We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Dalhousie, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The big lit fireplace and big red leather chairs was over the top. The pool and service was second to none. You are right in the middle of things. Park your car and walk I would go there again in a New York minute. Yes it's a little pricey but good value. Hope you go and enjoy your stay like us. Also it's a good jumping off place for other attractions

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom5car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    285
    112
    91
    59
See reviews for
302
500
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I would have given this hotel a good review but the air conditioner smelled terrible... like mold. it was very hot during our visit. Then on the second day to make breathing even harder they lit a fire in the lobby. For some reason we could smell the smoke in our room.

We did enjoy the location as well as the pools. The room, air quality aside, was just okay. No major problem but not special. Not sure if they have nicer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in room 2011 in early July. We paid extra for a room with a view and that meant looking at the pool which seemed to be in use 24/7. Our balcony could barely fit 2 small chairs and an end table. That's OK....there was so much yelling and screaming at the pool that you would not want to sit outside. The $25.00 per night "Resort Fee " plus $1.75 "Resort Fee Tax" is a rip-off...you get next to nothing for it. The rooms are small ( we had 2 queen beds ) and look like an inexpensive hotel although the bathrooms are nice. Had breakfast there one day at $41.00 for 2 people. We left a day early.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the lobby as possible.....on the opposite end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee5921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Harborside during the week of July 4th. We stayed there nine years ago and had a wonderful time. This year we again had a wonderful vacation due to the Harborside.

We stayed (both times) in an Ocean front King with private Jacuzzi on the balcony. The Jacuzzi is the prime reason we choose this hotel. There is nothing more wonderful than escaping the summer crowds in your own private oasis, especially at night after dinner and enjoying a few digestifs. We have travelled all over the world and in a town as quaint as Bar Harbor, the Harborside meets our standards. The room was spacious, clean and extremely sound proof. Often at hotels you can hear the patrons in the room beside you. Not at the Harborside. The beds are wonderfully comfortable. Rooms are equipped with a Keurig machine and a mini-fridge that is not annoying stocked with mini-bar items. This fridge is for your own use. The bathroom had both a tub and a glass shower stall. No issues with water pressure, temperature or leakage.

Many people in their reviews complained about the $25 resort fee. I had no issue with this fee. It includes use of the pools, fitness center, WiFi, and parking, among others. Even though we didn't use the pool, I did use the fitness center and use of WiFi without a code was wonderful. Also, we used the valet service, which was flawless. This was also included in the price. For $25 a day, I'm not sure how you can complain. Parking at any NYC hotel is at least $50 a night and does not include in/out privileges.

We used the fitness center each day of our stay. It was rarely crowded and offered treadmills, stair masters, free weights, bench weights, etc. A most lovely bonus was the chilled, eucalyptus scented towels available for cool down. What a lovely touch. Although we did not use the spa, we did take a tour and the facility was really fabulous, including a steam room. The girls working at check-in at the center were always friendly and cheerful.

The hotel is located on the water, which provided wonderful views from our Jacuzzi. On July 4th the fireworks at night over the water were beautiful. It is within a short walking distance from all of the stores, shops and restaurants, as is most anything within Bar Harbor.

We had drinks at the bar and had breakfast twice in the hotel restaurant. It was satisfactory, but with the abundance of bars and restaurants around, we only did this for convenience reasons, due to our particular schedule. They did offer a lovely fruit plate for breakfast, which is nice when you are dining out for three meals a day every day.

We did have an issue with the safe in the room, in that it would not open one evening. We called the front desk and they promptly sent someone to look at it at. The next morning, their master engineer was able to open it for us. Additionally, check in and check out were a breeze.

All in all, we had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Harborside and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean front view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked the room via phone and were told we would have a rollaway bed, pullout sofa and king bed for our family of 5. My 3 teenagers were fighting over who would get the rollaway bed. When Guest Services came and brought the air mattress my kids were fight over who had to sleep on that. They were not pleased and neither was I. We paid $399 a night plus the $25 resort fee (which is ridiculous). The fee should be eliminated.

The best part of the room was the personal hot tub out on the deck. We used that every night.

We did not eat at the resort and we did not use the spa. The resort did not seem crowded. We went to the pool one night and there was 5 people there.

Excellent location - right downtown. You can walk to all the shops and local restaurants. Drive to Acadia entrance was about 5 minutes.

I don't mind spending good money on a room but I do expect good value. The sleeping arrangements really turned me off from this resort. I was adamant during the booking about making sure that my children have comfortable sleeping and the air mattress was not something we expected.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Just not sure I got what I paid for.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms or those overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to Bar Harbor with family to celebrate a milestone birthday. The Harborside was so lovely, the kids didn't want to leave the pool and the adults couldn't get enough of the poolside drinks (the mudslide and sunshower were particular favorites). We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the Harborside Inn. Staff were friendly and helpful, offering suggestions for sight seeing activities. Location is great. Wonderful view of the harbor from our room. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing