We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs and rate this one among the very best! The house is so nice, and the front porch and yard are so relaxing. The owners, Michelle and Eric, have thought of everything!The breakfasts are out of this world, and the cookies and brownies in the afternoon are delicious. Coffee and tea are always available. Our room was nice size and well appointed We liked the easy access to the shops and restaurants. We could easily walk to them without having to move our car. We stayed for 3 nights and were always called by name when they saw us. We would love a return visit!

Room Tip: Our room was large and had 4 windows. It was on the front of the house, but we still found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 247 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent two days in the Holbrook House what a wonderful experience. Rooms were tastefully decorated, attention to details were second to none. Beds were comfortable and the linens were high quality.

We felt right at home and the breakfasts were beyond words with homemade baked goods provided during the afternoon tea.

Many thanks to Eric and Michelle for making our 'Girls Get Away' memorable. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meb3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our stay was great. The location of this B&B is perfect. You can walk everywhere in Bar Harbor's downtown right from the Holbrook House with no problems. The rooms were well-appointed with nice soaps and shampoos, the owners were very helpful, and breakfast the next morning was fantastic. This was my first stay in a B&B, and I'm hooked from here. Great place to stay, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It was everything we were looking for; a clean place to rest our heads and get some grub. The only downside is that it is slightly further away from main street than some oer choices. However, we go a clean hotel, friendly hospitality and an economical place to lay our heads for the night. Well worth the couple extra steps for the benefits.b

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcantrell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

May 2011. Many people think that staying at a bed and breakfast is for senior citizens. We are in our 20s and Eric and Michelle made it an excellent stay for any age group. Not only were the accomodations excellent, the best part was breakfast. It kept you full until dinner! Michelle and Eric also gave us great ideas to do during the day as well as reccomending excellent places for dinner and entertainment. We would most definitely reccommend this to anyone looking to experience the East Coast and a new experience!

Room Tip: I think any room is perfect. All decent size. Don't plan on using it much because there is ton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

August 2011, our friends from Atlanta traveled with us in Maine for the first time. The Highlight was staying in Bar Harbor's quaint Bed & Breakfast The Holbrook House. Michelle and Eric Allvin the innkeepers were gracious, friendly, helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful and the accomodations very nice. We highly recommend this B&B and we hope to get back soon!

Steve and Maggi Rosenberg
West Palm Beach, Fl

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmaggi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here in October and were welcomed with the most delicious brownies ever.
This, of course, heightened our expectations for breakfast, which turned out to be too heavy for all of us.
We had two rooms down in a separate cottage, which was quite fun. The one room, however, is very small and there really is nowhere to put your luggage except in the common area. Also, the wi-fi signal was non-existent down there, but I'm sure that is being looked into. The bathroom could do with a refresher, but everything is neat and clean.
The common rooms up in the main building are beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucretius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing