We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and nice staff”
Review of Whale Watch Cafe

Whale Watch Cafe
Ranked #89 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were looking for a place where we could sit outside with our small dog. I went inside to inquire about carry out and mentioned that we were traveling with our dog. The hostess advised that we could sit with our dog outside on their dock. We did and the food was very good - one boiled lobster, fried scallops, and the trimmings. The hostess and our waitress were great! We really liked this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great end to a fabulous Day of Whale Watching!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took the 4:30pm Whale watching trip (sunset trip)from the same Marina where this restaurant is located and had a fabulous time and were tired by the time we were back on land. So we basically went to this restaurant for the sake of convenience and were pleasantly surprised at the reasonable prices and the enjoyable atmosphere. We were there at about 8:15 in the evening, just after sunset and were seated right away. Enjoyed a delicious Wild Blueberry Martini and my husband a local beer. Then a nice generously portioned Lobster Roll with all the fixins...But my husband opted fort the full Lobster. His first time having a full lobster. I know better, so I stick with the less messy options. We enjoyed all they had to offer and then headed back to our RV...Happy Campers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, ME
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A great stop at any time. We went before the whale watch and food was delicious!! A great choice of beverages too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tishlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and close to the Harbor”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location was good and the food was excellent. Prices were fair and good value for what you get. The service and staff was friendly and prompt.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Best local bar for late night”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Best place to grab a drink late night. Good mix of locals and tourists. Live music on weekend nights and some good local brews on tap.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Whale Watch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing