We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricy but very cozy”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went up to Maine for a long weekend in June and the stay was pleasant. Fine linen, cozy bed, small but functional shower, very good breakfast...and you can't beat the location. The house is so close to the national park, any entrance of it. It is also within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. The porch was large and very cozy...make sure you hang out there for afternoon tea or reading. The weekend happened to be the motorcycle weekend so there was some noise from the street traffic and moped riders who stayed in this same house.

Room Tip: The owner has local restaurant coupons so check them out. Acadia has nice beach. If you go to beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phdgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

First B&B experience and we loved it. The Holbrook House is but a few minutes walk to downtown and a short drive to Acadia National Park. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. Eric and Michelle are great hosts and make you feel right at home. Good storage for bikes, etc. The food was outstanding - especially the breakfasts and they even accomodated our special dietary needs. Bar Harbor is a great setting and The Holbrook House only added to our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Michelle and Eric are wonderful owners of the Holbrook House. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Our room was lovely, the porch delightful. Breakfast every morning was delicious as were the afternoon snacks. The porch was the perfect place to end the day with a glass of wine and chat with the other guests. The location is very convenient to Acadia National Park as well as downtown Bar Harbor. We will definitely return to Bar Harbor and the Holbrook House in the future!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just recently returned from a trip to Bar Harbor and Portland, Maine. While in Bar Harbor we stayed at Hoolbrook House and pretty B&B in an ideal location. The B&B is located about a 10 minute drive from the entrance to Acadia National Park and about a 5 minute walk down Mount Desert Road to Main Street which is the heart of Bar Harbor. The B&B itself is lovely. Our hosts, Eric and Michelle were great and very hospitable. Eric was very helpful in suggesting things to do and providing directions when we had to get somewhere. Michelle is an awesome cook. Breakfasts were unbelievable. I'm still dreaming of that blueberry french toast that we had on our last day. I was so full that I couldn't eat anything until dinner.

Our room was charming. The room and the entire house were spotless. I've stayed at a few B&B's and what I really liked was that once breakfast was done there was coffee, juice, water, cookies, brownies and more treats available all day and night. Coming back in the evening and then being able to make yourself a cup of coffee, have a snack and sit on that beautiful front porch just relaxing was indeed a treat.

If you're heading to Bar Harbor I would highly recommend the Holbrook House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Buttercup Room. It was small but perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Holbrook house is a nice bed and breakfast run by the owners of two years, Erik and Michelle. They do everything to make their guests feel comfortable and at home. The breakfasts are delicious, as are the afternoon snacks. The porch or side yard offer a place to sit and read or enjoy a glass of wine. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. I was able to peak into most of the rooms and they all provide a queen size bed (one had a king), a dresser, at least one chair to relax in, a closet or wardrobe and air conditioning. There was a mix of en suite or across the hall bathrooms. Some had the sink in the room and the shower/toilet in a separate room, which worked out well for us. There are three suites with at least two beds suitable for families with older children or adults traveling together. Common areas in the house include a sitting room and a library.
The location couldn't be better, just a short walk to downtown or an easy 5 minute ride to the Acadia park entrance.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the house get a little more street noise and light than the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Holbrook House is conveniently located (about ten minutes from the entrance to Acadia National Park, two minutes from downtown Bar Harbor). The house is quaint and cozy, and includes a porch and sitting room. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfasts are FANTASTIC! And in the evenings, Eric and Michelle put out delicious tea and snacks. The TLC they put into taking care of their guests is impressive. For the price, I found this to be an outstanding value. If and when I get back to Bar Harbor, I will definitely stay at Holbrook House again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinguinoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast so we made this reservation with trepidation. After spending 3 days with Eric and Michelle, we have become true fans. The hospitality here was awesome and we truly felt like we were guests in a friend's home. Also, Michelle makes goodies that are "to die for" at 3:00 for afternoon tea. If we pass through Bar Harbor again, we will definitely return to Holbrook House.

Room Tip: Romor has it the blue ribbon room is extra-special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brighteyes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing