We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor - Acadia National Park”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Bar Harbor Motel is a very nice place to stay: clean room, nice staff, enough breakfast, reasonable price, and most of all, it is very close to the Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor. I highly recommend it.

July 14th ~ 18th, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Fang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here two nights and were pleasantly delighted with every aspect of our stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond in assisting us to be sure we enjoyed our visit, patiently helping with directions, restaurant recommendations, and room suggestions so we could be near friends. The location is a 2-3 minute drive to town, just far enough to be away from the hustle bustle. Our room was very nice, with a lovely bath. Although it had a/c, we used the overhead fan and opened the windows for a nice breeze. The continental breakfast was just right, with a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, muffins, juices, and coffees. We will definitely choose Bar Harbor Motel again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is an unusual review because my family and I did not actually stay here. However, I am compelled to write a review to detail the excellent customer service I received anyway from Jack at the hotel. Through a mistake on a booking website, I was reserved at this hotel for the wrong dates. I did not know about this reservation and even though it cost him effort and expense, Jack allowed me to change this reservation. Any small business owner that demonstrates such graciousness and commitment to excellent customer service to even a prospective customer deserves the highest rating and special mention. I am sad that we did not get to stay at this hotel on our visit in July (they were all full when I tried to book several months in advance, so BOOK NOW) and sincerely hope that our next visit to Bar Harbor will be with them. And just on a side note, I drove by this property when we visited and it is immaculately kept from the outside and in a wonderful location. Again, if you are on the fence, you should book this hotel now! Learn from my mistake that it fills up fast!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank crazyforsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We all make mistakes. We always appreciate the guests who, on the "receiving" end of our mistakes, are calm and gracious as we attempt to rectify the situation. So, when we heard you had made a mistake we simply responded in a like manner. Life's too short and too precious to worry and stress about these small things. There's a phrase we like: Everything will be okay in the end. If it's not okay, it's not the end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but very clean, comfortable and quiet. Great location. Wifi service was spotty at best. The shops and restaurants were close enough that you could walk there. This would be a good place for families.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Many thanks to Jack and his excellent staff! We were pleased with the comfortable room, cleanliness, rate, service, amenities, quietness, and food. Your staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. We will plan to stay there again next time we're in Bar Harbor. Thank you!

Room Tip: Stay as far back from the road as possible. It was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DeEtte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room was clean but outdated. We did like the fact that they offer family rooms. One bedroom with a king size bed connected via a hall to a 2nd room with 2 full size beds. Great when your kids are teens! They were also quiet. They offer breakfast for free. However it's not much. A lot of bread items, cereal... Coffee was awful. The staff was very friendly. We are from Maine so we didn't need much in the way of directions but I noticed how helpful they were with others. The location is good and a shuttle bus is available if you don't want to drive into town. We did drive and had no trouble finding parking. There's a nice heated pool and free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gretchen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Nice location - just enough out of town to avoid crowds but close enough to go out. This is a good place for families too - there is plenty of space around the rooms. Great service. Clean rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#6 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $118 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing