We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this beautiful hotel!”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved this beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at the Bayview in Bar Harbor for three nights and the experience was wonderful from the time we arrived. The hotel exterior is lovely, the lobby warm and welcoming and the staff was great. We were greeted with delicious homemade cookies and the view from the breakfast room windows out to Frenchman Bay was terrific. Our room was large and beautiful with a great balcony. Very comfortable beds, GREAT breakfast with a hot entree every morning, courtesy rides to and from the town and smiles from all the staff. Every time we looked at the wonderful view to the water through our wall of windows, we felt lucky to have chosen the Bayview. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
447
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury,TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Bayview is an awesome property. Huge luxury rooms, balconies over looking the bay, great fresh breakfast and wonderful staff. The Bayview simpily can not be beat!! Believe the TA reviews on this one - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Excellent hotel with quiet location outside of busy Bar Harbor. Hotel provides shuttle service into town which is most convenient. Beautiful bay views, large comfortable rooms with porches for relaxing. Very helpful and accommodating staff including Trish, Betty, Al. Let them offer guidance and advice for a good time. Definitely let them make dinner reservations as we were very surprised at the wonderful restaurants. We will be back

Bar Harbor recommendations: Burning Tree and Mache Bistro restaurants, Sea Venture boat trip with Winston, and of course the park especially the views from Cadillac Mtn and Shore Dr

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I recently spent four nights at The Bayview. We travel a great deal and have stayed in the full gambit of properties, so have a lot of experience with vacation rentals of all types. Our time at The Bayview was lovely. We were given a super large balconied room on the second floor facing Frenchman's Reef. The room was clean and well decorated with plenty of space to spread out. Given that we were primarily there to enjoy Acadia Nat'l Pk., it was nice returning each day to a nice space.
The hotel is rather a small independent inn, and a great deal of thought has gone into providing a warm and inviting retreat. Cookies, coffee and tea are served throughout the day. A full breakfast buffet is offerred each morning and is served in a lovely dining room. Home baked goods are available during breakfast as well. If I had one reservation it would be that The Bayview is located about a mile's walk from the center of Bar Harbor. However, when the cruise ships pull in it's nice to retreat to a quieter spot. We will definately stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lughsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

HITS:
- each room has a balcony ocean view
- clean
- good value for resort property
- microwave and refrigerator
- free hotel shuttle
- free island bus service nearby
- about one mile walk to Bar Harbor
- great service
- continental breakfast better than the ordinary
- small bar with early evening hours

MISSES:
- slow Wi Fi (dial-up slow)

NOTES:
- compact ironing board and iron
- no desk chair
- parking in upper lot required by townhouses if lower lot is full

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed three nights at the Bayview and wished we had booked a longer stay. The Inn is in a great location, rooms are remarkably large and clean with spectacular views, the staff is professional and courteous, and the breakfast was enjoyable and bounteous. The morning coffee was way above the quality of most hotel/motel chains. Another great feature was the shuttle service which is not like a traditional shuttle. The Bayview's shuttle is more like a taxi where they'll take you to restaurants/attractions and then pick you up with just a phone call. The Bayview is easily our choice for the best place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Every year our family travels to Bar Harbor...usually 10 or so of us and we stay in the Townhomes at the Bayview....We Just Love it ! Trish and the staff are friendly helpful and just great...the townhomes and Inn are clean and so comfortable and updated all the time...Breakfast is included and first rate in their beautiful dining room and the afternoon fresh baked cookies are Fabulous ! One year we made the mistake of booking late and nothing was available at The Bayview so we had to stay somewhere else in Bar Harbor and it was a disaster...now we book for the following October before we leave! We look forward to it every year and the location is great as well, easy access to downtown and to the Park...... we are going up in a few weeks and can't wait to see what is new in "our" Townhouses!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetteclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing