We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
226
62
26
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
226
62
26
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret room floral wallpaper each morning within walking distance quiet side street garden room blueberry pancakes small porch whirlpool tub shops and restaurants dvd player in acadia national park the main drag common areas a wonderful stay rooms were very clean an easy walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 329 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Once again we're looking forward to our stay at Castlemaine. The owner and staff greet us as returning friends and are always happy to see us. Everyone is very helpful at finding new things for us to do, or just updating us on our old favorites.
The rooms are delightful, always clean, bright and cheery. We really do feel as if we are staying in a house which saw history.
Breakfast is tasty and gives us a good start to the day. Filling without being overwhelming.
A stay at Castlemaine is a wonderful way to end the summer!

Room tip: Every room we've ever had has been great!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

This Inn right in the center of Bar Harbor, close to the Acadia NP is a gem. The house looks like an English mansion, the Interieur is like that with all details. Of course it has all modern amenities we need. I stayed in a double bed room named Victoria and it was very sweet. Great bed, a small balcony and a good bathroom. The room was equipped with tv and a video and a DVD player. Downstairs in a common room you can find lots of videos and dvds to watch and books to read. The staff at the Inn does a great job in all aspects. Breakfast is included in the fair you pay for the room and each morning you can choose from 2 warm breakfast choices, such as omelet, oatmeal, pancakes or eggs or or or. I had a different breakfast each morning and all were yummy. I enjoyed my stay very much and can recommend this house to everybody staying in the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Spent 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. First time in a B&B and am glad we found Castlemaine. We were not sure that we would be arriving during the check in hours of 3-6 so I called the night before. I spoke to Bobbie who immediately said she would be there until at least 8p and if we were running late to call and she would leave the information for us. We arrived about 7 or so and the Inn Keeper Bobbie greeted us when we arrived and remembered my call. Very pleasant check in and lots of information on what to do and places to go. The inn is approx 4-5 blocks from downtown Bar Harbor and across the street from a food store for those snacks and beverages you might need. Heading down for breakfast we were met by the coffee cart at the bottom of the stairs and Katherine who served breakfast and lots of information on places to visit. Food was awesome and the information provided by Katherine was wonderful. Each morning she would ask what we were interested in doing and provide pamphlets and directions around construction. She would also check back in the next morning to see how everything went. Dan the owner was there daily checking in and also providing information on the island and was a wealth of information on what to do in Acadia National Park.
Weather was beautiful for the entire visit.
The room we stayed in was the SUN suite, it was huge and very comfortable. Waking up each morning to the smell of breakfast cooking made the stay so much more enjoyable.
If there is one thing that was annoying that was the WiFi. There are 2 different connections at the Inn, one on the ground floor and a 2nd secure for the 2nd and 3rd floors and it worked when it wanted. But then again we were on vacation so it was not a show stopper and we will be back for another visit.

Room tip: Check a few different sites for multiple pictures, when we chose our room we thought it was a standard size.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights on the 22nd May, great location for the village centre. A lovely lady Bobby greeted us and gave us plenty of information on the area. We were booked into room 8 known as Augustine. Lovely room with a small balcony and chairs, great sunny aspect when the sun was shining. This decked area needs some updating, my husband leant on the the railing and it was old and worn and was not a safe area. A lick of paint on the whole area would not go amiss. In the morning we were greeted by another lovely lady called Cathy and the chef (didn't catch his name). She advised on the breakfast choices. Not always our cup of tea, but they obliged with more simple breakfast offering, like scrambled eggs. The owner Dan, well not sure what to make of him, he was a little indifferent, only spoke when spoken too. Not our idea of a mine host of such an establishment. We ate twice at the Thirsty Whale in the village, great fish and chips.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank caj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Wished we could have stayed longer here! We were actually their first guests of the season and our experience was a complete delight! Room was incredible. Comfortable bed, lots of space, extremely clean! Breakfast was a particular standout. House of two delicious options, freshly made to order each morning! Staff were just lovely - super helpful and knowledgable of the area and gave us some great tips for hikes in Arcadia. 5 min walk into Bar Harbour town where there are some great food and drink choices. Would 100% recommend!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nvh2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews