We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromwell Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
berwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“location and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Located about a 5-10 minute walk to downtown this motel is a clean, quiet place to stay. Having stayed here a number of times, recent renovations and upgrades have offered travelers more room choices and expanded amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiresoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've been staying in Bar Harbor 15 years at different times of year (fall is our favorite) and different places. Have stayed here 3-4 times. They just renovated a year or two ago and it's very clean with a pool. Great location within easy walking to downtown Bar Harbor. Friendly front office. Only complaint was wifi was weak in our room, but others folk said it was fine in theirs. For the cost this is a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have been coming to Bar Harbor for years. We have stayed in a few different places. Some good and others bad. This Sept. We stayed in a horrible place a few miles from town. We decided to stay an extra night and we found the Cromwell Harbor Hotel! Soo glad we stayed here. Super clean, great location walking distance to town and the prices are reasonable ! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommz2934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Bar Harbor - close to all the attractions, yet far enough south on Main Street (Hwy 3) to avoid the crowds. Also offers easy access to Acadia National Park and Cadillac Mountain. Staff is wonderful, and the rooms are nice. We try to get to Maine every summer, and Cromwell Harbor is our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights here. This is not a luxury choice so don't book here and end up disappointed. This is a super neat and clean property run by really nice local folks. It's not new and could use some updating but we were very comfortable and thought the proximity to town was perfect for us. A good value in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARKHAMSTED
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We also stayed upstairs in a King-sized-bedroom and it was very clean and comfortable. Nice to have the ceiling fan over the bed too. I was surprised how quiet it was there. We enjoyed the convenience of walking down the street to all the restaurants and shops. We walked to breakfast and dinner with no problem. It's also very close to the Acadia Park entrance. We listened to all the reviews before us and didn't go wrong. We also recommended this place to friends and they loved it. Can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: like the upstairs because noone loud is above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllsWellsME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

So we stayed here ten nights I think while in Bar Harbor. Our tenth time here in Bar Harbor and we have stayed in cottages, B&B's, campground, however this is a first for us staying in a motel. My wife researched this very well as we don't like surprises. This place had a lot going for it. In two words, Imm- maculate. One of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. Great job! The room was enormous like almost 25 X 15. It had a nice little balcony for sitting, a refrigerator, a very comfortable king bed, Wifi, flat screen TV, a table to have breakfast and a nice shower. We stayed on the second floor, end room, so no one could walk on our heads. The motel is located on Main Street on the quiet end but it is only a short 10 minute leisurely walk to the center of everything in Bar Harbor. Also close to one of Acadia's entrances. What can I say to maybe improve this great motel? New towels would be nice and although the women we encountered were pleasant the man was not. My wife said he ignored her a few times and I unsuccessfully tried to make eye contact one morning. I mean come on we were there 10 nights you could have said, "Hi" or nodded hello. In spite of this guy we would come back for all the reasons mentioned. Hope this good review puts a smile on your face mister Cromwell.

Room Tip: Just a matter or preference, we don't like first floor rooms cause sometimes you got heavy walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeke905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Place
Primrose Place
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Property: Cromwell Harbor Motel
Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing