We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Have Been Better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Been Better!”
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed three nights at Aysgarth Station and were delighted by the inn and its keepers, Jane and Steve! Their excellent advice about hikes, bike trails, restaurants, lobster pounds, light houses, etc. was always absolutely on point. Jane's breakfasts are truly fantastic (including caramelized apple waffles, Maine blueberry blintzes) and her afternoon tea treats are to die for (especially the rhubarb bars). We sat out on their charming porch with our books and a bottle of wine each evening after big days of hiking, lobster roll eating, microbrewery samplings, boating, biking and touring quaint towns. Jane graciously and promptly found us a room at a neighboring inn when I discovered that I had made an error in booking. I can't imagine going to Bar Harbor and not staying at Aysgarth Station. Thank you Jane and Steve for a fantastic time!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Midwesttrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    15
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
173
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We had a fantastic time at the Aysgarth Station B&B. Jane and Steve are wonderful hosts and Jane cooked me an amazing vegan breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank harrtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Everything was perfect at Aysgarth Station. We stayed in the Chatsworth room which had a private deck and a bathroom large enough to dance in. The decoration was lovely and felt fancy but not too fancy- a nice place to stay.
Of all the *best* things about this place, Steve and Jane stand out. Jane particularly goes out of her way to make all her guests feel interesting, welcome and at home. They always keep fresh coffee and hot water for tea in the dining room, and it was a real treat to come home from dinner and relax in the living room with tea and some classical music playing softly in the background.
The website advertises a chef's breakfast and it was absolutely true. We were served ample portions of wonderful food which was always beautifully presented. We had freshly baked bread, fruit, and an entree for both mornings we were there in addition to coffee and tea.
And the cats were too sweet!
This is a really great place and I would recommend it highly.
Sonya, Earlysville VA

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank sonyaseone487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Aysgarth Station is the most amazing B&B you could ever hope to stay at.
Steve & Jane were a great source of knowledge about the area and were able to recommend various walks, bike rides around the island.
When asked about places to eat they offered various choices and even called the restaurants to book us a table.
The room we stayed in was truly fantastic as it had its only balcony and the bathroom alone was bigger than most of the other rooms we stayed in on our trip.
If you go to Bar Harbor be sure to stay here.
I am usually a harsh critic of places but his was superb. 10 out of 10.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dolfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We happened to stay in Aysgarth Station during the coldest night of the winter (March 8, 2007) in Bar Harbor, but this didn't bother us at all. First of all because we are from Montreal, Canada. But most important, the B&B was warm and cozy and its innkeepers friendly and helpful. Before going out for supper we would sip a glas of wine in front of the fireplace in the living room with a happy cat on our lap.
We spent two wonderful days on Mount Desert Island (we hadn't expected it to be this beautiful) and were able to find the house and grave of Marguerite Yourcenar, a french writer who spent 40 years of her life on this island.
And we spent two perfect nights in Aysgarth Station (room Chatsworth). Steve and Jane are very nice people and Jane cooks amazing breakfasts indeed (I had the best eggs benedict ever!).
We are sure to come back another time and hope to be able to sip our wines on the very inviting deck attached to Chatsworth.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MontrealChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

I was a bit leery of staying at a B & B as I've had bad experiences in the past...well, my opinion of B&B's has changed completely! Though we never got to meet Steve (busy department head of IT at Bar Harbor), Jane was the most laid-back hostess. She bent over backwards to make sure everyone was comfortable. Only two rules (leave your car keys if you parked in the long driveway and don't let the cats out), everything else was pretty much o.k.

We stayed in the Chatham room, large and comfortable with a private deck. The bathroom was HUGE and I ended up sleeping in there one night....long story.

Advice was ready and plenitful not only from Jane, but from the other guests as well. The location couldn't be beat; in five minutes you could be anywhere in "downtown" Bar Harbor. Then, of course, there are the breakfasts...enough to keep you going to the evening, even with long hikes thrown in!!!!

I've already started planning a trip for my parents to Bar Harbor and they will definitely be staying at the Aysgarth Station.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank calster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Jane & Steve are the most amazing hosts you will ever find, nothing is too much trouble for this great couple. The room we had (Skipton) was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfasts are just out of this world as mentioned by previous reviews. The whole property is very clean and inviting and is a great place to come home to at the end of a busy days sightseeing.

Restaurants & shops are just a short walk down the street so the car can have a break on an evening. The only small problem is that this is an old house so any noise made is heard throughout the property which was unfortunate as while we were there a selfish guest came in at 1:10 am and made no attempt to be quiet. The other 2 nights we were not disturbed at all.

Be warned that there are no TV's at all in this property which some (including us) would say is a plus as there is plenty to do in the town on an evening.

Definately one for our "do it again" list!.

  • Liked — Frienly atmosphere and breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Markhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1820 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast offers year round accommodations on Mt. Desert Island. Our Bed and Breakfast extends New England hospitality and quiet comfort in a uniquely casual atmosphere. The Inn is situated in downtown Bar Harbor....And you are only a short stroll to the harbor, many distinctive shops, an abundance of eateries and the Shore Path ocean-front walk. You are only minutes away from Acadia National Park. 125+ During Summer, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aysgarth Station Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing