We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in the heart of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in the heart of town.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff throughout this hotel were warm and welcoming. Lobby has a constantly wood burning fireplace which is a nice touch. The spa facities are open to hotel guests. Absolutely beautiful grounds and views. I would've preferred the hotel sparing the Kuregs in every room & instead offer freshly brewed coffee in the morning. I was surprised the concierge did not completely understand how a guest without a car could visit Acadia Park. Specifically, there was a lack of knowledge on how the local shuttle system worked with regards to travel duration (FYI: avg ~50 min round trip on most shuttles) & where to go for various hiking trail start points. That being said, all of those answers were very well covered by the forrest rangers in their station by the Village Green which is where you pay for & pick up the shuttle.

Room Tip: Pick the 3rd or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank High-Five-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear High-Five-NY

Thank you for recommending our resort to other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and do hope you are able to return for another visit in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    285
    112
    91
    59
See reviews for
303
502
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here 6 years ago and loved it but time has not been kind. Location is great. Room is ok but very noisy, could hear water from room above, doors slamming,etc. went to the bar and there was dried food on the bar top and old slimy lime on the floor. This was at 2pm. I think there has been a lack of attention to detail. The hotel is quite expensive and there is a ridiculous resort fee tacked on. Resort fee is for use of the pool (never used it) bottle of water at check in (never received it) and wifi(didn't need it). Sadly we will be looking for another hotel for our next stay

Room Tip: We had an ocean view with a balcony. View is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napadabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear napabmea,

Your feedback regarding your visit with us is appreciated. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, or the standards that our resort holds itself to.

The comments we have gotten from other guests regarding the service in our new restaurant, La Bella Vita and Enoteca Lounge, have been very positive. I regret that you and your family did not receive the level of attention that was expected. The cleanliness issue has been brought to the attention of the staff.

Further, I am very sorry that you did not like your room accommodations.

I will be sure to share your comments with our management team, with the goal of improving upon the weaknesses you have identified.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your input, and for your recent stay with us.

Best regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked an island view 1BR suite online. On checkin was given a low floor room with a view of the parking lot. When I spoke to management they moved me to an upper floor the next day, but one with a very small balcony and an obstructed view. Overall the level of attentiveness and service is not up to par for a hotel of this cost (670 USD/night).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank atraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear atraveller42,

We truly apologize if your experience at the Harborside was unfortunate. Our goal at the Harborside is to provide the highest quality and equitable service throughout all aspects of our resort. We regret that you felt we fell short in this endeavor. Guest satisfaction is the backbone of our resort and is the key to our success. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success.

Best regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent hotel. room, clean and comfortable. Pool is heated and wonderful view. Breakfast was superb with many choices. Sand Bar steps from hotel and accessible at low tide to walk over to neighboring island.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mary G,

I want to thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We thank you for your very kind words- we have a beautiful property as your title explains. At the Harborside, we strive to provide an excellent lodging experience for all of our guests and we appreciate all of our guest’s feedback.

If your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, we hope the Harborside will be your lodging of choice.

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We accidentally stumbled upon this hotel and we're so glad we did!! We were not planning to stay in Bar Harbor because we had heard it was so touristy (and it IS the closer to evening it gets), but the hotel was so very nice with a beautiful pool right next to the water and walking distance from all the main shops and restaurants, we decided to stay 2 extra nights! We especially want to shout out to Chanler!! She was amazing!! She made our stay so welcoming, sent us a platter of cheese and fruit for our room and gave us amazing advice on places to eat and things to do that perfectly suited our tastes! Kudos to Chanler!!

Room Tip: Chanler gave us an awesome room overlooking the harbor on the island side. We were within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Maurie K,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We were very happy to have you and your family experience the Harborside & Bar Harbor. I hope that others look to your review as a comprehensive evaluation of what we have to offer and that it is truly "our pleasure".

Thank you so much for the kind words in regards to Chanler, so excited to share with her, she is exceptional and we are fortunate to have her!!

I hope the next trip to Downeast Maine includes us and we will be happy to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with great Location. Top notch service and attention to detail by housekeeping, pool, and restaurant staff. Plenty of amenities and lots of activities available. Definitely would recommend this place to colleagues, friends, and family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Richard D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and more importantly staying with us. I know our staff will be pleased to read your comments as well. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Harborside soon!


Warm regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scituate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Checked into the hotel with the help of a friendly, knowledgable staff. When we got to our room, it was spacious, bright, and comfortable. Complimentary water and coffee were offered. After leaving for breakfast and came back to a freshly made up room that was a good as when we checked in. We overlooked the pool, and the flowers and plants in the pool area, added to the very pretty view. The grounds were well groomed. Will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scitfghr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear scifghr,

I was thrilled to read that you will “definitely” be back, we would love to become a tradition for you and your family for years to come! That’s the best possible scenario and we thank you for that. In addition, anything we can do help make positive memories please tell us!

We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year and we cannot thank you enough for the positive review!

Warm regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing