We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay when visiting Bar Harbor & Acadia NP.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when visiting Bar Harbor & Acadia NP.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at Rose Eden for 4 nights on our honeymoon. Accomodations were great for what we wanted. Cottages were roomy, comfortable, clean, affordable and the location is convenient for getting to town & the park. The area is definitely a nice place to visit and I would certainly stay at Rose Eden again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little closer to town would have been better, but not that big of a deal.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doughboysigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

My husband and I booked a cottage at Rose Eden Cottages so we could bring our dog hiking in Acadia with us. The cottage we got was very small but very cozy and clean. The owners were very nice and helpful. We ordered the lobster meal for two one night and had a great dinner. The cottages were on a nice patch of land and in a great location. Across the street down a small road was a rocky beach which was pet friendly. A couple miles down the road was a great ice cream place called Udder Heaven which had great coffee and bagels for breakfast and delicious homemade ice cream. The cottages were also very close to downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia Natl Park. We would definatly stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaPunk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed at Rose Eden with our toddler in Septmber. The owners are so friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and well supplied. The location is very convenient.

We ordered lobster and had it in our cabin. It was Fabulous!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — size of unit
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

Was looking for a place other than the standard hotel... and we found these cottages. They are right on the busy road into Bar Harbor but it is actually quiet. No trouble sleeping. Beds were comfy and clean. Bathrooms and the kitchenette were clean and stocked. My two kids and I slept great, were in Bar Harbor and hiking all days but at night when we returned it was nice place to crash!
Would stay here again. About 5 minutes outside of Bar Harbor.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — right on the road
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdaveabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Very clean, very quaint, housekeeping cottages. We stayed in a single cottage with (2) double beds, kitchen and bath. Entire property was well kept and had a very homey atmosphere. It is very close to the entrance to Acadia National, just a few miles. Family run place, owners were very nice, and offered not only outstanding hospitality but lots of great tips and information regarding Acadia and Bar Harbor. There is a winery next door and the owners offer a full Lobster dinner with all the works hand delivered to your door. Booking, check in, etc. very easy.

Best part for me, was that it was dog friendly. If you are looking to take a vacation with your dog Acadia/Bar Harbor is a great choice, most shops and even restaurants are dog friendly and I would highly recommend staying at Rose Eden. I look forward to going back very soon.

  • Liked — Dog friendly
  • Disliked — On Main oad
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

The Rose Eden cottage we stayed in during our trip was clean and cute - we stayed in Cabin 2 with two bedrooms. It was small, but it fit our needs perfectly. We had trouble with an outlet in the kitchen one day and the owners fixed it by the time we came home. The Explorer bus will stop right outside the cabins if you stand out to wave them over when they come to Hadley Beach. We were minutes from the park and Bar Harbor and we had a lovely stay. Keep in mind the kitchenette is very tiny (but workable) and the cottages are close to the road, so unfortunately, you can hear the traffic. We bought a box fan at Walmart to block out the sound and help us all sleep better - it worked well, so no complaints. Overall we were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

We visited Bar Harbor/Acadia in late June and stayed at Rose Eden. Very courteous and helpful staff, clean rooms, and decent location. Would definitely return on our next vacation to the area.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markco20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing