We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Fantastic Hotel - good value for the money.

Rooms - Nice, not fantastic, but the VIEW IS INCREDIBLE!!

Food - Free breakfast was very good, and cookies during the day was a nice touch

Staff - Very friendly, very helpful

Location - Very, very good. Not in town, which is nice because it is less touristy. They have a fee van that will run you into town. The location on Frenchman's Bay is superior in my opinion to being right on the main street in Bar Harbour.

Overall Grade: A

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Worldly Traveler Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 878 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2007

I can't say enough good things about the Bayview. The view is absolutely great, the breakfast was fabulous, the staff were first rate, and the price was reasonable. Everything we asked the front desk for was taken care of promptly. It is more like a quaint inn with less than 30 rooms. It was by far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, and I agree with all of the previous reviews about the great cookies, ect. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel- we loved Bar Harbour for its quiet pace and relaxing atmosphere.If you travel to Bar Harbour book this hotel- you won't be sorry! Also, my husband and sister-in-law enjoyed the whale-watching one day- and Acadia is the most beautiful park I have ever seen.( be prepared for lots of walking- but they have lots of trails) I hope I can go back one day!

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank sandralh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Had a nice view of the bay in every room. The patio allow you to get out and see the view when you wake up. The room includes breakfast, which included home made baked goods. Also, at 2 are homemade cookies. The room was really large, which chairs and a desk in addition to two beds. There is also a heated pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bayview! The rooms are very clean, large and have beautiful views of Frenchman's Bay through large windows. Each room has a private deck with 4 chairs and small end tables. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts were tremendous: one hot dish (different each morning: quiche, eggs benedict, pancakes and sausage, etc.); about a dozen different kinds of homemade baked goods make fresh in their kitchen every morning (cinnamon rolls, various pastries (very light and flaky), blueberry, chocolate chip, butterscotch and chocolate muffins, banana bread, etc.; fruit salad; yogurt and granola parfait; in addition to the more standard cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, bread, juices, milk and coffee. Delicious homemade cookies were in the lobby every afternoon and usually lasted into the evening. One afternoon they ran out, so the next days they made extra.

The hotel is about a mile or so from downtown Bar Harbor but they have a shuttle to drop you off or pick you up on call anywhere in town you like.

At the early season rate of $155, this hotel was a bargin! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WaysideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Friendly/helpful staff + spotless/comfortable rooms + breathtaking view + wonderful breakfast = an amazing stay at this wonderful hotel.
The staff helped us with restaurant choices and hiking trails - they didn't rush, took their time and we're genuine in their recommendations. Breakfast was out of this world. We just got back from a 2 night stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Next time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anqsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank grogers913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing