We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at his terrific, well located property in Bar Harbor. The hotel itself is only 3 years old, built on the footprint of the original single-story hotel. Because the town would not allow for additional rooms, the owners decided to simply build a two-story building with rooms that are twice the size of a normal room. What a pleasant surprise! We appreciated the luxury of that extra space and wished we had planned a longer stay. The property shows pride of ownership since the owners live in a home attached to the hotel. They were extremely helpful and offered terrific suggestions for dinner and breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Everyone was extremely helpful. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Had access to a large porch area with views of the beautiful flowers and a great view of the pool area. You certainly can tell the owners take pride in the property and everything they do. Can't wait to come back again and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a cute hotel on the far edge of Main St. but still convenient for walking into town. Pretty large property, good pool and nice staff who gave us good information and hooked us up with Acadia. We stayed in the little section on the left with a kitchenette and two queen beds, no complaints. I'd go 4.5 if I could

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our time at Cromwell Harbor was great! We enjoyed their second floor King unit with a full kitchen since we like to have most of our meals "at home". The unit was quite spacious, the kitchen well equipped for "vacationers", and the ceiling fan was a real perk, since our weather was very pleasant and we did not require the use of the A/C at night. We also enjoyed having two balconies, one off the kitchen, the other off the living / bedroom area. The owners, John, Jan, and Joy Hanscom, are delightful people who were very responsive to any needs we had. They keep the grounds looking lovely with many flowers, and though we did not take advantage of the pool, it looked like several people were enjoying it. The other plus was an entrance into Acadia NP just down the road, allowing us to enter without having to go back through town to the main visitor's center. All in all, we were very pleased and would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: Having a kitchen was a great convenience for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This immaculately clean motel is a short walk from downtown Bar Harbor. Our room had every expected amenity, plus some welcome extras, like a second luggage rack, an accessible outlet near the night stand and a closet with a door.

During our week stay we enjoyed the generous walking space in our balcony king room. No turning side ways to walk past one another! Our private balcony and the poolside seating gave each of us a place to go while the other slept in or napped out.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventure0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We came to Bar Harbor for a Sunday nite wedding and we stayed at the Cromwell Harbor for 2 nights. We were very pleased with our stay here. The room was immaculate and the motel was very clean and well kept up. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The owner was very nice and worked very hard to keep it pristine. And it is. And I saw her doing it every day during our stay. The room (king bed) had a refrig, flat screen tv, small balcony with chairs which we sat on and a good sized bathroom. Everything was great. It was just a short distance beyond the town, but you could easily walk to it if you wanted to. It is nice being in a little quieter place. I recommend staying here but stay longer than 3 days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We attended a wedding in Bar Harbor over this past weekend, 7/14-1/15, and stayed at the Cromwell Harbor. It is just far enough down Main Street that you are not in the traffic and yet still walking distance from the shops, restaurants and harbor. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. We had a group and we were close enough to everyone and the pool that it worked out great. The pool was awesome and the grounds were beautiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing