We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise, very gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Ranked #23 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise, very gracious”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We picked Castlemaine for our last 2 nights in town. We had a nice sized room with access to a balcony. The breakfasts were varied and basic - and very well-prepared with welcome flexibility for dietary needs. The staff were extremely gracious, helpful and always available. This is not the plushest place in town, but it's very nice and fairly priced.

Room Tip: We liked Lile Marlene. It's not huge, but big enough, and with a charming rounded window and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    55
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
222
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here one night on a trip to Bar Harbor. The bathroom was very clean but the room was a little shabby. The breakfast was plain and unimpressive. We had banana walnut pancakes with barely any bananas or walnuts. They only gave us about a thimble-full of syrup and the fruit that came with it was mostly melon. The dining area consisted of multiple two-person tables with flimsy, uncomfortable chairs. If they room had been about $75-100 cheaper, I would rate it five stars, but I expect a lot more for what Castlemain charged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTNandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our visit to Mount Desert Island/Acadia National Park and the Castlemaine Inn proved to be a great choice of lodgings. Dan is a fine host and a font of local knowledge, and his staff is genuinely friendly and accommodating. As for the breakfasts, with a choice of hearty offerings each morning, one was better than the next. Absolutely delicious. The inn's atmosphere features charm without pretentiousness and our fellow guests were the kind of people who made conversation easy and enjoyable. The location is hard to beat...an easy walk down a quiet street to Bar Harbor shops and restaurants. Parking can be a bit snug but finding a spot never became problematic. In short, we recently returned and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed four nights in August at the Castlemaine Inn. I agree that the inn is clean, and the staff is nice. The rooms are nice. The breakfast was nice. Don't hope for a hearty breakfast or much of a choice in what you will have. Don't look for any kind of afternoon cookies or tea. Don't expect evening cheese and crackers or a pre-dinner social hour. Don't have your heart set on a little bite of something sweet or cold to drink before retiring to your room for the night. If you are looking for the little "extras" that make your stay somewhere memorable, try another inn. There are many to choose from.

Room Tip: The Romantic Room was roomy, light, and airy though a little on the faded side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skdrssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the past six or seven years we have stayed at the Castlemaine in Bar Harbor and each year is better than the year before. The rooms are delightfully decorated in a manner befitting an older home, and they are always spotlessly clean. The owner, Dan, has upgraded from a Continental breakfast to a hot breakfast with a choice of freshly prepared dishes. The Inn is perfectly located on a side street within walking distance of the center of town; it is also very easy to leave Bar Harbor without getting involved in traffic in town.
However, the best part of our stay is seeing Dan and his staff again - they greet us like old friends and are always available with helpful information and suggestions for places to eat and things to see and do.
If you are looking for a charming B & B with a great staff and a convenient location, it doesn't get any better than the Castlemaine.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - look at the pictures on the website and talk to whomever answers the phone, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our 4th return to the Castle Maine. We love it there; the whole inn is very clean and the staff treats us so warmly. It is the perfect place for us because we bike and hike in Acadia, so the village green is within a two block walk for the LL Bean shuttle. They go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Coffee is ready at 6:30 and the breakfasts are "to die for". The Castle Maine is unique in that it is cozy but it is large enough that you really have privacy; if you want to socialize you can, but people are "not under foot that you don't know". The Castle Maine is our favorite place in the US to stay!!!! We have traveled extensively since our retirement, but nothing can beat the TLC at the CastleMaine Inn. It is also quiet. The front porch is also delightful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful because they are spacious. The ones we have stayed in have their own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great vacation in Bar Harbor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Castlemaine Inn. We loved the Sunshine suite - well worth the stairs. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The fireplace was the perfect cozy touch after along day of touring. All of the staff were graciously accommodating and gave excellent suggestions for sights and restaurants. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B

Property: Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Address: 39 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn Bed And Breakfast
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing