We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but Very Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Simple but Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

We booked two family rooms at the Bayview for two nights in June 2008. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and our rooms were very clean and nice. Each room had a balcony overlooking the water and a pull out sofa. The hotel provides free shuttle service into Bar Harbor which was great, and everyone we met at the hotel was kind and ready to assist in any capacity you could think of. Breakfast was well presented and offered plenty of options including hot oatmeal, cold cereal, assorted muffins and breads, a hot entree, yogurt and fresh fruit. There was always hot coffee, hot chocolate and tea available. Our rooms were $148 a night, and seemed like a bargain. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
444
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Just the best ... food ... service ... staff ... room ...location and all at a very reasonable price .. We look forward to going back to Bar Harbor and definately will be staying at the Bayview !!!!!

  • Liked — very spacious room
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TOWNSHIPTRAVELBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed at the Bayview for our anniversary, and it didn't disappoint. The view was spectacular from our room. The room itself was clean, appealing and spacious. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We took advantage of the shuttle to town to avoid the insanity of parking during the holiday.

I must emphasize how wonderful the food was. Breakfast was amazing. A combination of hot and cold choices, with fresh, homemade pastries. Delicious! And fresh cookies greeted us every afternoon, which were too yummy to turn down.

I would recommend this inn to absolutely anyone. If we find ourselves in Maine again, I would love to return.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

We were staying at the Holiday Regency and had such rudeness from the management we decided to go down the street and checked into the Bayview Inn. The management was extremely friendly, the rooms spotless as well as a beautiful view of the ocean. We went down to a complimentary breakfast and to our surprise they came around and took our order for bacon,eggs and hash brown potatoes as well as the buffet bar of rolls, juice and such. We found all they advertise to be true. Wish we had found this place when we first arrived in Bar Harbor.

M Bowers, Danville, KY

  • Liked — friendly,clean,view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mamawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

What a wonderful place! Our spacious room was beautifully decorated, the view across the water was lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious! The staff was outstanding -- Jen, Judy & Debbie, Trish, Al, Sue, Laura, and Nora (I undoubtedly forgot someone....forgive me!!) -- and they worked together in a friendly and cheerful manner which made their guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We'll hope to return some day!
Dale & Jay Stine

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Exmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

It was unseasonably warm in late Sept. when I checked in to the Bayview. My room A/C was not working and I was uncomfortably warm. There was a fan in the closet and the outside air was cooler than the room that eve. so I was opening the door to the balcony to blow fresh air into the room. When I reported the problem to the staff, they did not have another room available in the main hotel. They called the owner who offered to transfer me to the sister property, The Atlantic Oaks, or to move me in to one of the townhomes at no additional charge. A pleasant bellman took me to the townhomes via golfcart but the one we looked at had a strong chemical cleaning smell and I have asthma and am very sensitive to chemical odors. I opted to stay in the original room which was very nice other than the temperature. The desk staff loaned me their fan so I could have one blowing on me and one blowing in cool outside air.

While I was sightseeing the next day, the maintenance man had replaced the wall airconditioner with a new unit that worked just fine. I think that the willingness of the staff to make alternative arrangements for me and troubleshoot the problem shows that this hotel is well managed and a fine place to stay. The carpet was the nicest that I have ever encountered in a hotel. Breakfast was very good as well. I would highly recommend the Bayview as a quiet, beautiful hotel with a great view.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaHawkgirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

The Bayview provided a quiet setting set back on a beautiful lot from the noise and bustle of the main roads. The spacious room had the intimate feel of a country inn with a private balcony facing the bay. Very friendly and accommodating staff - great breakfasts.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mswilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing