We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tripadvisor ratings were right on target! Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor ratings were right on target! Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We selected the Bayview for a two-night stay in early September based entirely on the favorable comments and rating by Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The rooms were immaculate, large and well furnished. The buffet breakfast are superb. Staff is very competent and friendly. Beds superb. We second all the good things others have said here.

Room Tip: The are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortPondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It has been a wonderful season and we have been so lucky to have such kind guests! I am always very appreciative when people say they like the beds. I think that is one of the most difficult things to try and please people with so I'm glad it worked for you! Please come back again, we'll try and have a repeat performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
446
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had read about the Bayview in Coastal Living magazine as well as Trip Advisor. We could not have been happier with our stay Our first floor room was spacious with a great view of Frenchman's Bay. The atmosphere is casual but the service is friendly and attentive. We could not wait to each morning's buffet breakfast to see what new treat they would put out. The afternoon cookies would rival the best any bakery could offer. So accessable to Arcadia national Park as well as downtown Bar Harbor. The only suggestion for improvement would be we were on the end of the building an our internet signal could have been stronger.

Room Tip: If you have an ipad that you want to connect to the wifi signal be careful what room you end up in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We enjoyed having you here and appreciated your very kind words. I will pass on the accolades to all who work here, it was high praise indeed! I am sorry about the Wi-Fi issues. I hate to admit it but I remember when we first started making arrangements to get Wi-Fi and I thought, this is crazy, no one will use the internet on vacation! Obviously I was not in tune to how technology would change things. So, we are constantly trying to improve it and will continue to upgrade. I also will keep my opinions about the future of any technology to myself! I think it will enhance our guests experience and save me a lot of embarrassment! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just spent our first visit to Bar Harbour at the Bayview and would (and will) go back anytime. From the moment we stopped at the front desk, the staff shined. Form Jocelyn at the front desk, Al as porter/shuttle driver/local colorman, and Mike and Donna in the bar, they were great. Our room on the third floor had a beautiful view of the bay from a roomy balcony. There is a very nice breakfast included in the rate. They also provide a shuttle to and from town (about a one mile walk that is quiet nice should you prefer the exercise) and suggested several good places to eat. It is also very close to the entrance to Acadia National Park. We are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Well, we will definitely welcome you back with a smile! Your comments on the staff are so true! Pleasant and helpful, just what our guests need to see when they arrive! It does make a difference when the customer service you receive is sincere and everyone here really is that nice! So, please come again soon and Jocelyn, Al, Mike and Donna should all be here with the rest of us to greet you! We look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is outside the honky tonkyntown along a gorgeous stretch of the harbor. Each room faces the water and has a private and size able balcony. The rooms are very large, have good lighting, an empty fridge and a microwave, ceiling fan, ac and a standing fan just in case
Breakfast is amazing. The chef is Rebecca and each day has a very special hot item, eggs Benedict, strata, ham, bacon and/or sausage never greasy always just right. Perfectly cooked hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, seaweed salad, fresh fruit yoghurt parfaits, home made biscuits, scones really fine
At 2 pm Rebecca's goodies come out again brownie cupcakes, chocolate chip cherry cookies, amazing gingerbread and chocolate iced cupcakes
This is a great place

Room Tip: Eat breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Wow, I think you had a good time here! Thank you for all your kind words and I will definitely make sure Rebekka knows how much you enjoyed the breakfast and the cookies. I think your title states it all, we aren't fancy, don't want to be but we do want comfortable and a great place for a vacation! I think we covered that! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Bayview for four nights while we toured the environs including Acadia national Park. We were with another couple so reserved a town home which was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included which was wonderful. They also include a shuttle service into town since parking is so difficult. A truly great value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our recent stay was our second visit here. Everyone at The Bayview is very willing to help you and answer any questions you may have. Beautiful view of the bay from the room and also has a nice balcony area off the breakfast dining area to have your breakfast, which is included, while enjoying the view. For dinner we ate at The Chart Room, Stewmans down by the harbor and twice at Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound. They are all very good but if you are ok with very casual pick your lobster, watch them cook it and you take it from there then you will love it! Bring your own wine or beer because they don't sell it and are fine with you carrying it in. Lobster followed by their blueberry pie ala mode can't be beat!! Visit Acadia park and make sure to do the Ocean Path Trail. Very beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWMF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! The view here is wonderful and I always wonder why I don't spend more time enjoying it too! I also thought it was great that you gave hints on the best way to enjoy a lobster. As a local I find that I am much better off eating my lobster in very casual situations. I tend to be a bit sloppy with the butter and cracking the shells! We are all pleased that you had a nice time and hope you come again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights here last month as part of trip to New England and New York. My husband and 2 daughters and i shared a huge room - 2 double beds plus a sofa bed and good sized bathroom. Ground floor room with veranda opening onto lawn leading directly to Frenchmans Bay. The views were fantastic plus deer and chipmunks visited daily.. From moment we arrived, the service was fantastic - everything was possible! Thomas at reception suggested trips, activities and restaurants, all of which were hugely enjoyable and great value. We toured the Loop Road by self drive - a beautiful trip, biked the carriage roads (Acadia Bikes rented us 4 very comfortable bikes for <$100 - avoid the crowds at Jordan Pond tho), took the Sea Princess to Great Cranberry Island - so peaceful and saw seals in the mist, and kayaked 7 miles with Llew from National Park Kayak - a highlight of the whole trip, spec seeing the porpoises.
The hotel is in a very peaceful spot on edge of town but the free shuttle gave us best of all worlds, no parking hassles, no worries re drinking and the peace of being a little out of town. We never waited more than 5 mins to be collected. Al, Steve and Mike were charming. Breakfast was sumptuous and Rebecca the chef positively encouraged us to take a few bits from the buffet on a day the kids werent hungry - a hangable offence in many hotels! No evening restaurant but recommendations, reservations and the shuttle made eating out very easy - we specially enjoyed Geddys and Side St Cafe, plus Mt Desert Ices and CJs for ice creams! One exhausted evening we had takeaway pizzas on our veranda, collected and delivered to our room by Al. Never had service likeit anywhere - thank you all. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nja29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you too! It was a pleasure to have you and your family here with us. I have said many times that it is very easy to make people happy if they know what they are getting in advance! You obviously did your homework and planned on our location. The friendly staff, the activity suggestions and the food are our way of just making your vacation that much better! We hope you will return someday. The deer, the pesky chipmunks and our smiles will all be here to greet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing