We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very elegant”
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed one night in this tastefully decorated inn. The happy hour was a little disappointing, just veggies for munchies served with wine, most everyone grabbed their wine and either returned to their room or camped out in diff areas downstairs so there wasn't any socializing.
The breakfast more than made up for it with chorizo hash and eggs served in a bright and cheerful dining area.
Our bed/room was very comfortable, but seemed we had no cross ventilation from the windows ( and no thermostat), so a bit warm in our room. The place is well run and clean, having said that, we felt it a little formal and stuffy for our taste, maybe it was the clientele that particular night...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistwanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Many thanks for these folks from New Orleans for staying with us and taking the time to write about their stay. While they seemed to enjoy their visit they did mention that the wine hour wasn't lively enough for them. Clearly, this depends on the mood and needs of all the guests. Very frequently there is lively conversation. We let the guests dictate the pace. And, we offer a variety of wine hour snacks including crudites for guests who increasingly are looking for something light. But other nights we offer spinach pie, hummus, artisan cheese plates, etc. However, it is a snack to accompany the complimentary wine...not a meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Bass Cottage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 586 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place has pedigree. My fiance and I spent three wonderful nights in Bass cottage and we cannot say enough positive things about it. The Inn is beautiful, the staff is charming, the breakfasts are sensational and the rooms are tastefully, timelessly comfortable. The complimentary wine and fresh baking were much appreciated, and even though we were in the smallest room (you must book in advance!) we couldn't find fault.

A truly first class bed and breakfast experience in a very special location.

If you're into running, you MUST go for an early morning jog through the mist along the shore path.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a little on the small side if you have big bags. If you can, it's worth treating yours...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We're so pleased that we impressed this young couple from London with their Bass Cottage Inn experience. WE were impressed with their dedication to early morning runs! The review is flattering and we appreciate their kind words and their business. Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Greeted by Terry and Jeff, the owners of Bass Cottage Inn. They are so warm and welcoming and make you feel like family. We are given the grand tour of this beautiful house and had complimentary refreshments before heading out to Acadia. We return to get settled in Room 2 on 2nd floor. It is absolutely gorgeous! Complete with a nice sitting area it was very homey.
A nice happy hour with wine and snacks gave visitors a chance to mingle with other guests. The breakfasts they serve were so creative and you have choice of a sweet or savory selection and alittle something to get started.
Now a have another great reason (other than Acadia and lobster) to go back to Bar Harbor. I can't wait to return to this great gem.

Room Tip: Rooms on website are very accurate. 2nd floor was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of Bass Cottage Inn hospitality. We're glad you could relax and feel at home here. Hope to see you in Bar Harbor once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in room 10 which is at the top of the hotel a really cosy room. Terry & Geoff who run the B&B are excellent hosts giving you as much information as you need and happy to book restaurants for you. The Bass Cottage Inn is finished to a very high standard with cost sitting rooms. Happy hour with wine and nibbles is a great way to meet and chat with other guests.
The breakfast is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Many thanks to these folks from England to write and post a review so quickly after departing the inn. We could tell they had a great time...really bonded with the other guests.

Whether you come to be social or to have a quiet, relaxing time as a couple there is something for everyone at The Bass Cottage Inn. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had an opportunity to indulge in a one-night stay at Bass Harbor and wish we could have made it longer! The inn and everyone we interacted with were top notch. We stayed in room 3, a spacious room complete with a king sized bed and large 2 person whirlpool. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and accoutrements available before heading off to dinner. The next morning we had the pleasure of a terrific breakfast - - I had difficulty choosing between the yogurt/granola and fresh fruit offering and the crabmeat egg souffle. When I chose the latter, Terri brought out a gorgeous "mini" of the yogurt/granola/fruit so I could experience a taste! So kind and thoughtful. I agree with a previous reviewer that the inn is not at all "fussy". It was exquisite and very comfortable. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockskipper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your Bass Cottage Inn experience! Bar Harbor in the fall is a great time for residents of southern Maine to get away to downeast Maine. We love to help fellow Maine-iacs enjoy their beautiful state. See you next time we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Being a California boy, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from a " down east" inn, but Jeff, Teri, Susan and the team made a long weekend on Mt. Desert Island an absolute treat. The room was well-appointed without being "fussy", the bed extremely comfortable, plumbing all worked as per plan without special directions and with plenty of hot water on all floors (one of my on-going grumbles with many B and B's) and the common space was great (especially the couch in the lounge that I proved was quite suitable for a nap after a miserable red-eye flight). Cookies and beverages in the pantry at all hours, a sociable glass of wine with other guests late-afternoon, fantastic breakfasts that set you up for the day...and have I mentioned the kindness and care of the staff? The location meets my criteria of being right around the corner from the middle of everything, and I made this trip without a rental car and had no difficulties (I noticed plenty of parking for the automotively inclined). If my travels bring me back to Bar Harbor, you can bet making a reservation at the Bass Cottage Inn will be on my to-do list.

Room Tip: Those with mobility issues should make their needs known and take the ground floor room, as there is...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc_Jon_510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It was our pleasure to take good care of this "left coast" traveler who was on the "right coast" for a family wedding. This reviewer mentioned the conveniences of plenty of hot water, etc. - When we bought the inn 10 years ago, it was a complete renovation. So we could plan for what 21st century guests -- not 19th century guests - would require. Since we didn't inherit an attic full of Victorian furnishings and memorabilia, we chose a modern but tasteful decor. Or, "not fussy". Guests seem to like it and that's what counts. Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from Maine, where we stayed for 4 nights at Bass Cottage in rooms 3 and 10. It was a wonderful experience from the start to the end. It was right in the heart of Bar Harbor, so you could walk to all the shops and restaurants in minutes, but tucked away down a peaceful little road, away from the business of Main St.

The rooms were both lovely, really spacious, bright and beautifully decorated. The staff were incredibly helpful, suggesting places to visit and organising restaurants for us. And as for the breakfasts! We gained several pounds! The muffins and the lemon soufflé pancakes were a standout.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone and would stay there again if I went back to MDI.

Room Tip: Room 3 very big and beautifully decorated on the second floor. Room 10, up on the fourth floor, but...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaHaBa, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks to this lovely family from Britain for their review of The Bass Cottage Inn. We truly enjoy being hosts for family get-togethers and were pleased to have these fine folks with us for several days in beautiful Bar Harbor. We hope to see them all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $210 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing