set off for the day, then witnessed breathtaking sunsets in the evening. The cottages aren't near the main road, so there is no traffic noise. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. If you stay at Edgewater, you'll probably become addicted, just like we are.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We have been to Bar Harbor many times but this is the best place we have ever stayed in. Who could ask for a better environment - waking up to the water just a few feet away? It is minutes from town but you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. The owners are great and helpful. We've already got our reservations for this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We have come here several times. When vacation calls us to Maine, this is where we go. The cottages are great! The price is actually cheaper than most other places, (which attracted us in the first place). The views of the ocean are right out side your big picture windows. We love it here! It is close to everything and yet secluded enough to just sit and watch the lobster boats and loons pass by.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! We will be visiting again and again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I can't say enough about how perfect this place is.
Quiet, immaculately clean, spectacular view, fantastic accommodations AND delightful proprietor.

We walked into our room, and it took our breath away. The room was lovely, with huge sliding glass doors along one whole side, and the water just 50 feet away. We enjoyed having meals on the balcony. We felt taken care of and rested, and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Spent 2nd week of October there with my wife. Stayed in the Motel. Both motel & cottages have great views on the water front. Not the newest place, but great for the money. Used fireplace each night, very romantic. Large sliding glass doors with beautiful Bay view. Lobster boats moored in the bay. Off the road, so absolutely no traffic noise. Comfortable bed - for us. Owner made us feel right at home. Very knowledgeable of local area. Helped us pick out the best tour boat and lobster pound. No he doesn't take credit cards, but he lets you know that up front. We looked at a lot of more expensive places, but chose this one for $$ versus what you get. Would stay there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NemoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
5.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel & Cottages

Address: 137 Old Bar Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $51 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bar Harbor, Edgewater Motel and Cottages is an all waterfront property with many treasures. Only 2.5 miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park and just enough outside downtown Bar Harbor, allows easy accessibility to all points on Mount Desert Island. Our waterfront cottages, motel, and suites are all beautifully positioned on our private pebble beach nestled on a cove, offering much quiet and serenity after a long day of activity. Each of the selected accommodations are upscale-casual, warm, and inviting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing