We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #4 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Charming, Immaculate, Lovely, Cozy - Perfect. I can't find enough positive adjectives to describe this inn. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with such friendliness and professionalism, we were already impressed. We were given a tour of the grounds and a brief history of the town and the inn itself. I loved the attention to detail the owners obviously paid to every room and hallway - from the art on the walls to the furniture pieces, I could tell they were extremely meticulous.

Our bedroom smelled so fresh when we walked in - it was as if they sprayed it with the ocean! Everything was so clean, we felt right at home. And it was so well lit (except for the light with the fan which we didn't even need to use). In all my reviews - I'm a stickler for lighting and even when a place is clean but uses fluorescent white lighting, I don't like it. This place was lit very well and at night, the room was still bright, beautiful and cheerful, and they did not neglect this in the bathroom! (which many hotels unfortunately do)

Wine hour was very pleasant each evening, served with light and tasty snacks. Breakfast blew our minds away. I'm a big foodie - lover of Michelin starred restaurants, and I was very impressed with the gourmet breakfasts we had each day. Ducktrap scramble, the most amazing omelet with mushrooms and caramelized onions, lemon ricotta pancakes...I wish I could wake up to that everyday! Then, the fully stocked pantry truly was fully stocked everyday. We helped ourselves to hot coffee and tea even at late hours of the night. And the cookies and sweets there were dangerous - good thing we hiked everyday so as to not feel guilty for how much we ate!

Lastly of course, the service - we felt like Jeff and Terri were our friends. And of course Susan, the first assistant who gave us the introduction. All the staff were so genuinely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Terri gave us great suggestions for which trails to hike at Acadia and we were very glad we listened!

We loved every moment here and have already been sharing our great experience with all our friends and family, and we hope to come back soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 (Sage) and found it just as pictured - bright, soothing, beautiful and clean. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

While it's not exactly our mission to set new standards for other B&Bs to meet, we do strive to deliver on our mission: friendly, helpful, clean and complete - meeting or exceeding every expectation. In our over 11 years as hands-on innkeepers we have learned through experience that details matter. Inn guests are discerning. They are looking for the 'exceptional' not the 'cookie-cutter' approach of larger big-box hotels.

It's gratifying and humbling with a busy guest such as Sharon takes the time to share in detail about their experience here at the Bass Cottage Inn. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 612 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Bass Cottage Inn is a lovely, peaceful retreat in Bar Harbor. The staff is incredibly helpful and professional. The house is beautiful and a great place to hang out on rainy days. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We so glad this guest and her partner chose the Bass Cottage Inn for a relaxing visit. We do take great pains to train our staff on observant but non-intrusive service and it's good to see this appreciated. Many folks come to Bar Harbor for wonderful Acadia National Park, however, when the weather turns a bit damp guests like Amy can enjoy our inn, feeling comfortable and at home.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of the Bass Cottage Inn, Bar Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved the Bass Cottage Inn for a number of reasons. The service was superb--they had everything you could ever want from cookies, to beverages always available. The staff were eager to answer questions and make recommendations or talk about the history of the place. The inn itself was beautiful--it was spacious and immaculate and had the feel of an old historic hotel, yet it also had the feel of a large B&B. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast choices delicious. We also found that although it was not next to the water, that it was in a great location--just off the main road and away from the harbor and all of its tour boats and cruise visitors, however it was still within walking distance of all of the great restaurants. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobbyNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Many thanks to these fine folks from Hawaii who traveled a looonngg way to enjoy Mount Desert Island, ME and The Bass Cottage. And many thanks to our staff who understand the need for absolute cleanliness and who help us keep the inn so sparkling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Bass Cottage Inn is a lovingly restored mansion, hidden from view (behind some banks), a few steps away from the intersection of Cottage and Main Street. All of the Bar Harbor restaurants, shops and attractions are within a comfortable walking distance. The Hostess, Susan, introduced us to the Inn, providing us with an overview of the facility,its history and excellent concierge advice.

The common areas are expansive and create wonderful spaces for lounging with a book, tablet or socializing with other guests. The mill work has been restored, some rooms have magnificent paneling or architectural windows. All of the rooms have sophisticated decorating and furnishings.

Breakfast is served by the owners in a beautiful dining room. The breakfast menu changes daily and would appropriately be described as gourmet quality. The Lobster quiche was a special treat emphasizing seafood uniquely abundant to the region.

We stayed in Room 8 and found the room comfortable and well appointed.

We plan on staying at the Bass Cottage during our next return to Bar Harbor and enthusiastically recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks to these guests from PA for staying with us and taking the time weeks later to write this excellent review. We're glad they enjoyed their stay and that they found our staff so helpful. Please do come back again....and we love it when folks recommend The Bass Cottage Inn to their family and friends, as this accounts for a lot of our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a 2 night stay here during our self drive tour of New England 'In the Fall'. We were warmly welcomed and given a brief history of the Inn whilst being shown around the public areas and shown to our room which I thought was a nice touch. It is a lovely property, tucked nicely away in a quiet position yet within a short walking distance from everything Bar Harbor has to offer. It has comfortable, elegant lounge areas and large dining room. We booked room 6 which also was comfortable and spotless with large bathroom and, although the hand basin being in the bedroom rather than the bathroom may not appeal to some, it wasn't a problem for us. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice each day. A happy hour each early evening provides complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres which, again, is a lovely touch and plentiful supplies of complimentary tea, coffee, water, soft drinks, cookies, fruit etc are constantly available. The owners were extremely helpful and only too pleased to advise on things to do, places to visit and eat etc which was particularly helpful as our visit coincided with the Govt. Shutdown which meant public access to the Acadia National Park was severely restricted. Would we stay here again? Most definitely!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Many thanks to this UK couple who made Bar Harbor and The Bass Cottage Inn one of their stops on their autumnal New England tour. We're glad they enjoyed their stay with us and took the time to share their experiences on Tripadvisor.

We realize that folks coming from away need good advice on activities and dining so that they get the most out of their visit to Acadia National Park and the Bar Harbor area. This was made even more important when the recent unfortunate government shutdown officially closed Acadia. We were pleased to find our guests lots of things to enjoy despite the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This lovely B&B is situated right in the middle of Bar Harbor town center, but tucked inside a quiet side street. Steps away from the water, bike/canoe rentals, shoppings, and restaurants.

The B&B is beautifully decorated, rooms are clean and beautiful. We have room 6, comes with a sizable bathroom, all true to the pictures posted at their website.

Breakfast is something to look forward to every morning. A different kind of freshly baked scones or muffin can be expected everyday. Their scones are out of this word - crusty on the outside, moist on the in side - amazing! During breakfast, one of the owner,Teri, walks around greeting guests and answering questions on where to go and offering suggestions on how to plan the day.

There is also a 24 hr pantry that's always stocked with goodies such as cookies, brownies, apples, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Great for an afternoon munchies or late night snack!

The staff give guests plenty of space and privacy but whenever we needed someone, we can always find the other inn manager, Susan, around one corner or the other.

Overall a great experience! A much more enjoyable stay then some of the big name hotel chains. Would definitely stay at the Bass Cottage Inn again next time we visit Bar Harbor, and would definitely recommend to our friends and family!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks to these guests for taking the time to write such a detailed, well-considered review of their stay at The Bass Cottage Inn, Bar Harbor.

We know from experience that it takes a fine mix of details to make a great holiday experience - location, food, comfort, cleanliness and just the appropriate amount of personal attention. We're glad they appreciated all the things you can get at a luxury inn like The Bass Cottage Inn vs. impersonal hotel chains.

Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is perfect- you are a stones throw from multiple restaurants and the water. The inn is beautiful and the common areas are tastefully decorated. Unfortunately we missed the wine and cheese while we were here. The only reason I cannot give the Bass Cottage Inn 5 stars is because our room was so small we could hardly fit our two suitcases in there. As we were travelling for two weeks and attending a wedding I needed to be able to reorganise- and with my suitcase open I wasn't able to open the door. The bathroom sink in the bedroom is a nice touch- unfortunately I found it hard as a contact lense wearer to get close enough to the mirror to take them out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thanks to these folks from Munich, Germany for writing a review covering all they liked about The Bass Cottage Inn. We have a range of rooms -- from large & luxurious to cute & cosy - with a range of amenities and price-points. Travelers who will be coming with weeks worth of luggage might consider a larger room. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Fld, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $210 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing