We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We couldn't have been more pleased!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We couldn't have been more pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The location is fabulous, close to Bar Harbor and Acadia but away from the congestion. We tried their lobster dinner special which is prepared on site by the Travelling Lobster and it was fabulous - great value and delivered to our door (actually to the picnic table we chose on site). Truly pet friendly, not just stated as such. Plenty of places to walk the dog and close to a pet friendly beach (down a steep hill if walking impaired). Stayed in a duplex and a cottage - liked the cottage better as it had a full kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joni467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Small, cute, cozy cottages, just minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and entrance to Acadia Nat'l Park. Very convenient. Complete takeout lobster dinner available right behind the office building. Cottages are very close to busy road, but noisy traffic drops off dramatically in late evening, so traffic noise was not a big problem, On cool evenings, running the in-unit heater is, on the other hand, pretty noisy and annoying. Heat comes on (loudly) for short period, then turns off. Process is repeated many, many times each hour. If you're not a very sound sleeper, this could keep you up at night. Note this: Pets are allowed, but a prominently posted sign warns you that you must not leave your pet unattended in the cottage at any time, that pets are not allowed on furniture at any time, and threatens penalty if you ignore this caveat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CXCrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

My Family and I (group of 23) rented the entire place out for a long weekend.
We had a blast. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to camp and be outdoors. The cottages are just like the web site pics, cute, cozy, clean and private. There are picnic tables and gas grills outside to enjoy. They have fire pits for a relaxing evening fire. The kitchens are equipped with everything you could think of.
I saw every one of the cabins and each one is neat and clean. Pick anyone that is suitable to your needs and you will be comfortable.
Those of us that were in the front had no complaints about traffic noise. It was quite and we all slept well each and every night.
We enjoyed the town and the park both are just a short drive away.
The place was perfect for us, everyone in my family was pleased no complaints from anyone. thanks to charlene and her husband for the hospitality, they were there when we needed them but we were left alone to enjoy the entire place for the weekend.
If anyone is planning a large family gathering and would like to reserve a place all your own check this place out it is affordable and a perfect place to be while exploring bar harbor. If you are traveling solo or with your immediate family and like to camp, go and enjoy the comforts of home while you camp at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We were happy with the cottage. It was what was described on their website. The main reason we picked this cottage was that it was pet friendly and it was. Jessie, the resident dog was very friendly too!! The cottage was the right size for the three of us and our pet dog. The cottage was clean, but could use a fresh coat of paint. About 6 miles from Acadia park entrance. No complaints. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

After coming from a cottage which we were sorely disappointed I was so worried that the Tripadvisor folks would let us down. With brining a dog on vacation you become well aware of the limitations you have with booking lodging. Well I have to say we were so excited and thrilled this place was CLEAN and had nice décor and smelled CLEAN. I know that décor is not always a deciding factor but it was nice in our cottage. Plus the beds were comfortable. The owners were nice and helpful. The only drawback is that the cottages are close to the road (State Hwy 3) and you can hear road noise at night. They do offer a fan but if you are a light sleeper, you might want to keep this in mind.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neatoconchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

My firends and I enjoyed our stay at the tiny cabin. It was a perfect place to return to after being out all day. Road noise is the only complaint. But by the second night, we didn't notice it. Service is superb and everything was very clean. Great find financially as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jseniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at Rose Eden Cottages for 3 nights and could not have been happier. The cottage was very clean, roomy enough for our needs and well equipped. The owners were attentive and friendly. Also dog friendly with a convenient dog-walking area.

Only (small) complaint: it is right on a busy road and the cottages are quite close to the road. With a fan going, though, the road noise was barely noticeable.

This place is super-clean and convenient to Acadia as well Bar Harbor. Easy to find.
We'll go back over and over.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogtraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
5.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing