We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time at Bass Cottage”
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time at Bass Cottage”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from Maine, where we stayed for 4 nights at Bass Cottage in rooms 3 and 10. It was a wonderful experience from the start to the end. It was right in the heart of Bar Harbor, so you could walk to all the shops and restaurants in minutes, but tucked away down a peaceful little road, away from the business of Main St.

The rooms were both lovely, really spacious, bright and beautifully decorated. The staff were incredibly helpful, suggesting places to visit and organising restaurants for us. And as for the breakfasts! We gained several pounds! The muffins and the lemon soufflé pancakes were a standout.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone and would stay there again if I went back to MDI.

Room Tip: Room 3 very big and beautifully decorated on the second floor. Room 10, up on the fourth floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaHaBa, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks to this lovely family from Britain for their review of The Bass Cottage Inn. We truly enjoy being hosts for family get-togethers and were pleased to have these fine folks with us for several days in beautiful Bar Harbor. We hope to see them all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
446
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Everything at Bass Cottage is top notch. The room was spectacular. The space inside the inn was gorgeous. Advice from the innkeepers for activities in Bar Harbor were spot on. The food and service were wonderful. Very attentive to the dietary needs celiacs necessitates. Thanks Terri and Jeff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bige3551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks to this visitor from Connecticut for writing such a nice review of The Bass Cottage Inn. We have a fairly wide range of breakfast choices every day, but sometimes guests have gluten-free or dairy-free dietary needs. Not a problem! We're happy we were of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was our best B&B experience, yet! The home is beautiful, of course. The best part was how the owners and staff pay such attention to detail! The towels smell like they are fresh out of the dryer! I am the type of guest who notices these little things! The beds are so comfortable, too! They have a lovely wine and appetizer hour for the guests to mingle. So relaxing and comfortable. Great location. Tucked away, but so close to the main street. Owners are very friendly and helpful! Breakfasts and afternoon snacks were always delicious and prepared with care. Our room was on the first floor right off of the porch. It is a lovely room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks to these guests from Chicago for sharing their Bass Cottage Inn experiences with other travelers. As we tell our staff, "the devil is in the details". We're very appreciative when guests like these folks notice and appreciate the little touches that are part of a Bass Cottage Inn stay.

We DO hope to see them again in beautiful Bar Harbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bass Cottage Inn and loved it! The people were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was always delicious, the house charming. We enjoyed the wine hour every night, and the baked treats in the afternoon. After a long day of hiking in Acadia, it was great to come back to the inn to a clean and comfortable room, good shower, and the cold water left for us. We stayed in room 8, which was on the small side. If you need space, I recommend another room. For us, it was just fine. It was so comfortable there that it felt like home. The TV was very small, but that's not why we were visiting so no problem there. It's an old house, so you will hear other people and doors opening/closing, so just bring ear plugs if that bothers you. One item of note....the street, The Field, is located behind a bank parking lot. There is no street sign for it on Main. Otherwise the location is great. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops, but back a bit from the main strip so its not quite so busy. We loved the Bass Cottage Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
It's great to hear that Niki from St. Louis liked her stay at The Bass Cottage Inn. If we may, let us clarify one point she was making about returning to the Inn after a day of hiking in Acadia National Park - the cold water she was referring to had nothing to do with the shower! We place stylish decanters of ice water in each room every day so that guests can refresh themselves before taking a HOT shower ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This B&B is one of our favorite anywhere. We stayed here last year as well so this is an update. The place is still immaculate and the service is phenomenal. Terri and Jeff, the owners, are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We also received excellent help and very pleasant conversations with Susan who works there in the afternoons. Best fresh afternoon snacks, bar none, at any B&B. The breakfasts are delicious and varied. Much appreciated is the daily offering of 3 options. Great fresh baked goods. Wonderful. This year we stayed in Room #6. It was a little small but immaculately clean (wife likes extra space for her yoga exercises). Fresh, comfortable and clean bedding. Very nice period type furniture. Comfortable bed. Nice weight towels and spotless, large bathroom. Water pressure was low in the shower but, frankly, I am used to my high volume, high pressure shower at home. Our preference was for the much larger room #3. It was not available during our time slot. If you like space, can swing a few extra $$ and it is available, I would try for #3. Next year, we will shoot for the larger room but the small room was fine too. Frankly, by the time we get back to the room after a day on the trails and a big dinner, we simply collapsed. Nice new addition this year is free wine and cheese at 6:00 PM. We got there one night. Missed it the other nights. Oh... and don't miss the bowl of chocolates in the living room. We didn't.

This place is a definite keeper and we will hopefully return next year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mitchm11741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Ralph Waldo Emerson once said 'a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.' "Little minds" aside, we strive for consistent excellence so that our many repeat guest are rarely disappointed. Nothing foolish about it!

Thanks to these folks for their repeat business and taking the time to share their experiences with other Tripadvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Bass Cottage Inn and it never disappoints. As soon as we left, we keep thinking about how we can't wait to come back next summer! For this trip we were able to stay for 5 nights, and it was so awesome! I can't really say enough about how beautiful and great the inn is and the breakfast is delicious! We are also complete germaphobes and have a difficult time feeling comfortable in most hotels. We feel like we are at home in the Bass Cottage Inn. It is so clear that the inn is super well-cared for and Jeff and Teri are so nice and truly care about making each guests' stay wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancing41nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We can get no better endorsement than guests who like to come back again and again. And, it's great to see 'old friends' walk back in through our front door.

Cleanliness is our mantra here at The Bass Cottage Inn. It's the foundation upon which everything is based. Our rooms are double-inspected before guest check in. The effort is worth it when we know our guests are as comfortable as they can be.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

True gem in the heart of town. We received a warm welcome upon arrival & were given the option of receiving a tour about its history along with FAQs of Bar Harbor. Our room was #8 and although on the smaller side (and thus less expensive) this was overlooked as a result of the room quality. The owners have given attention to every detail. The furnishings, linens, bathroom amenities were all very nicely done. The main house had been updated while maintaining its charm. A nice pantry was stocked with water, sodas, coffee, tea & freshly baked goods. A gourmet breakfast was offered with usually 3 different options to choose from. That being said, the kitchen accommodated each morning to my dietary restrictions & customized my meal. The evening wine hour was also accompanied by a creative dish. Jim & Teri were available each morning to offer suggestions for planning the day. The Inn also offers a wide selection of DVDs, books, magazines & board games which can be used in various areas of the main house or in your room. Lastly, the location can't be beat. The Inn offers parking & is walking distance to all the restaurants & shops as well as the water. Would definitely recommend & revisit! Thania, Boston, MA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks to these Bostonians for staying with us at The Bass Cottage Inn. We put great effort into all the little details that make up our hospitality and it's great when they are appreciated by guests. Come back and visit again...book ahead for a larger room with a fireplace and jacuzzi, perhaps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Property: Bass Cottage Inn
Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing