We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Thought of Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Save
You added Bass Cottage Inn to your Saves list
14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE ON OUR WEBSITE
Ranked #8 of 32 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They Thought of Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were going to stay at another B&B but they did not have a room for a second night and referred us here. We were so glad they did. After staying in many B&B's all over, we can say they truly thought of everything. From the decor, the rooms, the service, the sitting rooms with fireplaces, and especially the breakfasts...it was all exceptional and very tasteful. Terry and Jeff are gracious hosts. Everyday they have a treat waiting in the coffee room that is homemade. Our first breakfast was blueberry belgian waffles. The second day we had creme brulee french toast (so yummy) and a crustless quiche that was amazing. Bar Harbor shops and restaurants are all within walking distance and so convenient. It is worth the trip back just to stay here.

Room Tip: The house has three floors and no elevator. Would recommend staying on the bottom if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    22
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
420
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Bass Cottage Inn last week for 3 days. This B&B represents the absolute top of the hill when compared to other properties. The rooms are comfortable, Teri and Jeff, the owners, are engaging and extremely helpful. The central meeting areas are open and enjoyable and afford one the opportunity to meet up with other guests and compare notes. The food is quite good and the amenities first rate. The location is right in the middle of town so one can walk to most restaurants. I can't praise this Inn highly enough. Just go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Better book far in advance to get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank resbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Bass Cottage Inn is a beautifully restored heritage home offering the complete package of modern convenience with old world charm. My room on the top floor had a spacious, new washroom and plenty of area beautifully decorated in a manner to suit the ambience of the inn. The bed was tucked into the dormer and definitely offered the softest and most welcoming mattress I have ever experienced - just like a giant hug. Everything was spotless.
The Bass Cottage Inn has several sitting areas each with a fireplace, and one of the most pleasant parts of our trip to Bar Harbour was cozying up in front of one of these after we returned from supper at Cafe This Way (which I would also recommend) to chat and savour a homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookie, which was offered in the Pantry to all guests.
I think "warmth" is the one-word descriptor I would use for this inn - from the room itself to the fireplaces to the personalities of the inn-keepers, Terri and Jeff. We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast and when I was torn between the delicious offerings, Terri suggested I might like to sample the blueberry waffles at the end of my meal as a breakfast "dessert". Terri and Jeff are the perfect hosts with the genuine warmth and interest in their guests that is so NOT present in a Marriott or Sofitel. There is a pride of ownership apparent in all the little extras and the attention to detail that I think one only gets staying in a personal residence with friends or family - maybe that's the final word on the Bass Cottage Inn: it felt like I was staying with people who really cared about me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian-abroad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful inn. Everything was perfect.
Our room was beautiful, spotless and comfortable. The inn keepers
and their staff were incredibly helpful in every way. There are many
different common areas so you can sit and read comfortably downstairs
if you so desire. The "pantry" is stocked with complimentary sodas,
ice tea, coffee and tea along with fruit and the best cookies ever.
So, this is the place to stay in Bar Harbor. Oh, and I forgot to
mention the breakfast...oh my...each day different and absolutely
the best breakfasts we have ever had. The pastries are incredible.
And, all this in a very, very convenient location right in downtown....
yet it was quiet. Thank you to the inn keepers for creating this
very special experience for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SBshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in this beautiful old summer mansion. The hosts are friendly and professional and very helpful with suggestions for dinner, etc. The breakfast were delicious! lt rained the two days we were there but the common areas provide plenty of comfortable places to read and relax and the "pantry" always had hot and cold drinks and cookies to make life better. One can walk to all of the downtown areas in Bar Harbor from here. The rooms are well equipped and the beds so comfortable!

Room Tip: Room # 7 is the smallest of the rooms...very small. However it is very comfortablely arranged and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Little more I can add to the glowing reviews of this place. It is an elegant, calm heaven in a prime location. The place is immaculate, the owners, Terri & Jeff, friendly and attentive. The breakfast was delicious, with the cinnamon and toffee scones being a big hit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PineMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
437 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a fairly critical person, there is really no room to complain here. The Inn has been lovingly restored saving its original splendor. The owners care about serving their guests and do a fine job. Not only a critical traveler, but a cleanliness freak, we could truly eat off the floor: it was spotless. Hurray to the staff!! The breakfast offers 3 choices each day and you can not go wrong with any of them. They are all ambrosia. The Inn is just a block off the main drag in Bar Harbor, and a short walk anywhere. Suan is there in the afternoon and evening, and is a wealth of local knowledge, and so refreshing to talk with also. She can answer about any question you may have. So, you may sacrifice the harbor view for an awesome Inn. I would caution a tall person, as we had Room 7, and bonked our heads a couple of times on the dormers. This room is their coziest, I think, and was the only one available in our time frame. Next time, I will take a room on floor 1 or 2 !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#18 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 32 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Property: Bass Cottage Inn
Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing