We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast so we made this reservation with trepidation. After spending 3 days with Eric and Michelle, we have become true fans. The hospitality here was awesome and we truly felt like we were guests in a friend's home. Also, Michelle makes goodies that are "to die for" at 3:00 for afternoon tea. If we pass through Bar Harbor again, we will definitely return to Holbrook House.

Room Tip: Romor has it the blue ribbon room is extra-special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brighteyes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here recently with friends and had a great time, more like staying in a hotel, with lots of little extras such as the complimentary flavored oil and the chocolates. We were able to walk into Bar Harbor easily, yet we were away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Both evenings we sat and talked on the veranda with our drinks it was very convivial.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Holbrook House in late May as the beginning of a trip to celebrate my son's high school graduation. Eric and Michelle are the consummate hosts, and ensure that everyone is welcomed and comfortable. While they have been the owners for only a few years, you would never know it....everything is done perfectly, whether suggestions for touring Bar Harbor, recommending places to eat, the scrumptious breakfasts or afternoon tea and snacks. Guests truly feel free to sit and read, play games in the living room, front porch or sun room, and it is very relaxing just to hang out and chat. On a rainy day, the fireplace was lit and all was cozy. The rooms themselves are spotless, well appointed, beds comfortable, and the whole house is done tastelfully according to the period. Holbrook House is very convenient, only a short walk to the center of Bar Harbor; no problems finding shops or places to eat. We have traveled extensively, lived overseas, and been to many B&B's, and just can't say enough about Holbrook House. My son, a guy of few words, was very pleased, enjoyed everything immensely, and said it was the best start to his trip. Thank you Eric and Michelle!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brambleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Eric and Michele are the kindest most generous host/hostess. I've never stayed in a B&B before but can assure you I will only stay in them from now on. The room was clean and quaint. The front porch sitting excellent. The food .... awesome! --- How many words do I have? lol .. Truly a great time .. If/When we get back to Ba Habba - this is the only place I will stay and I told Michele I expect her to still be there 25 years from now! <3

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blueberry Room - It was on the first floor corner and had it's own private entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary201242565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had an amazing time in Bar Harbor. We stayed for a week, and Michelle and Eric were fantastic! They helped point us toward great places to visit, and the best local places to eat dinner. They even provided us with maps and a CD for a self-guided tour of Acadia (which was great!) The rooms were beautiful, with really comfortable beds. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! There was always fresh fruit, and snack bars available, which, after such a hearty breakfast, were all we needed to keep us filled for our strenuous all day hiking the mountain peaks of Acadia. The fresh lemonade and snacks in the afternoon were also amazing. The house itself is also historic and beautifully decorated. We've stayed at other B&Bs and had some horrible experiences, but Holbrook House was just perfect. We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lupine Suite- which is a separate building from the main house- gave us some extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddiesagoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs and rate this one among the very best! The house is so nice, and the front porch and yard are so relaxing. The owners, Michelle and Eric, have thought of everything!The breakfasts are out of this world, and the cookies and brownies in the afternoon are delicious. Coffee and tea are always available. Our room was nice size and well appointed We liked the easy access to the shops and restaurants. We could easily walk to them without having to move our car. We stayed for 3 nights and were always called by name when they saw us. We would love a return visit!

Room Tip: Our room was large and had 4 windows. It was on the front of the house, but we still found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent two days in the Holbrook House what a wonderful experience. Rooms were tastefully decorated, attention to details were second to none. Beds were comfortable and the linens were high quality.

We felt right at home and the breakfasts were beyond words with homemade baked goods provided during the afternoon tea.

Many thanks to Eric and Michelle for making our 'Girls Get Away' memorable. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meb3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing