We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

This is a beautiful small-scale hotel. It has about 26 rooms, all looking out over Frenchmans Bay, on Route 3 just outside Bar Harbor proper. The room was large and very tastefully decorated with a carpet much thicker that you will see in most hotels. Three walls were painted a sea or sage green, and the fourth wall was wallpapered in a beautiful complmetary pattern. It was immaculate, clean, and well maintained. The room felt much more like a bedroom than a hotel room. Plush terrycloth robes were in the closet for our use (but not for the taking). The outside wall is all windows with a beautiful view, and a French door opens out to the patio with two comfortable Adirondack chairs. There was also a small swimming pool which we did not use, but families with young children made good use of it. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Every afternoon a plate of assorted homemade cookies were placed by the front desk for the guests to help themselves to. Breakfast included something hot (one day eggs bendict, another day french toast and sausage) plus cereals, pastries, yogurts, including little glasses layered with different flavor yogurts and granola.

At about $200 per night, the Bayview is not cheap, but in my opinion, definitely worth it.

  • Liked — Beautiful, immacculate, mint conditon.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
446
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

Outstanding, warm,attentive staff. A very beautiful hotel with large rooms that are SPOTLESSLY clean. We stayed in three hotels in Bar Harbor (same week) to see which we would stay at in the future. The Harborside Hotel, and the Bar Harbor Inn, both nice but lacked the special touch of The Bayview Hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Wonderful hotel with very gracious and helpful staff. We stayed at the Bayview for a week and it far exceeded our expectations. The room was large, clean and had a fantastic view of the bay. The room rate included a free breakfast that had a different hot dish everyday along with homemade muffins, breads, scones, etc. Also, the homemade cookies every afternoon were delicious. The hotel provides a free shuttle to town whenever you need one. It takes you to any restaurant, the pier, shopping ,etc. They give you a card with their phone number to call when you want to be picked up and they are there within five minutes. We even lefted our camera in the van before going on a sunset cruise and called to ask them to hold it at the desk. They brought it to us at the dock so we'd have it for the trip.The Hotel is about a mile from town. We did walk back one evening and it wasn't a hard walk. Also, the free island explorer picks up and drops off at the Atlantic Oakes lodge right next to the bayview. We loved staying there and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Quiet atmosphere, clean roomswith great view, good breakfast,friendly staff, shuttle to town
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chasandpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

Fantastic Hotel - good value for the money.

Rooms - Nice, not fantastic, but the VIEW IS INCREDIBLE!!

Food - Free breakfast was very good, and cookies during the day was a nice touch

Staff - Very friendly, very helpful

Location - Very, very good. Not in town, which is nice because it is less touristy. They have a fee van that will run you into town. The location on Frenchman's Bay is superior in my opinion to being right on the main street in Bar Harbour.

Overall Grade: A

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little dated
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldly Traveler Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin , Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

I can't say enough good things about the Bayview. The view is absolutely great, the breakfast was fabulous, the staff were first rate, and the price was reasonable. Everything we asked the front desk for was taken care of promptly. It is more like a quaint inn with less than 30 rooms. It was by far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, and I agree with all of the previous reviews about the great cookies, ect. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel- we loved Bar Harbour for its quiet pace and relaxing atmosphere.If you travel to Bar Harbour book this hotel- you won't be sorry! Also, my husband and sister-in-law enjoyed the whale-watching one day- and Acadia is the most beautiful park I have ever seen.( be prepared for lots of walking- but they have lots of trails) I hope I can go back one day!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank sandralh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Had a nice view of the bay in every room. The patio allow you to get out and see the view when you wake up. The room includes breakfast, which included home made baked goods. Also, at 2 are homemade cookies. The room was really large, which chairs and a desk in addition to two beds. There is also a heated pool and tennis courts.

  • Liked — Homemade baked goods - also complimentary internet access
  • Disliked — Poor shower pressure
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bayview! The rooms are very clean, large and have beautiful views of Frenchman's Bay through large windows. Each room has a private deck with 4 chairs and small end tables. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts were tremendous: one hot dish (different each morning: quiche, eggs benedict, pancakes and sausage, etc.); about a dozen different kinds of homemade baked goods make fresh in their kitchen every morning (cinnamon rolls, various pastries (very light and flaky), blueberry, chocolate chip, butterscotch and chocolate muffins, banana bread, etc.; fruit salad; yogurt and granola parfait; in addition to the more standard cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, bread, juices, milk and coffee. Delicious homemade cookies were in the lobby every afternoon and usually lasted into the evening. One afternoon they ran out, so the next days they made extra.

The hotel is about a mile or so from downtown Bar Harbor but they have a shuttle to drop you off or pick you up on call anywhere in town you like.

At the early season rate of $155, this hotel was a bargin! I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — great breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WaysideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing