We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Bayview!”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel deserves it's #1 ranking. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly but not at all intrusive. The hotel has a b&b feel with modern amenities and more room. Adding to the b&b feel were the huge and varied breakfasts. Yum! We ate what was provided but noticed the chef making individual things for people with dietary needs.
We had to move rooms during our stay (we booked it that way due to our desire for a room that wasn't available our whole stay). The move was seamless thanks to the assistance from the staff. Both rooms had incredible views with large balconies. The decor was not super modern but this was typical for what we saw in Maine.
Its situated about a mile outside of town, very close to Acadia.. It's an easy walk and they provide complimentary shuttle service until 10 pm. We can't recommend the Bayview enough, we would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! Customer service is our top priority and that does go hand in hand with a good meal! I am glad you saw the different rooms and said they were equal too. Sometimes people think a move means less than the best rooms for a night or two and that is not the case at all. So many of our guests return each year and they have their "home away from home" and we can't put them in a different room, it just wouldn't be right! Some people reserve two years in advance to be assured of "their" room! Others like the variety and switching it up! Whatever your preference, please come back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 872 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed every minute. It's like going back in time. The hotel is old fashioned, extremely friendly, beautiful views and has a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you, we are glad you had a good time! We are old fashioned, believe in friendly service and the good old days of summer vacation! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is just wonderful! We based our stay in early June on what other Trip Advisor guests had said about the Bayview and were not at all disappointed. Our room on the third floor facing the water had a balcony to enjoy the view and was very spacious. Every afternoon there was a different fresh baked cookie for guests and every morning the breakfast buffet had a selection that would please anyone. Jocelyn, one of the front desk clerks, suggested terrific restaurants for dinner every night. She was great to talk with, very personable. The hotel offers a free shuttle, which we took advantage of every night. We especially enjoyed Al, the evening driver. He was so pleasant, just a really nice person. Thank you Bayview, you made our trip to Bar Harbor one of our very favorite trips.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a third floor balcony room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Awww, you make us blush! We shy away from the word "best" because there are so many terrific places here in town and on the island. Someone will come along that likes a different place better but as long as we give it "our best" I think we'll be ok! All of our rooms are the same price, they all have the same view and what you see on third is repeated on first and second - good news for all. I know the staff here sincerely enjoy their jobs and make many friends in the course of a season. Some days it is like a family reunion in our lobby! Now, when you return we will greet you just like family, and we have fun all over again! Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent three night here in early June, just ahead of the busy season. They keep this place perfectly clean and neat. The rooms are large, and include a microwave and large mini-fridge. The inn is set far back from the highway, with a beautiful tree-lined drive in. Quiet, adequate parking in front. It really is beautiful.

The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. A couple examples. The first morning, we show up for breakfast. Me, the wife, and the teenager. He can have some issues with food. And while the spread they had set out was VERY nice, it really wasn't going to work for him, and so he just sat there quietly. The cook came out, saw him sitting there, and gracefully asked him about breakfast. She then offered to whip up some pancakes for him, and he went for that. Much appreciated!

First day heading out, they ask where we are heading, we say Acadia NP, and they whip out a CD we can borrow, to guide us around the loop road. It was a good disk.

Breakfast was varied somewhat day to day, with lots of healthy and interesting choices. A nice view from the dining room as well.

They also have someone working as doorman pretty much throughout the day, and someone to drive the shuttle to town and back.

Great value for the money, we hope to stay here again someday soon.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask the staff for whatever you are thinking, they really want to be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godzilladude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. I think you put it perfectly. Traveling should be a pleasure, customer service should be with a smile and it doesn't take much to be friendly! Our location allows all of us to forget the crowds of downtown and yet we are close enough to be there in a jiffy. We all thank you for such high praise and kind words! We hope you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Bayview was 100% amazing. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful, the on-demand shuttle really is on-demand, the views are glorious, the "contintental" breakfast is a full breakfast with a hot selection, bellinis, blueberry yogurt granola cups, cold cereal, breads, bagels, sweets... everything you could possibly want. It was quiet, clean, the concierge service was brilliantly helpful. I wish I could go back already and I just left.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great-- they all have a gorgeous view of Frenchman's Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaundraM807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We would be happy to have you back again anytime! It is wonderful that our guests have been so pleased with things at The Bayview. I hope the ones that don't take the time to write feel the same way! We sometimes wonder if we don't talk too much, and carry on too much with our suggestions about all the great things on this island, but we seemed to do well by you! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on our first trip to Maine! The hotel staff was so welcoming and helpful. We really felt at home in The Bayview. The breakfast was wonderful and we loved taking it up to our room and eating on our balcony. This definitely wont be our last trip to Maine and The Bayview will be our home again when we return.

Don't change a thing!
Tim

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

See, just when I decide I need to do something about the "dated" comments we get a review like this. You told us not to change a thing! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you will come again. I also hope that the changes we make are subtle enough to keep you happy and obvious enough so others know we do listen! I do promise we won't change the view, we won't change the staff and we will keep cooking good food! Thank you again, we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I do believe The Bayview wrote the book on customer service. Everyone has been extremely helpful and NICE. Genuinely nice. The rooms are spacious, clean and in great condition with soft linen and comfy beds. The views and decks are a wonderful bonus. The breakfasts are incredible thanks to their on-site chef. The food is really good, fresh and never boring. And the freshly baked afternoon cookies are so delicious and different every day. The high level to attention and quality to the food was a wonderful surprise and a bonus. I am going to miss all this great tasting food and the friendly atmosphere. I wish The Bayview was in every town. And to make this even better, they will drive you to and fro to town. Any time. We did not take advantage of this as we liked walking the 15 min back and forth, but for others it is a wonderful amenity. I would make your reservation now, as this is a gem of a place.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view! We were on the bottom and loved it. The only downside is that the rooms are dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinghounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you! This was the second review this week that mentioned dated and I guess it is time to change! I know that it is just me that is waiting. All my clothes from the 70's are back in style, the platform shoes are everywhere and my children like the retro kitchen look! I'll start switching things up and before you know it I will be uttering the words of my grandparents, "They just don't make things like they used to!" I appreciate the fact that you mentioned it is all good quality and working order and if we could just hold off a little longer, it will all be back in vogue soon! It is just so hard to change! Creature of habit, but I can see we have a new challenge for the off season! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing