We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved our room what a beautiful view of water and harbor. Get location a few miles from Bar Harbor. Great to go to Acadia National Park entrance just down the road. Breakfast was always good had cookies at front desk in afternoon. Very helpful front desk. Would love to go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great guests too! Thank you for the lovely review. It has been a wonderful fall, and we have had terrific guests all season. We would love to have you come back again. Happy guests like you make for a very pleasant work environment and that keeps everyone happy! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    80
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
219
432
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Maine's wondrous fall colors, bright, crisp days and bounteous lobsters by themselves are worth the trip "down east", but add to that a stay at The Bayview, and you will want for nothing. What a welcoming, cosy, well-appointed property! A tasteful, homey decor and the most attentive staff you can imagine will make you reluctant to leave, but anxious to return. Large, comfy rooms with ocean-view decks, perfectly maintained; a lavish buffet breakfast in what could be your own dining room at home. Coffee and tea available throughout the day and evening, with baked goods in the afternoon. Shuttle service whenever you need it both ways to area restaurants so you may leave your car at the hotel and not have to fret over a parking space. Special packages are available during the season, so look no further. You won't get better value than The Bayview.

Room Tip: No elevators in this three story building, so if you have walking difficulties, specify a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkshirechuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you! I could hire you to do our PR work, you said it all! I especially like the fact that you are anxious to return and expect to see you here again. It has been a beautiful fall, the colors have been spectacular and even the wind and rain didn't ruin it! Now we are at the end of our season, it will be very quiet around here but we all look forward to next spring. Please do come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

To Celebrate our 51st. Ann. a one night treat after attending a cfo. retreat at South West Harbor.
I f I had to pick one outstanding Joy it would be the breakfast. Never have I seen such a beautifully presented and Delicious assortment. Not to Mention Fresh baked Unusual cookies available at 4. This baker must be German.(:)
Our view was extraordinary ,My only regret is that we could only stay One Night.
The staff was extremely friendly.This Is a place I would send anyone .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettykreie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I think you said it all! So many times when I respond to our reviews I actually remember the guest that wrote it. You came in with a smile and that could be because it was your 51st anniversary and you had just come from a lovely retreat. You left with a smile and a recipe. Pretty good recipe until you realized she forgot to tell you about the flour! It was a good laugh for all of us. Thank you and we really appreciate your kind words! Perhaps we will see you again for your 52nd anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I were passing through Bar Harbor and we were lucky enough to get a room at Bayview. Staff was very helpful and extremely nice from the moment we arrived. The location is the best and the view is awesome. The room was extremely well kept and very roomy. The breakfast was outstanding and they even drove my wife and I downtown to eat and came back to pick us up. Everyone was very professional couldn't ask for a better place to rest and relax. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I love responding to reviews like yours! You were very matter of fact and detailed, just telling it like it is. So, we feel lucky that we welcomed you as our guests! Please come back again and we will aim for a repeat performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A cut above the rest of the lodging in Bar Harbor which is mostly motels. Here the room is spacious, a balcony looked out on the water and you are walking distance from downtown (although the way back is uphill and there's always the hotel shuttle).
Staff is helpful and friendly, probably the greatest asset of The Bayview. There is not much in the way of grounds other than the parking lot and no fitness room, none needed as most likely you will be hiking in Acadia National Park, boating or biking.
The dining room is breakfast only but what an excellent breakfast. A couple of hot covered dishes changed every day, French toast one time and a very good egg scramble with sliced sausage another. However the highlight is the baking, from the homemade doughnuts for breakfast to the cookies that show up at the reception desk every afternoon: chocolate chip with dates, strawberry strudel, lemony shortbread with those tasty tiny Maine blueberries. They should market these and sell them all over the country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I agree with everything you said and thank you! It is our staff that is our greatest asset but good food, spectacular views and clean, comfortable surroundings don't hurt either! You are so right about the fitness room. We figure the walk up to our pool combined with the trails of Acadia provide plenty of exercise! We are proud of what we offer and are pleased you found it a "cut above"! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, LA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here October 12-13, 2012 while visiting Acadia National Park. The motel was beautiful and all rooms face the water. Staff were great and really helpful. The Bayview is not close to Bar Harbor, but they provide shuttle service. The morning breakfast was fantastic. Coffee was offered until 10 PM.

The rooms were expertly furnished and with nice amenities (microwave and refrig). Each room had it own balcony facing the water.

Room rate expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. I am really glad you had such a nice time. It is true that you pay more to be on the water, and there are many beautiful hotels in Bar Harbor that aren’t on the water. Some people only want a room with a view and that is all we have. All our hotel rooms are 75 feet from the water; our town homes are 480 feet from the water and look out over the hotel to the water. Combine that with no resort fees, no parking fee, no street view, just water and it doesn’t seem so bad! I hope you will return again and I hope you will be just as pleased with the accommodations. We will be very glad to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are so glad that we decided to stay here, based on past Tripadvisor reviews. We were not dissappointed!! The staff really is terrific. They are the largest collection of friendly and helpful people in one hotel, that we have ever experienced. I went to a conference that was being held at the Harborside Hotel and Marina, but we decided to stay at The Bayview, based on all the great reviews.
The Bayview is only about 3 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor, but is a quiet, beautiful, and relaxing retreat. The shuttle that takes you anywhere in town and then picks you back up was so helpful. You can enjoy yourself at dinner, shopping, etc., without having to worry about trying to find a parking spot that would be a good walking distance from your destination. The drivers were always very helpful and pleasant.

The front desk staff was always helpful and nice. They will give you a map with most of the restaurants around town and many of them have their menus printed in the booklet, too. The fresh cookies and dessert snacks available every afternoon and evening were delicious! It was a nice treat after a day of hiking in Acadia or just shopping around downtown Bar Harbor.

Our room was very spacious and it was so relaxing to sit on the balcony, with the beautiful view of the ocean. We would occasionally hear and see a loon floating on the water.

Every morning we would eat at the breakfast buffet. We loved to sit and eat on the balcony. The food was always delicious. Rebecca, the chef, is a great chef and hilrarious! We enjoyed chatting and laughing with her every morning as she would bring us fresh muffins. It was a great spread of a variety of foods from scones, muffins, biscuits, cereal, fruit and yogurt parfaits, bacon, french toast, pancakes, quiche, etc. I had never tried eggs benedict before, but let me tell you, it was so good! My husband loved it so much, he had three. I also enjoyed being able to have authentic seaweed salad every morning. It was a real treat. If you really want to make Rebecca laugh or roll her eyes, just ask her what is in the seaweed salad. (Apparently some people don't know)

Room Tip: Book early as the king bed rooms get filled up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nennigoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and positive review! It was great fun to read and I am sure Rebbeka got a real kick out of it. We are all on board with making sure our guests feel special when they are here and happy to be here! You certainly let us know that is just what you experienced. I am glad you found the time to sit on your balcony and with the colors this season so spectacular it is even better. The backdrop of the blue water with the maple on our front lawn is so pretty. We all hope you get to return someday. We will keep the shuttle running for you and maybe you will be able to come just to vacation and not work. For whatever reason you return, we hope to see you again at The Bayview!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bayview 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing