We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun In Bar Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 29 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Bar Harbor Maine is an adorable town and the Aysgarth Station is convienent to walking everywhere. Jane and Steve were wonderful hosts. Upon check-in Jane promptly greeted us warmly and was anxious to offer suggestions about the area. She was very helpful and provided us with a tourist map of the town, while offering us coffee, tea and fresh baked goods. I reserved the Henley room which is located right off the dining room. The room was pleasant and met my needs. No TV in the room, but with so many other things to do in this lovely town it was not missed. In Bar Harbor, THE thing to do is get up early and drive to Cadillac Mountain. If you do this, you will to be the first one in the United States to see the dawning of a new day. I was not about to let that get by me!! Steve was remarkable in that he got up early, and I do mean early as we had to leave by 5:45am, and brewed hot coffee, provided a thermos and to-go cups. As if that wasn't enough, he left blankets by the door to keep us warm on that 34 degree morning! SO THOUGHTFUL. Breakfast was divine. Jane made sure each and every person eating was happy with their breakfast. Nice place, nice people. Recommended.

Room Tip: The Henley room does sit off the dining room, so think about that. Upon departure you may be toting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaSpy007gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed with another couple and had the entire 3rd floor to ourselves.
It was a fantastic experience especially for the price.
You were made to feel comfortable, right at home. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean and had excellent water pressure. The breakfasts were delicious. We loved the deck - spent both nights enjoying a glass a wine while admiring the starry night.
It is a very convienent location - close walk to everything downtown.
Would highly recommend. They do not have a TV in the room but didn't miss it - they do have Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: If going with another couple recommend the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmenandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nigths at this B and B. It was walking distance to town for dinner and a stroll. Also close to the park. Breakfasts were always delicious and snacks in the afternoon were a real treat. We would stay here again but would try to stay on the second floor because of the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbaby60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We always seem to luck out with B&Bs in the States! Accommodation in Bar Harbor seemed expensive and limited in the Summer months, so we booked Aysgarth Station instead of a hotel or motel downtown. The B&B is ideally placed within only a block or two of downtown Bar Harbor so an easy stroll to and from dinner is ideal. Jane was a star right from the start, even when discussing our booking in the early spring. She took so much time and trouble to ensure that everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more. There was a nice communal lounge with loads of local information, drinks and snacks always on hand. Our room (Chatsworth) was lovely with antique furniture, a private deck and a huge bathroom with a whirlpool bath and I'd recommend it to anybody looking to stay here as one of the largest and quietest rooms (although I'm sure you wouldn't be disappointed with any room here!). Breakfasts were lovely with generous portions and fresh cooked specialities as well as Jane's excellent home baking. We were very sad to have only been able to stay two nights and hope to go back some time soon - thanks Jane and Steve for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Chatsworth is one of the bigger rooms and is very well specified!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at Aysgarth Station. Hosts Steve & Jane were friendly and helpful. Nice hot breakfast. Our room, Whitby, was small, but clean and neat, with a small private bathroom. Location is walking distance to town and near to Acadia. Everything we wanted for our quick trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was our first experience in a B & B and we are in our early 60s. My husband
spent a great deal of time researching where to stay in Bar Harbor. He made
the decision to go with Aysgarth Station because of all the positive reviews. Best decision he has made in a long time!! We are now sold on B&Bs.
Steve and Jane are incredible hosts from the minute you check in until you
check out. Jane's breakfasts and afternoon teas are gourmet and delicious. She uses top ingredients in all her menus which she cooks in her large kitchen. Both Steve and Jane are very resourceful and helpful with questions about local restaurants, hikes, biking trails, boat trips, ETC.

We stayed in two of the six rooms over our five night trip: Tan Hill and Chatsworth. Both are very comfortable and wonderfully decorated with attention to detail. We enjoyed the Chatsworth because it has a small outside deck and a large bathroom.

The inn is within a short walking distance to all restaurants, shops and
activities offered in Bar Harbor. We even found a huge laundromat to
wash our clothes before we flew home that was about four blocks away.

I cannot say enough positive things about this B&B. We enjoyed all the
nice people we met, the two house cats that are very sweet but don't bother you IF you don't like cats, and the overall experience. Why would you go anywhere else?? I promise you won't be disappointed in any way, well, unless you think you have to have a TV in your room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tan Hill and Chatsworth. Both were outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Poipu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Aysgarth really deserves to be rated higher among B&Bs in Bar Harbor. Jane and Steve immediately make you feel right at home from the beginning, as soon as you check in. My wife and I stayed here two nights in August 2011 on our anniversary. We had the Treefalls room, which is at the very top of the 3rd floor. The room was nice, although the shower was a bit of a tight fit. For older houses with added baths/showers, this should really be expected. The location of Aysgarth is perfect... walking distance to everything in the center of town. Jane and Steve have extensive knowledge of restaurants, in addition to Acadia and other parts of MDI. Jane gave us fantastic tips on seeing Acadia in a short amount of time. By far the treat of Aysgarth is the daily breakfast. Jane is top notch, serving up incredible pastries. We had fruit crepes one morning that were spectacular, and some dark chocolate croissants. We would highly recommend staying here. Rates are better than almost every other place, and you will feel right at home.

Room Tip: Treefalls is somewhat of a hike up stairs, with a smaller shower stall. Overall, the room is a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 29 in Bar Harbor
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 29 in Bar Harbor
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#4 of 29 in Bar Harbor
302 reviews
0 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#18 of 29 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 29 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

Address: 20 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1820 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast offers year round accommodations on Mt. Desert Island. Our Bed and Breakfast extends New England hospitality and quiet comfort in a uniquely casual atmosphere. The Inn is situated in downtown Bar Harbor....And you are only a short stroll to the harbor, many distinctive shops, an abundance of eateries and the Shore Path ocean-front walk. You are only minutes away from Acadia National Park. 125+ During Summer, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aysgarth Station Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing