We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot say enough good things about the Bayview!”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
West Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I cannot say enough good things about the Bayview!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Bayview and everything was great. Stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse for the first few nights and then switched to a family room for the last night as the townhouse was unavailable. The staff moved all of our luggage for us and even came back later with a few items they found in the room. The rooms are beautiful and clean and roomy. The free breakfast each morning was great as our the afternoon treats. All of the staff go out of their way to help you with reservations and recommendations to restaurants and the free shuttle to town is a great convenience. We were all very sad to leave but will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: The townhouses were a great value for those with kids. Mom and dad have their own room with a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirls9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I agree the townhouses are perfect for families and larger groups. It is always nice to be together and still be able to enjoy some peace and quiet. When we have to move someone, we try our best to make sure it doesn't interfere with their vacation. It is like a home renovation show. You go out for the day leaving your familiar home and return to a whole new place! Variety can be the spice of life! The family rooms are terrific too because they have plenty of space and huge decks to relax on. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    86
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
232
462
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The Bayview exceeded our expectations in so many ways! We stayed in the townhouse and were blown away by how clean, spacious and comfortable everything was! Everyone was so friendly, breakfast was delicious and my kids are still talking about the cookies they give away in the afternoons. The car service into town and back was Very convenient! Such a great experience at the Bayview.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

wonderful location right on the water and away from the tourist. Fresh flowers in the room when we arrived and the front desk bakes a fresh assortment of cookies everyday at 2 pm for the guests. delicious breakfast served every morning in the dining area. They also offer a free shuttle to and from any of the local restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mayday9722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you!! I consider the title of your review a huge compliment! When I am notified of a review the title is what I see. Then I see the profile of the person that submitted it. You have written a number of reviews so that means to me you are a serious traveler and you use TripAdvisor to guide you. The reviews we have been receiving have all been lovely and so kind. Realistically I am pretty sure that not all of our guests walk away with the same feeling (but I hope they do) and I also know it is impossible to please everyone. If we exceeded your expectations and you based your choice to stay at The Bayview on our reviews then all of us can take great satisfaction that we are doing our job of hospitality the way it should be done! Thank you again and please visit us if you ever come back to Bar Harbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in early June and will definitely go back. We had the unusual circumstance of arriving by bicycle as we were riding the coast of Maine. The staff was welcoming and not at all put out by our having our bikes loaded with gear in the lobby and then in our room. They quickly arranged for an in room massage and had offered that their driver could pick up dinner take out from one of the restaurants for us. We opted to use the chauffeur service to go to dinner 2 nights in a row and it was great. They even accommodated us by having the in house bar give us wine in plastic cups so we could take them to the pool. The breakfast was very good. The room was very comfortable with terry robes, a balcony and wonderful down comforters. All in all terrific. By the way, we paid early season rates and it was a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much! We have that mutual admiration going on because we were all impressed you pedaled in to stay! As a "not very often and casual" biker I really like the entrance to The Bayview ...it is all downhill! I think your line says it best for those thinking about booking here. We feel very strongly about customer service and we do not pretend to be something we aren't. We just want a vacation to be a vacation for our guests and try to keep them smiling! It doesn't always work but it sure isn't for lack of trying! So, thank you again for the kind words and please try and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent about a week here and celebrated our first wedding anniversary. We entered our room to find champagne waiting for us (thank you!) on top of the gorgeous view. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The cookies were delicious and the shuttle to town was a nice bonus. Al, who drove us to dinner almost every night, was great! There is no reason to stay at a hotel chain when you can stay at a place like The Bayview. If I had one thing to critique, I would just say the beds were not the most comfortable. All in all, we enjoyed our trip, the view and all that Bar Harbor has to offer.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the top floor if possible since you have a perfect view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGallo624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
You are very welcome! Special occasions always bring smiles and that is a good thing! I am sorry you didn't find the bed to be comfortable. Most of the time we get great reviews about the beds and yet there are some who don't really care for it. What I really appreciate is the fact that you didn't let it ruin your stay and you still had a great time. Not sleeping well IS a big deal so thank you again. I will tell Al about your kind words. He really enjoys the shuttle driving and the extra time it allows him to chat with the guests. I hope you will return again for your second and third and so on anniversaries! A tradition in the making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay at this lovely inn and we had a fabulous visit. The rooms overlook the Bay, and even though the hotel is a little way out of town, there is a shuttle van which will take you there. We loved the balcony, the nice breakfast and the large room. The daily homemade cookies were a lovely bonus, too. We were lucky with the weather and my husband even had a swim in the outdoor heated pool! The best thing about this hotel is the front desk staff. Jocelyn, Ann, Russ and the others were so helpful, giving us info whenever asked. The staff in the breakfast staff were very friendly, too. This is a great place. Just wish we could go back again soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much! I totally agree about the staff. We have beautiful oceanfront views, huge rooms and a great location. All of that is really important, but honestly, without the staff we are just another "place to stay". Some people don't like the location of one mile to town, some people prefer more technology and other people may find us a bit dull but no one has complained about the staff. Jocelyn, Ann, Russ and everyone that works here share a common pride in what we offer and how we treat our guests. We just want you to have fun and relax (and eat a few cookies!) and come back again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent ten remarkable days in Bar Harbor. We stayed at the Bayview and the accommodations, staff and location were just wonderful. The moment you arrive you are greeted by caring people. Your room is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Sit on the balcony and watch the beautiful sunsets. The formal dinning room serves a wonderful array of breakfast food each morning,make sure you don't miss the home baked items. They outshine any five star bakery you can think of. Sit on the balcony outside the dinning room from two to four each afternoon and enjoy coffee, tea and home baked cookies, scones or brownies. You can always shed any extra pounds by swimming in the pristine pool or take a walk through town. Bayview has a shuttle to drop you off and pick you back up. Enjoy a cocktail at the Bayview lounge and sip it on the balcony off the dinning room watching the sunset over the bay. Enjoy the many restaurants,(Galayns, Paddys) make sure you try the lobster rolls. Take a boat tour, buy ice cream and sit in the town center park and relax watching the beauty of the bay. Tour Arcadia National Park and marvel at nature's beauty. Don't delay book a super vacation for your family at the Bayview. Trish and her staff are waiting to pamper you and make sure you have wonderful memories of your stay. I know we will treasure ours for years to come. Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Not a bad room among them. Every room has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much! I knew as soon as I saw the ten day stay just who you were! It really was our pleasure to have the two of you here. It is not a difficult job to pamper guests especially when the guests let you know just how much they appreciate it. You get what you give and give it right back! You were always on the go, I don't know how you found time to rest! I don't think we ever saw either of you without a smile except when you were leaving and that was a sad day indeed! Our mutual admiration society is in full swing and I know I am speaking for all of us here....hurry back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing