We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Harborside for Memorial day weekend. It is a very nice hotel. The staff was very nice. We booked a room oceanfront, so we had a great view every morning. The only down fall we had was the wi-fi was not strong enough for all the people at the hotel.
Great pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowgolf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier! The hotel itself is beautiful and we had a Harbor view room which was great. We found the staff pleasant and check in was smooth ( although we did check in around 7 ) and room was just as described. The pools were great and we really enjoyed the use of the Clubhouse pool next door that is covered in the $25 resort fee. The hotel is ideally located near the main strip with restaurants ( Geddy's is our favorite ) and all the shops as well as being able to walk to the Sand Bridge to Bar Island- keep track of your times so you don't get stranded at high tide! Can't comment about the restaurant as we did not eat there but the infused water in the lobby is great after hiking Acadia or walking around town on a warm day. We look forward to visiting Bar Harbor again soon and plan to stay at the Harborside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian and Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am giving it an average score because the facility looked nice, fairly new with a nice water front view. What was not so nice were the staff who were not helpful. We wanted to change rooms because of the noise. Even while in bed you could here people talking in the hallway or children running down the hall. There must be no soundproofing in the walls or floors because we could hear the neighbors on both sides and upstairs too. It says semiprivate balcony but it was had little privacy. We did not feel we could be on the balcony to talk if people on either side were outside too as they could here everything we were saying. Not very romatic. Perhaps a suite would have been better or this hotel is suited more to families who want to awaken early to the noise of talking and children playing. We were alone hoping for a romantic leisurely vacation. This was not the place for it.

Room Tip: It is hard to say but if I had to stay here again I would choose a room on the end or top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My mom and I went there the last weekend of May 2012 for a get-away. The hotel is beautiful! Staff was great, rooms were very clean and nice. We got a special rate so breakfast (delicious!) was included each morning during our stay, but we had to pay the tax + tip which was added to our hotel room bill. If your rate dosn't include breakfast, be prepared to pay at least $40 + for 2 people. There are several things you can do there from relaxing by the pools, walking around, spa and tennis as well. If you're sitting around by any of the pools, staff will come around to see if you want anything, which was nice! The only negative thing I have to say is the people upstairs from our room were very noisy early in the morning and late at night so I would suggest requesting a room on the top floor. We had a balcony where we could see the oceanview and you could enjoy the beautiful sunset. The hotel is walking distance from restaurants/gift shops/etc. During our stay, we went to Rosalie's Pizza which is walking distance from the hotel and had very good food at good price! We also ate desserts at Morning Glory Bakery which isn't far at all. We both really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would def. stay there again!

Room Tip: Request top floor room, there was people above us that were very noisy early morning and late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel last summer and I have to say, when we did have to leave we didn't want to. We were planning a vacation back while we were still at the Hotel. We loved that you could walk to most places. It was a very nice, friendly area and the people were so polite and nice. The hotel was excellent, no complaints at all. The view was beautiful and you had access to so many things you couldn't want for anything else. I have been to many Hotels and this is by far one of my favorites. I have nothing at all bad to say about the place and Bar Harbor itself, it is a quaint place and the food at all the nearby restaurants that are with in walking distance were Excellent. Love, Love, Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaRose02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was worried when I chose this hotel as some of the reviews were really bad. I wrote to some of the reviewers, both good and bad, and I had replies only from people who had written nice things about this hotel who were reassuring about every detail I was worried about.

So I followed their advice and reserved.

Right choice! The hotel is very nice and comfortable: the two rooms we had reserved had gorgeous views (as we had asked) and everything was as expected. The rooms with a view aren't many so you pay a bit more but it is worth every penny!

Plus there is a very handy laundry room with washing machines and dryers (they even provide the soap for free at reception). Good breakfast and dinner, just a slight glitch with a rude and unhelpful waitress.

It is a family hotel, lots of people coming and going but all in all we had a very pleasant stay.

The hotel has the best location, I cannot think of a better place, and even though it was crowded we always found a place to park. It was clean (in some areas a new carpeting would be nice though), staff were helpful.

One piece of advice, do not go looking for whales in mid-September they are long gone!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get yourself a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and enjoyed it that much we went back. On both occaisions the staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. The returant was lovely, great food - breakfast exceptional value and the lounge was an added bonus. The position and views are great - especially sea facing rooms. We have no hesitation reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#6 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $245 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing