We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, idyllic spot!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Relaxing, idyllic spot!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just returned from spending a week at Edgewater Motel and Cottages. We were in a cottage and we had everything we needed. The cottage had a full bath, immaculate. The kitchenette had a 2 burner electric stove top and plant of pots and pans , dishes, which all seemed new. They supply dish detergent and dish towels and provide housekeeping services as well. They are very
eco-conscious and thus do not supply paper towels or napkins so bring those with you if you want them. The kitchen had silver ware, cork screw, toaster, full sized coffee maker. Coffee is not supplied but it is available in the office beginning at 8AM. Excellent coffee. There was a large, but not full sized refrigerator and Microwave.

We had a large bedroom area with a king sized bed that was very comfortable..and I am picky about mattresses! A large closet with plenty of shelving in the bedroom area for storage. The living was a comfortable size and had 1 recliner, a large easy chair and a full sized sofa. There was a flat screen tv which we never used because nothing could compare to the view outdoors!

The kitchen area had a table with 4 chairs. All in all the living space was more than adequate for 2 people. We also had a large deck with 4 chairs and a large wooden table. The deck has nice filtered shade until about 3:30 then it had full sun. The only thing missing was an umbrella for the table when eating dinner on the deck. It was very sunny. I think next time we will bring one.
There were picnic tables and charcoal grills. Supply your own charcoal or ask in the office if anyone left charcoal behind.

There are several cottages. most have a parking space next to the cottage. The only cottages that do not have a designated space right with the cottage are cottages 9,10 and 11. Although it was a short walk when unloading and loading the car, it was not a factor because these 3 cottages are a bit isolated from the others and thus there was more privacy. The other cottages are adorable and each have a view of the water.

And the water...ohhh the water. The bay was calm and peaceful all the time. Perfect for kayaking. You can launch your kayaks right from the beach and explore the bay for miles in either direction. This is not ocean kayaking with big waves or swells. this is a calm, protected salt water bay that leads out to Frenchman Bay. Great for beginners as well. You can arrange with the owner to have kayaks rented and delivered. Our neighbors did this and they had the kayaks for a 24 hour period of time. There are caves to explore when kayaking..very cool. There are lobster pots scattered about the bay and the lobstermen would come by to collect or check their pots.

The grounds were gorgeous, meticulous landscaping, lush green grass and lots of perennials . A hummingbird visited me on the deck while having breakfast. While we were there we saw bald eagles , an eagle's nest with a fledgling (you have to be on the water to see it), a seal and a school of porpoises.

The feeling of relaxation is just amazing while here. The silence was deafening in a good way. There is no playground or swimming pool. I read reviews about the MDI biological labs causing a noisy environment but we hear nothing.

Meals: we did cook several meals. After all, why pay the big bucks at a restaurant when you can have your own private water view with your meals? We did try the Traveling Lobsterman once. We had 2 lobsters, 2 ears of corn and a large order of mussels. this meal was delivered fully cooked and it cost $31.50. We also tried Mainely BBQ which had good pulled pork and in a very rustic environment . Utter Heaven swerved up great ice cream for a treat. We ate one morning at Jeannies Maine Breakfast in Bar Harbor after watching the sunrise atop Cadillac Mountain. The breakfast was just ok and I would not go back there. I will review the restaurants separately.There are a few more that we did eat at. Mainely Delights in Bass Harbor is a cute off the beaten path seafood stop. BYOB. Worth the trip. Excellent food and service.

Be sure to bring bikes and ride or hike along the carriage roads in Acadia. See Eagle lake, Jordan Pond, Sand beach, Otter Cliffs and of course, popovers at Jordan Pond house! If you are 62, get yourself a National parks pass for $10. Good for life and totally worth it!

I highly, highly recommend Edgewater for its charm, peacefulness and helpful advice from Jayne and David, great hosts. Next time we will stay for 2 weeks!

Room Tip: Cottages 9,10 and 11 have a bit more privacy but you park your car a little further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    50
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
167
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great place if you want to go to Acadia, Bar Harbor, or just relax.
It's located within a short drive to Acadia/Bar Harbor

It's family friendly, but I know too many people with unruly children, and that wouldn't bode well with the people there just trying to relax from the everyday grind.

They do have Wifi, which isn't very good and getting a phone signal is very sparse....but trust me...that will be a BLESSING in disguise..lol

Staff was excellent....owners and housekeeping

I listed MANY pros, and just a few cons. Only one which is important, and that's an ice maker...maybe located in the office to prohibit abuse. Would make it a lot easier to go on hiking trips without having to go to store to buy ice. So bring a bunch of ice packs to put in the freezer.

Pros:
Great View
Great Location
Great Staff
Clean facilities
Very Quiet (At least when we were there)
Close Parking
Fridge in room
Updated facilities


Cons:
No Ice Maker
No Microwave in room--(At least in Motel, but it's located at the office)

If you're looking for a great place to relax and possibly hop over to the park or eat out on the water at Bar Harbor...then this is the place for you!!!

Thanks to everyone at Edgewater for making our stay a great one and hope to see you soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Take-A-Break-247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cottage and then a suite. I can recommend this accommodation without reserve. Good value for money, spotless and wi-fi signal is strong. The location is peaceful and right on the water. Also ideal if you plan to explore all the Acadia Park has to offer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prarieskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our first visit to Maine and stayed a week in cabin 10. Nice and quiet with a beautiful view of the water. After a busy day enjoying the sights this is a perfect place to unwind. When we checked in Dave have us aap if the area and made some wonderful suggestions of sights to see. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We we're more than pleased with the Edgewater. Stayed in both motel unit (#8) and a cottage(#3). Both have an amazing view of the (cove? ocean!) and you feel like you are on the water. motel has a nice fireplace and both had kitchens supplied well with pots pans ect ..The grounds are well maintained and complement the water view nicely. We saw everywhere else we could have stayed and after that knew we made the best choice. Not in downtown, but two min or so to the park. Grills everywhere to use(charcoal ) and tables /chairs to use outside. Owners seem very helpful and are on top of things making the place a nice little getaway. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and romantic. Again .. you are right on the water ..what can be better? All units have perfect view with well place buildings for maximum view.. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-ate-the-Paste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Sea View Suite was perfect for the three of us. The setting is perfect, the views stunning. It appeared to have new carpeting, living room furnishings and curtains. Nice large flat screen TV in the living room made hubby happy (who besides him want to watch TV with these views?) The kitchen is large and stocked with dishes, nice pots and pans, coffee maker, microwave, etc. We stopped at the grocery on the way in, so we appreciated the full-sized appliances - although I missed my dishwasher. The queen sized bed appeared to be relatively new. The king sized bed was older, judging by how low it was to the floor, but was comfortable and we slept great all 4 nights. Each bedroom had lots of storage. The bathroom was stuck style-wise in the 70's but no concerns. My FAVORITE part of this suite was the deck. We could sit on the deck, eat breakfast, dinner or enjoy an adult beverage along with the fantastic views. Because of the height of the deck, we were not bothered too much by insects.
When we arrived Dave was extremely helpful, he advised us on places to eat and activities to do. In later conversations he shared the story of his families ownership of the property over two hundred years, which is awesome. The suggestions he made were right on for us. We really appreciated having the laundry on site which was reasonably priced.
These were great accommodations for our needs and the shoulder season rates a wonderful bargain. I would recommend these motels and cottages to anyone who really wants to enjoy the quiet little cove and the great views away from the crowds and noise but be close to Acadia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

As I write this review, I am sitting on the desk outside of my room watching a lobster man check his traps. The breeze is blowing...The slight hint of salt water tickles my nose. The tide has gone out so a few local birds are looking for their breakfast. Not one sound of traffic, hustle and bustle of downtown Bar Harbor. The bed and pillows were fantastic, clean everything!! We stayed in room 25...we want a cabin next time. This is absolutely the best place I've ever stayed. Nestled in Salsbury Cove it is quiet, peaceful and just a short drive from wherever you want to go. Joyce and Gary

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Address: 137 Old Bar Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bar Harbor, Edgewater Motel and Cottages is an all waterfront property with many treasures. Only 2.5 miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park and just enough outside downtown Bar Harbor, allows easy accessibility to all points on Mount Desert Island. Our waterfront cottages, motel, and suites are all beautifully positioned on our private pebble beach nestled on a cove, offering much quiet and serenity after a long day of activity. Each of the selected accommodations are upscale-casual, warm, and inviting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing