We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We just returned from spending 6 nights at the Bar Harbor motel. We chose a 2 bedroom unit which was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. It was well worth the extra money for more space. The kids each had their own bed and there was a separate TV in their room which came in handy at night when we were winding down from a busy day. The cleaning staff was friendly the few times we quickly ran into them. This motel room was by far the cleanest we stayed in over our whole vacation and other vacations too. One day I stayed back at the hotel for the morning while my family went rock climbing. I sat outside enjoying the peacefulness and happened to watch the cleaning person across the way. She worked non-stop for a minimum of 30 minutes on one room. She even wiped down the dresser drawers and the lawn chairs completely that were outside the room. We've never been to Maine before this trip and chose this motel blindly. I can honestly say if we ever travel to this area again I would stay here.

  • Liked — How clean it was.
  • Disliked — We could hear our neighbors outside sometimes
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank wondervannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    473
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
702
526
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Stayed here with family for four nights. It's a hotel/motel located on a sprawling complex in a number of self-sufficient buildings of four or five units each. The property is located on the Eden Street bus route, which connects a number of hotel properties to downtown Bar Harbor, where transfers can be made to other free Island Explorer routes on Mount Desert Island.

The room was very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was very clean and the room was kept in very good condition. The only complaint I have is that there is no breakfast included, though the lobby serves free coffee or hot chocolate.

When asking for a room it may be desirable to get one in the back - though it is farther from the main road (and bus stop), it will also be quieter and away from the pool.

The back of the property has a 0.2 mi connector trail to Acadia National Park, great for bikers who don't want to access the park via the very-busy Hwy 3/Eden Street!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, nearby bus route, connector trail to Acadia NP
  • Disliked — no breakfast, not in downtown Bar Harbor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel for a week and just loved it. My husband is very picky and thought it was great. The family rooms were perfect for two adults and two children. The kids have their own room with a TV and the adults have their own room. Everything is clean and comfortable. The grounds and the pool are well kept. The staff was always happy to help and the housekeeping ladies were all pleasant. The motel is in a great location and very quite. Will be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fewmansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The Bar Harbor Motel appears to be one of the old-style family-owned motels from years ago. They are grouped 4 rooms to a building, and you drive right up to the front door. A stop for the Island Explorer bus system is located right in front on Rt.3. Free WiFi, also an Internet-enabled computer in the lobby for guest use.

Overall Appearance: Grounds well maintained. Nice lobby area.

Front Desk Staff: Very polite, professional.

Housekeeping: Did a good job with the room, brief encounter with our housekeeper was pleasant.

Room: Very clean. Updated tub and fixtures in the bathroom. Walls and floor in bathroom appear to be dated. Now comes the bad part. The mattresses in both beds were the worst mattresses we have ever slept on. (We tried them both, and my wife agreed. My son didn't seem to mind, but he is 12 and doesn't really care.) They were lumpy, and were either very old or of very poor quality. They were so bad I considered sleeping on the floor.

If not for the mattresses, I would have given it 4 stars. But considering most of the time we were in the room we were sleeping, it definitely lowers my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank ForgottenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Based on reviews here at TripAdvisor.com, we chose the Bar Harbor Motel for our long weekend getaway in Maine. The desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The room was clean and comfortable. The room had AC, iron & ironing board, and plenty of towels. We enjoyed the outdoor, heated pool. The motel offers free WiFi and a Island Express stop (the free bus service around Bar Harbor) just out front. They have their own trail access into Acadia National Park, with carriage roads only 0.7 miles away. The free coffee in the lobby was actually good!

If you're going, stay at the Bar Harbor Motel - and stop at 2 Cats Inn for breakfast ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jensparks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I stayed here last week with my wife and seven year old daughter. I chose it because of the good reviews on this website and I wasn't disappointed.
The people on reception were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were large, well appointed and spotless. We stayed in a number of Hotels on our trip costing much more than we paid here but this was our favourite room.
If we go back to Bar Harbor we would not stay anywhere else.
Bar Harbor is very nice. You must visit Acadia National Park. The scenery and views are outstanding. Do the ring road and stop off at Sand beach, Thunder Hole, Cadillac Mountain and Jackson Pond at the very least. Plan to have something to eat at JP but be warned that it can get very busy. Better to phone ahead.
A good place for breakfast is Cafe This Way in town.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank RobertJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We stayed at The Bar Harbor Motel for 3 nights and loved the place! The room was very nice, clean and spacious and the grounds were great...very well taken care of.
The property is nicely spread out and has a very relaxing atmosphere. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.
The location is very good as well, just a mile drive to the beautiful downtown area and not far at all from the Acadia Visitor's Center and the Park Loop Trail.
We're already looking forward to visiting the Bar Harbor Motel again, and would very highly recommend it to anyone!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank tmac1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing