We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Ranked #21 of 29 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good location, great service from the staff, very helpful with information on the local attractions includeing the restrauants and all the services the park has to offer. The breakfast was very good with choices, and the service was great. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and drinking a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found a gem in Bar Harbor! The Castlemaine Inn was wonderful for service, location and comfort. The room we stayed in was one of the smaller rooms in the Inn but was very comfortable. It included our own private deck overlooking Holland St where we had coffee every morning. Dan, the owner, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with planning a hike of Cadillac Mtn in Acadia National Park. He also recommended a trip through Northeast Harbor which was absolutely beautiful. The Inn is within walking distance to all Bar Harbor activities. Breakfasts were great with multiple choices each morning. We will be staying here again the next time we travel to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I would give them 10 stars if I could!! Great place! Everything was perfect. We will definitely return! The only drawback is they are not dog friendly. Perfect location. I love the big jacuzzi tub! Delicious breakfast. Very friendly staff. Love this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingaround182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Castlemain Inn was my ideal accomodation in Bar Harbor. A very well maintained and run small hotel on a convenient but quiet street. Grocery and sport stores right around the corner. Excellent breakfasts included in the reasonable rates!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tealeaves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Without a doubt the best service I have ever received at a Bed & Breakfast; ever! I would highly recommend the Castlemaine Inn due to their location and proximity to everything in Bar Harbor, but what really made this stay memorable for me was the level of service I received after checking-out.

After leaving Bar Harbor I drove back to Portland (+3 hours) to attend a wedding before flying home to Las Vegas. Upon my arrival to Portland I realized that I left my ID at bar back in Bar Harbor. I called Bobbi at the Castlemaine Inn to see if she could assist and without batting an eye, she offered to come-in on her day off, pick-up my ID and FedEx it to me in Portland. She truly overwhelmed me with her desire to provide over-the-top service even after I had already checked-out!!!

I would HIGHLY recommend the Castlemaine Inn to anyone looking to stay at a unique venue in the heart of Bar Harbor, while ensuring that you get the friendliest and most attentive service in the state!

Room Tip: Room #15 (Romantic Suite) has a great back porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nationalparkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Positives: good location and nice manager who gave us some thoughtful suggestions for places to go after visiting Acadia Park. Girl attending at breakfast was nice and pleasant.

Negatives: Poor bedding - sheets were rough and "pill-y" from either over washing or cheap fabric which was worn out. Pillows were dreadfully lumpy and unpleasant. Made for uncomfortable sleeping. No light blocking shades on the windows which meant waking up earlier than we would have liked. Initial impression upon entering the inn was not good as somewhat tacky breakfast room was just to the left of the entry door; linoleum flooring and black tables and chairs were off putting. Tattered carpet on front steps.
Breakfast could only be described as ordinary.
Parking very tight, had to park across the street due to lack of space.
Overall, not too impressed unfortunately. Were we to return to Bar Harbor we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Sunshine Suite. Very roomy with a tiny balcony as well. But, required two flights of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although my wife's first impression of the public area was uncertain, given the very large, bright floral print wallpaper, with matching material in the main couch, by the time we left after three days at the Inn, we didn't even notice it. Dan and his staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful with everything from wonderful breakfasts, to advice on how much time to allow for various activities, and dead on recommendations for several things to do that were not on our original agenda. His insights in particular into the myriad activities available throughout the Mount Desert Island were invaluable. The shore walk was wonderful, and just being so convenient to all of downtown Bar Harbor made the stay great, and very walkable for almost everything within the town. Blueberry pancakes were an amazing way to start the day.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite that we rented was great in that it had its own private entrance from outdoors, maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 42 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 29 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B

Address: 39 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $105 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn Bed And Breakfast
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing