We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great location, nice pool & rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Huron, OH, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great location, nice pool & rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

this hotel was very clean, the room was slightly dated with a small bathroom, but we had a really nice upstairs deck, shared with one other room. The pool was really nice & the water was warm. It is a tiny bit out of town, easily walking distance; we walked the shore path to town and the street sidewalk back. I would stay here again. The price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryOrndorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    54
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
95
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit weary of booking a motel that wasn't as nice as some if the bigger well known hotels in the area, but I booked last minute and choices we're skim and prices were high! The cromwell had the right price and the location was great, we were able to walk into town easily. The rooms were really clean, but the decor was poorly chosen. It's not the ritz, but if you're not looking for anything fancy go here it's worth your money! The only complaint I have was that the maid never came during our 2 night stay, not sure what happened. Other than that I would definitely go back again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Cromwell for two nights. Very friendly, helpful staff, affordable, spotless room in a good location. We preferred these smaller, privately owned motels/hotels on our Maine trip and this one was a favorite.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawano WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived in our hotel room to find one of the most spotless hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Plenty of room in the double queen with pullout coach. The receptionist was very friendly at check in and the hotel was a short 15 minute walk from downtown. The grounds were meticulously manicured. This motel was the best priced of any we could find available in a busy summer stay. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our room was clean and very spacious. We got a room in the back on the 2nd floor. It had a balcony with chairs and small table which was nice to sit at in the late afternoon. It is only a short 5 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor and an easy drive to the Acadia park loop road.

There is a heated pool outside which we used after a day of biking the carriage trails in the park.

If we went to that area again i would stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayaker332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Cromwell Harbor Motel is an ideal location while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
The motel is just on the outskirts of downtown away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. It is less then a ten minute walk to shopping and dining of the down town businesses.

The rooms and grounds are extremely clean.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as two couples I would suggest requesting rooms 115 and 116 if they are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imgeorgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and quiet. We had a nice stay here and found information provided at the desk very helpful. It is nicely located within a 5-10 minute walk of the main town. The motel itself is older but very well kept. Great place for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Property: Cromwell Harbor Motel
Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing