We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Bayview. The view of the bay from our balcony was beautiful. The room was huge and comfortable. Most of all, the staff was tremendous, making excellent restaurant recommendations and reservations. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in town and then pick you up when you call. We never waited more than 10 minutes. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DanWMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you! I honestly think our staff is our biggest asset although that ocean view is pretty popular too! I know that everyone that works here understands what the "hospitality" industry is and since so many of us have been here for so many years it all feels like family! We want our guests to feel at home, we want them to relax and most importantly we want them to have a terrific vacation. We haven't always pleased everyone but we do try! I am very glad you had such a nice time! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for The Bayview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 859 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying at this hotel is one of our best experiences. The room is huge and spotless, with gorgeous view from the balcony. The public space (both indoor and outdoor) are disproportionately big for a 26 room hotel. The breakfast was wonderful. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you! As I have stated many times there are so many wonderful places to stay in the area that we are thrilled to be # 1. We also know that should that change it will only be because everyone in the area really wants to show their hospitality flair! I am so pleased that you had such a nice time. Everyone that works here does take pride in their work and when guests write reviews like yours we know that our efforts are truly appreciated! Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just wanted to confirm all the positive comments. Best things were the free shuttle, friendly staff, great breakfast, quiet location overlooking the bay. It doesn't hurt that that the whole island is absolutly gorgeous. Where else can you find such a stunning meeting of mountain and ocean? A world class national park surrounds charming villages with thier great restaurants and inns.
We followed Trip Advisor advice and went the third week in September, no problems with crowds, nice weather, a little fall color and everything still open. One of the best trips we have ever done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctinwsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

How right you are! It sure doesn't hurt to be located on this absolutely gorgeous island. Those of us that live here sometimes forget to actually "look around" and enjoy it. Thank you very much for your positive review too! It has been a beautiful fall and I think you did pick a wonderful window to travel in. I will tell you though that the colors this week have been spectacular and even on the rainy days driving through some of the birch groves and maple areas has been like driving in sunshine! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Bayview is a wonderful and welcoming place to stay. The rooms are spacious, meticulously clean and the view from our balcony was fabulous. Everyone who works there are super friendly and accommodating to your every need. They gladly make dinner reservations for you and will even drive you there. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this if you want a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripster883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

And we loved having you! I can't say enough how lucky I feel to have the staff we have AND how great the guests have been. We know you can't please everyone all the time but we also know that the effort to try is worth it! Please come back again. We try to make everything we do a "good habit" so our intention is the second time around will be as good, if not better, than the first! Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I loved the location because inside Bar Harbor parking stinks and it is a bit crowded. This is closer to the park entrance. It is a lovely hotel and our room was great. no complaints. Service really was awesome. Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was the best on our vacation (we went up and down the coast in various hotels). The breakfast chef introduced herself and was great to talk to. Once again, if you are into breakfast, this was fabulous. Our room was VERY spacious and had a great view of the bay. It had a refrigerator and microwave. The soap smells amazing. The only reason I gave it a 4/5 was because the room could have used a few more upgrades. Other than that, it was a 5 experience.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side get more sun in september.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adaisyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

I think you said it all. Everything we try to do was recognized by you. I agree our staff is terrific, everyone one of them in every department! You said your experience was a 5, we can't get much better than that! I also understand that upgrades are a necessary thing and we do as many as we can each winter. This winter our upgrades were new larger sliding doors to showcase the view even more, new exterior deck lighting and new siding. Along with a number of smaller things inside the exterior was our priority. The weather actually cooperated so we go with the flow! This winter will be more interior upgrades. The one thing we won't change is the basic feel of who we are. Nice folks, welcoming nice guests to a gorgeous island off the coast of Maine! Thank you and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The Bayview is an easy walk to town. If you want to be away from the crowd and cruise ships, this is the place to stay. The property is lovely with stunning views of the Bay. The staff members are very welcoming and helpful. The common area is a lovely space. The guest rooms are huge, comfortable, and pristine. An ample breakfast is served every morning. You don't have to worry about parking or over imbibing. The shuttle service takes care of that. Explore the Northeast and Southwest Harbor areas. Bar Harbor's shops are geared for the cruise ships. Better shopping at the other harbors. The tranquil place to stay is the Bayview.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtslavozarkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you very much! I really appreciate your honest impression of our location. It is a beautiful walk to town. Not everyone likes to walk a mile but it is certainly not out of the way AND yes, this time of year it is an oasis from the crowds! Like you said, the shuttle is always there for our guests that don't want or are unable to walk. I also am very appreciative of our housekeeping staff and am pleased that so many of our guests have recognized their fine work! They do a wonderful job and with a smile. That is a really nice thing to see for everyone! So, thank you and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Bay View for a couple of nights. The staff are wonderfully welcoming and the rooms very well prepared and cleaned and the views lovely over the North part of Bar Harbor bay. Even though the hotel is within walking distance of Bar Harbor centre (say approx. a mile) they do a great service to take you into town and back again for restaurants etc. (it takes 5mins for this), the pickup later at night was quick and efficient. The breakfast appears to change each day and the food is interesting with plenty of choice on offer. I have nothing to fault the hotel. I have only a suggestion that eventually I recommend they upgrade their balcony rails to glass panels to take even greater advantage of the views, but this really is a minor point, thanks to all the staff at the Bay View, cheers, Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen room with view to the sea on the lower floor. These rooms are all the same thro...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. I totally understand and appreciate your suggestion about the railings. This past winter we replaced the decking off our dining room and when the railing was removed I asked the carpenter, "Can't we just leave it down and call it an infinity deck?". I guess we would get into a bit of trouble with the code enforcement but oh, the view! I will look into the glass option in the next upgrade, it would be pretty! Thank you again for taking the time to write. It is especially kind to note that you could find no fault. We would like every guest to feel that way. We do our best and that is all we can do! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing