We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with others: A delightful spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We happened upon this sweet place thanks to the lovely staff at the Visitor's center. We were in Bar Harbor for the evening and had a hotel in Bangor. It was a perfect weather weekend so called spur of moment and we got right in. The price was a great value for what we got. It was a spotless and lovely room with a comfy bed far away enough from town to have peace and quiet but a quick walk to the hustle and bustle.
This felt like a home away from home. The pool was an added bonus. Nice warm clean water and towels provided. Outdoor porch seating was another benefit. I am thrilled to see a family business making it and running a wonderful non-chain spot.
I can't wait to come back! A tip: go to Havana for dinner. It's right down the road about 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NewHampshirePeppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the Cromwell Harbor Motel for two nights this week and we can't say enough good things about it. The owners have thought of so many details that make a stay comfortable and stress free. We had two rooms as we were with family - one was a two bedroom room and the other was a king room. We especially loved the upstairs king bed room with the private balcony...what a treat! Would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Try for a room upstairs with a private balcony; a very nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We enjoyed a large room (208) with a king bed. The grounds are well kept. The room was very clean. The staff was responsive to our needs. And the rate was on the low end. What's not to like? It is located just far enough from the center of town to be quiet but close enough to easily walk to the many restaurants, shops and ice cream. We highly recommend this motel if super luxury is not required.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights here. The room was HUGE (anywhere else they would put up a wall and call it a suite! The entire property was immaculate inside and out. Small fridge and microwave in the room. Walk to everything in Bar Harbor. We will always stay at the Cromwell Harbor - best value in Bar Habor.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan H, Owner at Cromwell Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review!
See you next time!!

~The Hanscom Family
Cromwell Harbor Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just returned from our 4th stay at the Cromwell Harbor Motel and as usual we had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful, quiet property which amazingly is only a 5 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of main street Bar Harbor. The family who own and operate the motel are very friendly and helpful and have done a wonderful job in keeping this property up to date and spotless. We will definitely be back. From fellow Raider's fans, Ron and Joanne :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan H, Owner at Cromwell Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thanks for the nice review! It's always nice to hear that folks had a nice time in our town and enjoyed their stay at our motel. I wonder if you had some quality chat time with John about The Raider's?? He's a fan for sure! See ya next time!

~The Hanscom Family
Cromwell Harbor Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a great choice based on reviews on Tripadvisor. The Cromwell was clean and comfortable with a large room and comfortable bed. The room including the bathroom measured about 22 by 17 feet with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The motel had just opened for the season and we had one of about 3 rooms occupied. Check-in was quick and local info was provided by friendly staff.

The location was convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and within easy walking distance if there during busy season when parking is at a premium. Access to Acadia National Park and a sunrise visit to Cadillac Mountain is 10-15 minutes. The top of Cadillac Mtn receives first sunlight in the USA and is a popular place at sunrise.

Acadia is a beautiful place to visit with many points of attraction such as the Ocean Path, Otter Cliffs, Sand Beach, Jordon Pond and Eagle Lake. The rangers at the park can point you to the proper level of hikes for you experience and fitness. Do not forget about the Schoodic Peninsula part of Acadia which is about an hour’s drive. Besides the rocky coastline, the views back across the water to see the main part of Acadia with the mountains is definitely worth the drive.

On the other side of Mt Desert Island are several small fishing villages worth seeing as well as Bass Harbor Lighthouse.

When we return to Acadia, the Cromwell will definitely be a first choice.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms just to avoid people overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan H, Owner at Cromwell Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

We're glad you had a nice time here in Bar Harbor and that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Cromwell. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again!

~The Hanscom Family
Cromwell Harbor Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Located about a 5-10 minute walk to downtown this motel is a clean, quiet place to stay. Having stayed here a number of times, recent renovations and upgrades have offered travelers more room choices and expanded amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiresoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing