We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Blaze

Blaze
Ranked #16 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Expensive for an average dining experience. Staff was almost irrespectful / arrogant, portions small and food good but not exceptional.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    291
    104
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very expensive, nothing special.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant pitches itself as an alternative to the many (very good !!) lobster and seafood places in Maine in that they "wood grill" the seafood. This is true, but to be honest the reason everyone else steams/boils it, is because fresh seafood tastes better that way!!.
We decided to try it for a change, it was okay ... but nothing special. Most things on the menu had no price,but market value. We accept that we should have checked the price, but having already eaten a similar menu in nearby restaurants we did not expect a great variation in price. We were shocked by the final check, even more so by the automatic 20% service charge (for 2 people). Something we have almost never seen anywhere in the USA. Unless you desperately want grilled seafood - AVOID.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average food - Great beer selection”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I liked this restaurant for the bar, happy bartenders and great beer selection. Although not on tap I was able to get Lobster Ale (one of my favorites and hard to find when they push the local Bar Harbor Ales). Lobster Ale is from a Portland brewery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great beer selection”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We didn't have a full meal here, we had drinks and an appetizer. The appetizer was really good and some of the other food that came out while we were there looked amazing. We sat at the bar and they had a wide variety of beer to choose from, which was great. Good time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goddessathenamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Going back again before we leave”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Good beer selection, great food. The pizza was fantastic as were the lobster tail tacos. There were a half dozen other things on the menu that looked good, so we will be going back again before we leave. No problem with wait or service, but its easy to see how it could slow down during summer.

Helpful?
Thank soah_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaze also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Blaze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing