We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Worth Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2006

Our stay at Rose Eden cottages was from May 31 until ouir check out the morning of June 3. The owners were very friendly and helpful, we loved the location very relaxing our family unit consisted of myself, my husband, my sister and her two children, we stayed in one of the family cottages the tides. We loved having our own private space having the two seperate bedrooms was great, and especially having our own full kitchen, we were able to shop for food relax at breakfast, and not feel rushed, and since we were right next to the common area were able to use the grill to cook our dinners. It was great, I would recommend this to anyone especillly families, It was nice to be able to spend time together and the feeling of privacy is wonderful. I will recommend Rose Eden to amyone that I know who plans a trip to Bar Harbor. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

We were here with our dog and it was perfect for us as all we wanted was a place to sleep after long days hiking in Acadia.

This is a family run establishment, so service is very personable and I think quite accomodating. As for traffic noise, yes, it is close to the road (Rt 3), but the traffic fades in the evening, so even with windows open in one of the road facing cottages (numbers 1 - 6) we had no problem sleeping.

There are few pet friendly places in the area, and that alone gets these guys 3 stars from me. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2004

We stayed in Cottage 8 which was very clean. Room was extremely small and it was difficult for 2 people to move around and store stuff. Bathroom was so tiny the door did not open the whole way. There was no phone or clock but it did have a dorm fridge, micro and coffee maker. We had a room not directly on the highway, but it was VERY loud traffic at night. In addition, some cottages have adjoining rooms and you can hear everything going on in the other room which was quite annoying at night and in the AM. Cottages were located very close to entrance to Acadia, but was pretty far from Bar Harbor.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bellestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2004

We were pleased with the cleanliness and the service. We stayed in cottage #10, and were back off the road. The cabins are rustic but tastefully decorated. The cottages are a great value as they are among the least expensive in the area, but rival those for which you would pay far more. We will stay there whenever we visit Mount Desert Island.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macfromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

Very clean and comfortable. Myself, husband and choc. lab were very pleased. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
1 Thank katiegirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2004

These cottages are a bargin. They are extremely clean and decorated with a different theme. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying at Rose Eden Cottages and will return for another stay when my travels bring me back to the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2003

I have stayed at Rose Eden twice, once with family the other with friends. The rooms are designed to make you feel comfortable and "homey". The staff are very outgoing and friendly and do their very best to provide a family environment. Though close to the road, as are most all of the hotels/motels in the area, the geographic location makes travel on the island easy with generaly short travel time. When I'm in Bar Harbor you'll find me at Rose Eden Cottages.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing